We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #54 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed 11 July 2012

The price was right, and the location (re both I-95 and downtown Richmond) was reasonable, and supermarket very close. There was a microwave (which I didn't use) and a frig, but no coffee maker. Breakfast was sparse, but acceptable. Air conditioner was noisy, and seriously interfered with sleep. I never did figure out how to turn on the TV. I might return, maybe.

Room Tip: Listen to the AC before you decide
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SickleSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    8
    8
    4
    9
See reviews for
11
14
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

When I arrived I wasn't all that sold on this motel. But we received a room downstairs in the corner. It was very spacious everything was clean... It was a smoking room but you wouldn't have been able to tell. The bathroom was large, the tv was rather small but manageable. Overall it was a very decent pleasant experience for a motel. I would recommend it for sure!!!

Room Tip: Choose a corner room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Misspookie4u2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

The Manager and his staff at this Econo Lodge are outstanding. After arriving late on a Saturday night and finding that my reservation had been messed up by ORBITZ(I had reserved NON-SMOKING rooms. ORBITZ had reserved SMOKING rooms), the manager helped me resolve the PROBLEM with ORBITZ. Had to cancel the ORBITZ reservations. The rooms I finally got, which were not through ORBITZ, were very clean. Beds, sheets, towels, and floors were very clean. Each time I walked in to the lobby they asked how everything was and if we needed anything. Very good staff. Very nice rooms.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anderson_1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

This hotel's bathtub was the filthiest I ever seen...I wore flip flops to take a shower.....The bed was uncomfortable, and sheets had cigarette burns everywhere. Very dirty hotel STAY AWAY.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colemanlatisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2012 via mobile

Trip to Orlando, Fl, with 2 year old! Paid 60 for 1 night. Thought it was expensive but we were tired & just wanted to sleep the night! The room is outdated, smelly, cigarette burns on sheets! Definitely not worth that kind o money...

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miza23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2010

We got to the hotel pretty late and to be fair the staff are friendly and keen to ensure that you have settled in well. However, when we got to our rooms there was an appalling smell of mould. Everything was dirty as well. For example, under the beds there were cigarette butts and the chairs also had strange stains on them. The thing that did make us laugh was that when we had a shower, from walking from the shower to the bed bare foot our feet were dirty due to the state of the carpet.

There is nothing to do there, we ended up sitting in a mcdonalds as that was the only thing that had wireless internet. I would AVOID this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacko1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2010

rooms were clean, people were friendly and we were well taken care of.

Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ChelseyW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Glen Allen
Days Inn Glen Allen
#18 of 23 in Glen Allen
204 reviews
0.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Glen Allen/Richmond
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#34 of 81 in Richmond
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Econo Lodge-Broad St
Econo Lodge-Broad St
#55 of 81 in Richmond
24 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Glen Allen Inn
4.1 mi away
Speco Hotels Richmond
Speco Hotels Richmond
#50 of 81 in Richmond
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 8350 Brook Road, Richmond, VA 23227-1106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Richmond
Richmond Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing