We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hotel in richmond”
Review of The Berkeley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Berkeley Hotel
Ranked #8 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2011

stayed at the berkeley on april 1st ( no joke ) . what a great place. got a room overlooking cary street w/ a balcony. from the valet parking attendent to the front desk personnel to the waiter in the restaurant this hotel can"t be beat. the room was wonderfully decorated and super clean. the room had all the amenities, wifi and large flat screen tv. the bathroom was huge and the rooms were very quiet. right outside the door of the hotel there are many fine restaurants and shops. when in richmond i recommend staying at the berkeley you won"t be disappointed

Room Tip: ask for a room w/ a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malnval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (934)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

835 - 841 of 934 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2011

The Berkeley Hotel has hits and misses.

We found the staff, with only minor expections, to be pleasant and made an effort to be helpful.

As this was a site seeing holiday it was a bit surprising that a hotel located within three blocks of the state capital did not know if they were open for tours on Saturday and was unable to locate the information on her computer. Almost no tourist brochures available.


Very annoying not to be able to get a newspaper on Sunday in the hotel. Checked with a hotel nearby and they did not have a Sunday paper either. (This was at 7:30 a.m.)

The dining room is lovely, however it was a major disappointment - gastly is a better discription. Nothing good about the brunch. One of the waiters had an attitude problem. We had planned to have dinner there on the second night but changed our plans after the awful brunch.

Upon checkout our bill was totally screwed up. After significant discussion, the charges were reduced by $58.00.

There seems to inconsistancy in the attention to detail in the decoration of the guest rooms. Our first night was spent in a Jr. Suite on the third floor facing the street, directly across from a very loud bar that did not close until 2:30 a.m. They were gracious about changing our room for the second night. This suite, located on the back of the hotel facing a brick building, was much nicer and much, much quieter.

Grips:
The selection of TV channels was very poor.

The radio did not work - but the alarm did...The alarm on the radio went off at 6:00 a.m. This is a common problem in most hotels .and we usually check. Forgot the first night.
It should be a law that housekeeping check clock alarms

Lighting in the bathroom was very poor for shaving: the makeup mirror was nice.

The shower curtains were ugly and not up to the standards of a 4-star hotel.

There was only one trash can in the whole suite.

Would I recommend the Berkeley? Probably - with disclaimers..

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you check in.
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ShabbyTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dennypppp, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2011

Thank you for your comments. The Berkeley Hotel staff takes great pride in providing excellent service for our guests. We were very disappointed to hear that we did not exceed your expectations during your recent stay.We are following up with our staff on all of the points that you have brought to our attention. Please feel free to contact the General Manager directly If I can be of any further assistance to you at 804-225-5148. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Really, isn't this all you need? Polite staff that leaves you alone. Clean, quiet room. Hot shower, warm blanket, and a pillow that's better than the one you left at home.

Plus, you walk out the door to cross the cobblestone streets of historic Richmond and go get a better cup of coffee at Starbucks.

I paid the same rate as the last time I stayed there in '05.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reservationless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2011

Stayed at the Berkeley Hotel for one night to visit the Picasso Exhibit and had a fabulous package deal. However, I would consider staying here again without hesitation.
We were arriving early and the hotel had a room blocked off for us so that we could drop our bags at 11 AM! Very nice. Unfortunately, the room location was not to our liking and while we were visiting the excellent Picasso exhibit, the hotel moved our bags to a wonderful Junior Suite.

The room amenities were great -- there was a sittling area on the nice terrace, a bank of windows to let in the glorious sunshine, well appointed bathroom with plush robes and good towels, free wi-fi and a gloriously comfortable bed!

Dinner at the restaurant, which was part of our package -- was very good. Delicious crab cakes and decadent desserts. Breakfast was complimentary as well and while not expansive, did feature excellent house-made granola, fruit and biscuits.

Overall, our stay was a pleasure -- service was helpful and attentive. We would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

We spent one night at the hotel which is located in the historic Shockhoe Slip area. The room was nice and very clean with a comfortable bed. Service is OK. The clerk that checked us in did not offer us the 20% off coupon for dinner at the hotel restaurant; another clerk did later on. We ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant. My husband enjoyed his; mine was disappointing. There are lots of interesting restaurants in the neighborhood so don't feel compelledntoneat there.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michzuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

The staff was extremely friendly. The rooms were big and very comfortable. Everyone was so patient. Everything was clean and soooo quiet. Was in a great location with wonderful restaurants nearby and shopping places in Shockoe Slip. The Sunday Brunch was delicious. Definitely well worth it!! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snorkel0728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

The desk clerk and valet were the nicest I've encountered at any hotel. They were very thoughtful and courteous. They seemed eager to help. I was left with a very positive view of the hotel and of Richmond. Also, my room was very spotlessly clean and comfortable. I'm kind of persnickety, so I normally keep my socks on when staying in a hotel, but here I felt comfortable in bare feet. The bed was nicer than my mattress at home. I was on the second floor on a Friday night and slept soundly.

The only negative thing I can think of is one piddly detail: The laminated TV channel guide, which was left on a nightstand, was not up to date. In all, I had a delightful stay and would definitely recommend this hotel. I greatly appreciated how nice and thoughtful the staff were during my brief stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank panchomancho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.7 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,075 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 82 in Richmond
1,301 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#14 of 82 in Richmond
2,023 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 82 in Richmond
781 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Westin Richmond
The Westin Richmond
#3 of 82 in Richmond
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berkeley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berkeley Hotel

Address: 1200 E Cary St, Richmond, VA 23219-4116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#9 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#23 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: £101 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Berkeley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Berkeley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing