We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omni Richmond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Omni Richmond Hotel
Ranked #10 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
CHRISTIANSBURG
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

The Omni staff was excellent. They went out of their way to assist. They did not appear to be rushed, thereby willing to chat with you about any concerns. The parking attendants and bell hop appeared very eager to help in any way possible. The vehicle was ready for pick-up in a timely manner. The rooms were quite nice – clean and spacious. The pool was relaxing with plenty of room for seating (water temp. at 88 degrees).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Tod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    906
    503
    216
    84
    41
See reviews for
319
418
103
735
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
candle1976
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

First time in Richmond and I stayed, at the recommendation of a business associate, at the Omni. The staff were helpful, friendly, and on it. The hotel is in a great location. I have no complaints about my room, or the river view it had. The only complaint was the floor, one of the highest, was a bit musty. When in elevator, or in my room, I didn't notice it - just in the hall between.

Room Tip: Higher floor avoided street level noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank candle1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

This was the fourth hotel of our recent tour of Virginia and we were impressed. I had emailed the hotel a number of weeks before to enquire about storing our luggage, as we were due to arrive in Richmond quite early in the morning. I received a very speedy reply and was very pleased that our luggage was stored securely on arrival. Valet parking was quick and efficient - great staff.
Our room was located on the 15th floor and was clean and very comfortable. Lots of lovely toiletries in the bathroom!
The Washington Redskins were also staying in the hotel. This didn't affect us at all, although on a number of occasions we met fans who were riding the elevators in the hope of spotting one of the players. As we are English, we had no idea who any of them were. We just guessed whenever we spotted a big chap in a tight shirt!
The on-site Starbucks was a real bonus. We also ate breakfast in the hotel- the buffet was excellent,as was the service. Compliments to our server Stuart, who looked after us so well - he even advised us as to some of the places we could visit whilst in Richmond. Also many thanks to Mark the bellman, who was so helpful in recommending restaurants in the locality. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Omni, although Richmond was our least favourite place on our tour.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiganer78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We have had a couple stays at this hotel. Very welcoming, feels like you get a lot of bang for your buck. Location is good, and you have access to major routes, shopping, and walking distance to dining establishments. Friendly and accommodating staff. Valet Parking is awesome.

Room Tip: Join the rewards club and receive free wifi, the breakfast buffet is great just wish they would offe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K.T. J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hotel has nothing but location to offer. The carpets are stained, bathrooms are dirty, room service trays were left in hallway for hours, it is very outdated. We were not permitted to sit in lobby because a professional football team was staying at the hotel. My son and I were rudely treated and harassed even though we were guests of the hotel. The front desk staff was very polite and professional as was John, one of the bell staff, however it does not compensate for the overall hotel experience.

Room Tip: Go to the Jefferson hotel for a much better hotel experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yoboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
We are truly sorry to read about your experience at our hotel. All guests should feel welcome and comfortable while staying with us and we regret that this was not your experience. Please know that your feedback is reviewed by our management team to make the necessary changes. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Having stayed at this Omni since the 90's, I highly recommend this property when visiting the Richmond area. It is conveniently located off I-95 and in the heart of Shockhoe Slip, historic district with many fine restaurants and shops. The Valet and Bell staff happily welcome you and your first impression is a good one. You won't be disappointed in your room and the beds make you feel like you are floating on a cloud. The staff makes sure your stay is a memorable one! I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen6422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Omni hotels are fewer and frankly nicer than most of the better chain hotels -- with new and fabulous locations in Dallas and Nashville as example. Omni Richmond. anchors the business district of downtown Richmond - yet - is also on the very street with great restaurants and old cobble stone road leading to historic section of downtown. The hotel is directly across from the Tobacco Company Restaurant, a very interesting and quite good local place popular with students, perhaps more so their parents taking out their college kids for dinner, Morton's steak house in a block away and the Hard Shell is a truly outstanding seafood restaurant, as good as seafood gets, The hotel connects with the James Center business tower, convenient for business travel and is a modern looking, tasteful and stylish corporate office and hotel center. The hotel staff are quite good and make every effort to accommodate those traveling on business, families visiting the capital of the confederacy, tourists making Richmond center for their explorations and those following the Washington Redskins in training camp purpose built for them by the city of Richmond. The Redskins team was staying at the Omni the week they prepped for playing the Patriots. Morton's still had steak the days following. The concierge was very helpful as were all the Omni staff. Rooms we very comfortable. large, great accommodations, bathroom amenities excellent, robes and towels first rate, Internet great access and overall a great destination, business and leisure hotel. Had a bit of a incident with valet of car -- they got right on it -- and took responsibility. I've stayed at this hotel before -- had plenty of other choices -- this was perfect for me. As a Dad of a University of Richmond Graduate -- the hotel has served a ground central for many events, long weekends and festive occasions. Access to main highways is great -- and the Fan District of old Richmond homes and super small restaurants is one of the south's best city areas. Be sure to try the Strawberry Street Cafe --- you won'd be disappointed. Thumbs up for the Omni Richmond

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.8 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#9 of 81 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#7 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#6 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Richmond Hotel

Property: Omni Richmond Hotel
Address: 100 S 12th St, Richmond, VA 23219-4012
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Richmond
#6 Family Hotel in Richmond
#7 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#8 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Richmond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of everything that makes Richmond the truly special destination city that it is, Omni Richmond Hotel invites you to experience refined Southern hospitality in an elegant contemporary yet refined and relaxing setting. Nestled within the historic and vibrant Shockoe Slip district, our guests enjoy the timeless architecture and gas lamp-lined brick streets beckoning from a time gone by. Alive with the vibrant sounds, sights and flavors of the many first-class dining and entertainment venues, the Slip offers guests the true taste of Richmond. The nation's most storied and treasured historical sites and attractions are also just mere minutes away, leaving a remarkable and unforgettable impression on all who visit those cherished sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Omni Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Richmond Hotel Richmond
Omni Hotel Richmond
Richmond Omni Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing