We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Clean, good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #56 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Mattoon, Illinois
Level Contributor
119 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Very Clean, good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2009

We found this particular location to be very well kept, rooms were updated, smelled clean, and was well furnished. The outside appearance was very good. We used a coupon with no problems. Very friendly staff. Restuarants close by,easy access. We would not hesitate to stay here again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JnR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    7
    8
    4
    9
See reviews for
11
14
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scranton, PA, USA
Level Contributor
350 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2009

The hotel is conveniently located to I-95 and US-1, and provides basic, clean and comfortable accomodations at a reasonable price. Very convenient to restauants of all categories, as well.

Continental breakfast was very scant, andalways seemed to run out of doughnuts (only item provided), and had only coffee (no tea, juice or de-caf). Also we stayed on a week-end when Richmond collected 6 to 8 inches of snow (a rarity) and steps were not adequately cleaned leaving dangerous icing conditions.

Overall, staff was friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagerstown
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2008

Hotel is in need of upkeep. But overall beds were soft, and room was quiet. Not the cleanest, but manageable

  • Liked — Pet Friendly
  • Disliked — Charge you for use of phone, and location
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peace_jda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conshohocken, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2008

Very nice place, clean and well maintained. Close to major highway (rt 95, exit 83b). Family operated and they are very courteous. Near several eating establishments (Waffle house across the street, many others near by). Also near major shopping areas. Rooms close to office are quieter as rooms at other end are on major roadway and thus noisy. Would definitely stay there when in the area again. Breakfast, not too good though and pillows are not comfortable. Again, would definitely stay there when in the area again. We stayed there during the last full week in September of 2008.

  • Liked — The cleanliness and comfort of the room.
  • Disliked — N/A, I usually stay at Marriott when I travel, so this hotel beat what I expected for a budget price hotel.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TCoachmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2008

We ended up here after searching for vacancies in the area while stopping for the night on a road trip. It seemed safe enough, and the staff (a family) was very friendly. They accommodated our need for a pet-friendly room.

The property appears to be quite new, and they seem to keep up the place well (for example, the Dumpster is nicely hidden behind an attractive wooden fence). Don't be deceived by the photo--the hotel is actually a motel-style property with entrances directly into the rooms from the parking lot. The facade you see in the photos is the street side of one side of the building--the other side is the motel-style entrance. I think this was done to make the property look better from the street.

The room itself was clean and I didn't have any complaints there. It took a while to get the television working for some reason. We had a quick meal at the Waffle House next door before going to bed, and that place seemed well run and had good service.

My only real complaint was that there were a couple of folks who seemed to be traveling together who were standing on the balcony talking with each other for a long time into the night. Also, there was a guy who was constantly on his cell phone walking throughout the property. I was awakened by the sound of him talking on his phone outside at 3 am. I don't know what his deal was, but he was annoying.

This motel was fine for a night. I'm not sure I'd be inclined to stay more than that due to potential noise, and the fact that I don't really care for exterior-entry motels. I don't think I would feel safe staying in one alone (as a female).

  • Liked — Price, fairly new, friendly staff
  • Disliked — Noise, motel style building
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Wasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, DE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2007

Stayed at the Econolodge for a weekend in June. The rooms are very basic and dated, no frills. The room, however, was very clean. Returning again this week for another event. Chose to stay at Econlodge again because of the value and cleanliness. Free breakfast is meager but the Waffle House is right across the street.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzC_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
3.6 mi away
Econo Lodge-Broad St
Econo Lodge-Broad St
#65 of 81 in Richmond
3.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#33 of 81 in Richmond
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Glen Allen
Days Inn Glen Allen
#20 of 23 in Glen Allen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn West End
Quality Inn West End
#39 of 81 in Richmond
3.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Glen Allen Inn
0.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Glen Allen/Richmond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 8350 Brook Road, Richmond, VA 23227-1106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Expedia and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Richmond
Richmond Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing