We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Richmond Hotel
Ranked #13 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with a group for a school trip. When we arrived we learned our rooms were the same but different prices and there were only 3 beds for our mixed gender group of 7 adults. I don't know if this was an issue with the hotel or our own fault, but due to a marathon no other rooms were available. After a half hour check in process we were told there were not enough rollaways for us. Luckily when we got to our rooms rollaways were already there. The location is great and the staff was nice, but the rooms are loud. At 12:30 last night I could hear the club across the street as if I were there, and my room was on the 12th floor. There are gaps around the door so you hear everything in the hall. The room had lots of windows but a weird gap in the curtains that filters light right onto the pillows of the bed. There was also no hand soap provided in the bathrooms and no exhaust fan. The rollaway was extremely uncomfortable and came with only one thin blanket. I had to sleep on extra pillows from the bed to make the rollaway bearable.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Rachael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear Rachel C,

I want to thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel. I regret to read that the rooms that were available upon check in did not meet your needs and that we created additional confusion in regards to the roll away beds. Please know that all of your comments ranging from the check in process to the concerns in your room are shared with our management team so that we can evaluate ways to make improvements.

We value you and appreciate your business. Please accept our apologies that the issues you experienced marred what would have otherwise been an enjoyable stay to Richmond. Please let us know when you plan to return to Richmond. We would love another opportunity to provide you with the great stay that you deserve.

Sincerely,

Mark Karbotly
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,984)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,478 - 1,484 of 1,984 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

The Omni Richmond is an exceptional hotel with a great website, friendly staff and comfortable rooms. It has bath tubs, which more and more hotels are eliminating. Starbucks coffee is the standard, and down pillows and comforters are the standard. Very fresh and comfortable. They made me feel like they VALUE my business. Wow. Totally wow.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Tatiana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Well located on historic Cary Street, a lovely hotel, that skillfully retains local charachter, lore, and charm. I had originally only planned to stay two nights, and I had such a positive experience, that I extebnded the stay an additional two more nights to carry us through the long weekend. Thank you for affirming my belief that the Omni stands a cut above cookie-cutter chains in attention to details and niceities that made me hardly think twice about the general inconvience of not being in one's own home. Tips: Corner queen rooms have the best views. Staff is well spoken and competent. Extras are included that are hard to find at this price point amoung competitors. I am eagerly awaiting my next stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Lauren E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Nice place but room type was overbooked so I got downgraded and still had to pay the same rate. The valets were a little rude. We were told during booking and at the check in that we'd have a refrigerator in the room so we bought food and then after we got to the room and discovered there wasn't one we were told we could "rent" one for $15 per night. We had a wedding to get to and after an hour they hadn't delivered it so we asked if they'd put our food in when the fridge came. They happily said yes but when we returned our $40 worth of food had gone to waste.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Aged hotel that could be very nice if it tried but looks dirty and used. Staff was very friendly but management needs to invest some $$$ to upgrade common areas, elevators and can you please hire someone to clean the outside windows so your guests can actually see the beautiful James River?

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank We6smiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

We appreciate your comments and are thrilled to share that the Omni Richmond will soon be getting a new look. We are in the process of planning a revitalization that will bring the physical properties of our hotel up to the same high standards as our service. We truly hope you will consider a future stay with us so that you can experience our new look.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Having been in the Omni on numerous occasions, I find the place getting old and less of a first class hotel. I sure hope how Omni takes care of this hotel is not a reflection of how they are going to take care of the Homestead and the Grove Park Inn, recent historical properties they bought. While the hotel staff was friendly, the carpet is wearing out, the rooms are getting ragged and the overall condition of the property is declining. Attached is a photo of the carpet.

Room Tip: I would not advise staying here but if you do, stay in a corner toom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exptrave101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

We appreciate your loyalty to our hotel and regret that during your most recent stay your felt the hotel was in need of some updates. We are happy to report that we will soon undergo a revitalization process. We continue to take great pride in our service and our property and hope that you will return soon to find that comments such as yours have been heard and changes have taken place to improve the experiences of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Join the Omni Loyalty program first - it's free and you get a room upgrade and free wifi in the room. You also get free Starbucks for every morning, delivered to your door, that you stay at the hotel. Parking is expensive, there is a $5 garage across the street.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Gurinder V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.8 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 82 in Richmond
1,291 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#7 of 82 in Richmond
915 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,069 reviews
0.3 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown
0.9 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 82 in Richmond
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Richmond Hotel

Address: 100 S 12th St, Richmond, VA 23219-4012
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Richmond
#6 Family Hotel in Richmond
#7 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#8 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: £117 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Richmond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of everything that makes Richmond the truly special destination city that it is, Omni Richmond Hotel invites you to experience refined Southern hospitality in an elegant contemporary yet refined and relaxing setting. Nestled within the historic and vibrant Shockoe Slip district, our guests enjoy the timeless architecture and gas lamp-lined brick streets beckoning from a time gone by. Alive with the vibrant sounds, sights and flavors of the many first-class dining and entertainment venues, the Slip offers guests the true taste of Richmond. The nation's most storied and treasured historical sites and attractions are also just mere minutes away, leaving a remarkable and unforgettable impression on all who visit those cherished sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Richmond Hotel Richmond
Omni Hotel Richmond
Richmond Omni Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing