We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel with super staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Richmond Hotel
Ranked #12 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
charlotte, nc, United States
1 review
“great hotel with super staff”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My husband and I traveled to Richmond to bring some furniture to our daughter. I found a pretty good deal on line and knew we liked the downtown area, so called the hotel a few weeks ahead. We arrived around 8pm Friday night and stayed through Sunday brunch. Everyone was friendly and gracious from the valet service to desk check in to wait staff in the restaurant. Rooms were spacious and clean

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Eugenia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,900 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    982
    539
    237
    95
    47
See reviews for
358
454
109
790
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
370 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We spent a weekend at the Omni and had a room on the top floor overlooking the state capitol. The hotel is downtown and near great restaurants. The room was comfortable and the service was a taste of southern hospitality. We enjoyed breakfast at Trevi's and had a wonderful waiter (Stewart) who presented us with a map and answered questions about the area. We also had dinner at the bar and were able to order off of the dinner menu. There was a fire going in the fireplace in the lobby area. Everyone on the staff was friendly. Yes, the toilet was noisy and the neighbors were noisy...but overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPKinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The Omni was a great overnight stay. The staff is first rate and made sure everything was ready. The room was clean and quiet, bed soft, great view. This was a Saturday night, and some group had an event in the ballroom -- looked like a 20-somthing prom, but probably a wedding. Young ladies with lots of makeup and short dresses, guys drunk, etc. No problems at the hotel, no disruptive behavior. Saw a few stumbling out Sunday morning still wearing their party clothes . The Omni handled it well.

Sunday breakfast buffet was perfect!

Room Tip: The higher floors are the quieter rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuthorGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

We checked into a horribly-smelling room overlooking A /C units. But, Eddie , our bellhop, saved the day. He called the front desk, retrieved new keys, & moved us to a much nicer room 10 stories up. Eddie was the best experience we had at this hotel. He deserves EE of the month!!

Stating this is a luxury hotel is stretching the truth--alot. Our room had a very tiny tub/shower with old style tile (in desperate need of re-grouting). Pool was closed due to an electrical problem, whereby some stipend should have been
offered. I had to walk to the adjacent bldg for the exercise room-which is actually a YMCA. The only place to buy coffee is a Starbucks downstairs which had a long wait & closes early. However, on my last day I discovered an Arby's in the adjacent bldg that sold coffee & a few breakfast items.

Location not bad...across from The Tobacco Company. Now THAT establishment deserves 5 stars!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Chocoholicjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
We were disappointed to read about your recent experience at our hotel and regret that we missed that mark on several aspects of your stay. We are delighted to read that Eddie was the bright spot during your time with us and we look forward to recognizing him for his efforts. We are excited to share that we will soon embark upon a room renovation that will address many of the comments you included in your review. We hope that you will consider staying with us again once completed for an experience that meets all of your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The room seemed like a great idea, but when we got in there was a used rag on the desk, crumbs and food pieces on the floor, and a generally unpleasant atmosphere. If you're not planning on spending a very large amount of money, don't bother staying here. You'll be treated poorly. This place isn't worth the money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Kaylene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Please accept our sincerest apologies for the oversights during your stay. What you experienced was unacceptable but we are grateful that we had the chance to speak with you so we could research what may have happened and take measures to prevent a future occurrence. We truly apologize that your stay was not up to your standards or our own and we hope the future will give us a second opportunity to provide you with the stay you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakton, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We arrived well after the check in time to find no room ready at 4:00 pm. We were asked to wait after a long drive to the area. We pre-paid for the room, so there was no doubt that we were coming. We were offered a lesser room after I complained to the manager.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Please accept our apologies that your room was not immediately available upon your arrival. We let you down and can understand that you must have been frustrated. It was beneficial with us to be able to work with you directly to understand what happened and we look forward to a future opportunity to welcome you back for a stay that starts out on the right foot and exceeds all of your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Charged for internet when it was supposed to be included for signing up for rewards program. Batteries in TV remote were shot (channels and volume stuck). Sink faucet put on crooked and handle for hot water too tight to turn. Walls we incredibly THIN. You could hear EVERYTHING in the rooms adjacent and above. No sleep was had.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback both on TripAdvisor and through our in house survey. We truly regret to read that your recent stay was not better executed and offer our sincerest apologies. Thank you for allowing us to reach out to you to learn more about your experience and we assure you that your feedback is utilized to make improvements to our hotel. We truly hope the future will give us a second chance to gain your goodwill towards our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.1 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 81 in Richmond
854 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 81 in Richmond
1,249 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 81 in Richmond
1,035 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 81 in Richmond
693 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Richmond Hotel

Property: Omni Richmond Hotel
Address: 100 S 12th St, Richmond, VA 23219-4012
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Richmond
#6 Family Hotel in Richmond
#7 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#8 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Richmond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of everything that makes Richmond the truly special destination city that it is, Omni Richmond Hotel invites you to experience refined Southern hospitality in an elegant contemporary yet refined and relaxing setting. Nestled within the historic and vibrant Shockoe Slip district, our guests enjoy the timeless architecture and gas lamp-lined brick streets beckoning from a time gone by. Alive with the vibrant sounds, sights and flavors of the many first-class dining and entertainment venues, the Slip offers guests the true taste of Richmond. The nation's most storied and treasured historical sites and attractions are also just mere minutes away, leaving a remarkable and unforgettable impression on all who visit those cherished sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Omni Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Richmond Hotel Richmond
Omni Hotel Richmond
Richmond Omni Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing