We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and new”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Richmond West
Ranked #24 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice and new”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

Showed up without a reservation...was pleasantly surprised to see a new Lobby and newly decorated rooms....nice surprise after hours of driving. Grabbed late dinner at bistro...server not exceptionally friendly but food came out quickly. The front desk attendant was quite pleasant..would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DelbartonMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    72
    38
    16
    1
See reviews for
49
36
14
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nowhere
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

This is a very standard Courtyard. We stayed here on the way to DC and got in later than expected. No problems- we were still welcomed and given a perfectly clean room. There is a mini-fridge in the room, as well as a couch (in the king-size bed rooms). It looked pretty new, along with the lobby which was well decorated.

My only complaint is the location of the light switches in the bathroom! The light switch to the toilet/shower part is not in the room, but located to the right of the sink. . .confusing. The light to the sink/closet area was on the left of the sink. . .not very intuitive places.

Didn't hear a lot of noise and it was a Friday night, which is a good thing. Both when we checked in and out, the Bistro was busy. We did not eat there, but a lot of people were!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the second or third floor.. . first floor opens to the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gambatte Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christiansburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

Our family was visiting Richmond for a trip to Lego Kids Fest downtown and choose this hotel based on price. I was very pleased with hotel - great location, clean and large rooms, comfortable beds. We even had a patio overlooking pool area. However, I was disappointed in noise in hallways throughout the night (high school girls soccer team) - slamming doors, laughing/screaming kids, not a lot of supervision or help from staff to keep noise to minimum. The kids loved the lobby area with touch screen tv and we enjoyed our hot breakfast at the bistro. Friendly staff, however, they weren't very helpful with local dining and attractions or noise levels at night.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hkabbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
251 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

We travel to Richmond frequently to visit family and were surprised to find the hotel renovation nearly completed - lobby and rooms. The rooms are newly decorated, carpeting all new, halls painted, etc. The lobby is totally renovated and a "bistro" is now part of the operation. The staff is always friendly, and very helpful. I was very disappointed, however, that with the arrival of the bistro, they removed the coffee urns from the lobby where free coffee was alway available. The one-cup-at-a-time coffee makers are still in each room, but I did love the coffee from the lobby. It is still available - now for purchase. We will continue staying here because of the convenience and comfort.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VAlovetotravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

My husband and I stayed in this Marriott in January of 2013 while attending an exhibit at the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, which is about ten minutes away. The hotel had just been redone. The room was bright and attractive and everything was new and clean. The reading lamps were excellent. Breakfast was available downstairs in a newly-opened cafe. The food was good, moderately-priced and nicely served. The staff of this hotel was wonderful -- very gracious and attentive. There is also a lounge area that is part of the lobby, complete with comfortable seating and wi-fi. If I were traveling for business, I would definitely spend time there.

While mattress and pillow hardness is totally an individual thing, I found the mattress a bit soft. But the bedding was new. The top piece was a cover with duvet so it can be washed frequently, unlike bedspreads in many hotels. The bathroom was just a bit small but totally acceptable for a weekend trip. I would definitely go back here.

Room Tip: This hotel is on Richmond's main street so you might want to ask for a room on the back. We did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parisfan072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

Other Trip Advisor reviews indicated the hotel needed updating. I am thrilled to report the hotel/lobby and rooms have been updated. I had a room on the back. It was so mild I slept with the screen door open. Renovations are still underway in the outside grounds and so it was noisy very early in the AM. Bed was completely comfortable and I had a great night's sleep.

I mentioned to check out clerk that I thought the room needed more mirrors and she said the mirrors are on the inside of closet doors. Who knew.

Room Tip: Broad Street can be busy so request a room in the back parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

Arrival was easy just off Broad Street the parking lot is surface parking and free. I was using a frequent stayer coupon and it was no problem at check in. The lobby is renovated and has an active bar. When asked about noise the guy at the front desk handed us a "no party" document and wanted us to sign it. Guess it works the room and hallways were quiet. The room itself was modern and clean. The next morning they had what seemed to be a very expensive breakfast available. Sorta like a starbucks set up. Opt'ed to not pay their price and went down the road to Cracker Barrell. I would probably look for a hotel with a complimentary breakfast next time I was in West Richmond.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a1scuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond - West Broad
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Richmond West End
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Executive Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Westin Richmond
The Westin Richmond
#2 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Richmond West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Richmond West

Property: Courtyard Richmond West
Address: 6400 W Broad St, Richmond, VA 23230-2012
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Richmond West 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Richmond West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Richmond West Hotel Richmond
Richmond Courtyard
Richmond Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing