We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Omni Richmond Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Richmond Marriott(Richmond)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,134)
Filter reviews
2,134 results
Traveller rating
1,082
594
276
121
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,082
594
276
121
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjames centertobacco companyvalet parkingrewards programshockoe slipjames rivermini barnice hotelstate capitolwalking distancecorner roomvalet servicecanal walkdowntown areashockoe bottombreakfast buffetfront desk staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,344 - 1,349 of 2,134 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I asked for an upper floor. They put us on the 18th floor (of 19). We really enjoyed the view of the Capitol Building and a really nice cathedral. This is a great place to stay. All of the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Very nice and comfortable hotel. Quality of food was good, but taste was disappointing-- breakfast and at wedding- but the candy shop that sells chocolate in the hotel made up where the food left off. Would recommend to all, and I plan to return when in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Shelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This was probably the nicest hotel I have ever stayed in. The room was beautiful with a curving panoramic view of the city and James River. The bed and linens were very nice and comfortable. The Bathroom was very clean, large and up to date. I will stay again anytime I am Richmond, VA. The price was very reasonable, too!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Certainly good for the price. DO NOT get sucked into the breakfast buffet! $50 for the two of us to have dry, hard pancakes, dry choke inducing eggs, greasy GREASY bacon and sausage, etc. Stay at the hotel, but venture out for breakfast!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank ThatComputerChick2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Thank you for your feedback and please accept our apologies that your breakfast was not more enjoyable. We will share your comments with our food and beverage team. We are glad that you otherwise enjoyed your stay and hope you will return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Contrary to the other reviews, our room was clean and our bed comfy (so we may have had a room that had been recently updated). The one thing that I will note was the faint mildew scent that I noted upon our arrival. The bellman advised turning the AC down to circulate the air and to eliminate the odor. Not my preferred method but it seemed to work. I would also point out that this hotel is located in the financial district and not in tourist area. (Shockoe seems to be promoted as a distination but we did not see any galleries, etc. to visit as we walked around the area.) There are many restaurants on the charming, cobblestoned street so there is something for everyone from both a cuisine and price perspective. However, you should not expect shopping or tourist attractions within walking distance. The hotel does have a free shuttle that will take you to Carytown (not worth the visit) or other locales then pick you up.

As others have noted, be aware of the add-on costs such as $10 for wireless. I found it rather disconcerting that the fee is not apparent during the sign-on but made my husband call the front desk to check. (I had stayed at an Omni in CA with the same fee.) If you sign up for the rewards program the fee is waived but it will be on your bill and you have to ask to have it removed. The valet parking is $20 per day and worth it to us. However, there are parking garages across the street that are ~$10 per day.

There is no concierge to assist with tourist information. As a matter of fact, when we asked what was nearby, one bellman looked at us in astonishment and commented that this was the "financial district" as though we should realize that there would be nothing close by. Also of note is that this is a very hilly area so may pose walking considerations for some individuals.

We were on the 14th floor and the view of the city was of parking garages. We had asked about a river view and were told that it was really just a creek (which it was). So I am not sure about the views that other reviewers have commented on.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank casmith79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to leave such a detailed review. It was disappointing to read that we failed to provide you with more information about the surrounding area and a view of the beautiful James River which truly is a river. We are fortunate to have many historic sights including the Capitol, the Poe Museum, St. John's Church, and many others within walking distance of the hotel. We will follow up with our associates to make sure they have a good understanding of the local area to share with our guests. Please accept our apologies that we did not provide you with better information. We are delighted that you there were parts of your stay that you enjoyed and we hope for a future opportunity to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews