We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For Those Who Think They Are Important”
Review of DeLux - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
DeLux
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“For Those Who Think They Are Important”
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Overrated and frequented by the young social climber set who want to be seen. Typical Richmond attitude...yuk! Food is average, but service was good. Better atmosphere and food found elsewhere in Richmond. One visit is enough!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank DerekDonuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Atmosphere, Good Prices”
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I've eaten at DeLux a few times. I have never been disappointed by the service, food or value. Located in the heart of the fan district, DeLux offers the city vibe of Richmond at reasonable prices.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crozier, Virginia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Way overpriced - we won't be back”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The food was just okay - ordered 3 appetizers and bill was over $36. We ordered these high price items because we had a Groupon, but, because the food was not hot and the taste was mediocre, we will not return. The bar area was filled and the crowd was very loud which carries throughout the restaurant. In my opinion, it is more of a bar and less of a restaurant. On the positive side, the restaurant is beautifully decorated!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danmar333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmville, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“"Don't Bother"”
Reviewed 19 June 2011

The food was only adequate, and the service was horrible. We had a long wait to order
and then an even longer wait for the food to arrive. When it did come, my friend's french fries were barely warm, and my crab cake sandwich (which on the menu said came on an English muffin) was on a cold hamburger bun. No one offered refills on drinks or asked us if we needed anything else. The place has a nice atmosphere, but I wouldn't go back. There are too many restaurants in this area that offer much better food for the price and much better and faster service.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Debra57726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere & decor, poor food”
Reviewed 20 June 2010

My wife and I were excited to visit DeLux after reading the menu available on their website. So we went one weekend for dinner. When we arrived we noticed immediately that it wasn't very crowded. This should have been a sign of what was to come. We also noticed and loved the Decor of the restaurant. DeLux has three main eating areas: upstairs, downstairs, and a backroom. We decided to eat in the backroom since it was open and a nice day outside.

We ordered the truffle fries and lobster dip as appetizers. When they arrived we were quite disappointed. There wasn't much truffle flavor to the fries and they were covered in cheese (which is explained on the menu). Unfortunately neither made them appetizing (we ended up using a lot of salt). The lobster dip had good flavor but it was cold and didn't seem homemade. The chips that came with it were also a little greasy. For dinner, I had the fish tacos which came with rice and beans whereas my wife had the lobster mac and cheese. The fish tacos were pretty good but the rice and beans were awful, you could tell it had been sitting for a while. The rice and beans were both very unappealing visually and you could tell the dishes weren't fresh. The lobster mac and cheese wasn't much better. There was very little flavor and the lobster wasn't fresh either. This was unfortunate as both dinners were part of their signature dishes. After the lackluster performance we definitely weren't going to try the desserts.
I personally had no qualms about the service, the hostess and server were both very friendly. Although the service was a tad slow, it wasn't anything that really irritated us as she was extremely nice and knowledgeable. tl;dr: Good decor and service, bad food; wouldn't recommend

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank averagejoe456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing