We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clarion Inn experience”
Review of Quality Inn North

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn North
Ranked #71 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We had a very pleasant stay at Clarion Inn North. Our room was very clean and the hotel front desk clerk offered great customer service. We had extra pillows and the bed was very comfortable. Same with the towels and the overall cleanliness of the room was exceptional. It was also very quiet which allowed us to rest. The location was very convenient to us.
The next time we are in town this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lavinia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2013

I got this through the expedia unpublished hotel rate. I was a little skeptical given the low rate and my fears were not unwarranted. The room was ice cold with the heat barely working. The wallpaper was torn and the carpet was dirty. Entire decor was dated with a tv from 2002 (no joke.) Hair on the bathroom floor and in the tub. Thank god I got their at midnight and left at 7:00 AM. They offer a free continental breakfast which was pathetic. I tried the coffee but had to throw it out. There is also a diner attached to the hotel. If you have a choice do not choose this property. Expedia should also be ashamed of itself billing this as a three star hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lohotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

My partner and I came here for an overnight stay in between driving home from christmas vacation. We had some problems at check in. Had to go back 2 times to get a new room because the first 2 were never cleaned from the previous guests. Was a bit annoying since we were road lagged and wanted to get in a clean room and unwind. The room we got SEEMED clean....stains in places, but otherwise suitable for an overnight stay. It could use a deep clean but for the price we paid (43 bucks including tax) we could deal with it for the night.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tennboy1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed my 2 night stay with my little ones. The place was clean and and well kept. Housekeeping came by a couple of times during our stay to check if anything was needed. I felt comfortable and safe. A place I wouldn't mind coming back to.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msbradby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

This hotel is not a 3 star hotel. It was terrible! We had to change rooms. The first room was so dirty! There was trash under the dresser, the bed and beside the bed. The smoke detecter was missing. We found a cigar package that had tobacco removed from it to use to smoke pot. The sheets were stained and toilet was dirty. the second room was alittle better. Someone left their wig behind. the bath tub would not drain! free breakfast was a joke! Juices were watered down and breakfast room was dirty! Don't stay here. employees didn't care about our complaints!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

I hadn't heard of Clarion hotels until now. My first impression wasn't a pleasant one.

The hotel seems to pitch itself as having an upmarket experience with a moderate price. Maybe $90 inclusive of taxes is a moderate price, but I'm not buying it. At the very least, what is clear is that this place is definitely downmarket.

The hallways smell of smoke upon entrance. At check-in, we were greeted with a front desk area that looked like it had been painted over many times just to cover dirt.

The amenities (such as soap, shampoo) are inferior products. The soap is tiny and doesn't suds up. The shampoo, barely enough for one washing. These things cost .59 at Walmart, but the items Clarion provided couldn't bring a dime. Shabby, dollar-store quality.

The bedspread was stained. The room was advertised as having a fridge. It did, but it was musty. The coffee pot - missing.

It's hard to believe anyone actually holds a conference in the hotel's conference facilities.

The free breakfast? Ugh. There was a help yourself buffet stoked with what looked like dollar-store brand versions of danish and mini muffins, bulk cereal, and maybe some coffee. The room was so cold, barren, and uninviting I left.

There are no bugs or creepy crawlies. It's serviceable. But if you were expecting a decent place that makes you feel welcome, this isn't it. It feels shabby, cheap, and third-rate.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcgwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly, our room was clean and well maintained, comfortable bed, nice furnishings for an economically priced hotel. There were a few rough edges here and there, but nothing that bothered me at all, particularly since the price was great. The continental breakfast did leave a lot to be desired. I travel a lot and stay frequently in Choice hotels, and this was the worst breakfast I've seen in terms of variety, so that needs improvement. Great location, easy to find and there's a Starbucks almost in the parking lot, which if you travel much in the South, you know is a wonderful thing to find. Restaurant next door is really good too.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eric p, General Manager at Quality Inn North, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

We appreciate your comments, and we are happy that your experience with us was and enjoyable one. We are consistently working to make the overall experience exceptional, so we are looking at a better variety in our breakfast area. We hope we have the pleasure of accomodating you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
3.9 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Richmond West
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#36 of 82 in Richmond
145 reviews
4.1 mi away
Quality Inn West End
Quality Inn West End
#45 of 82 in Richmond
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn - Richmond South
3.8 mi away
Econo Lodge-Broad St
Econo Lodge-Broad St
#62 of 82 in Richmond
25 reviews
11.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - North Chesterfield - Arboretum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn North

Address: 801 E Parham Rd, Richmond, VA 23227-1107 (Formerly Clarion Inn North)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range: £38 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Inn North 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quality Inn North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn North Hotel Richmond
Holiday Inn Richmond
Richmond Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing