We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super place to stay. Well done!”
Review of The Berkeley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Berkeley Hotel
Ranked #7 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Super place to stay. Well done!”
Reviewed 11 June 2011

The location was on a busy but quiet street that was full of nice resturants. There was valet parking but it was OK to park your own car if you like. The check in was quick and easy. The room was outstanding with 6 big windows, a balconey, and great decore. The bathroom was also very nice. The resturant was nicely appointed; the food was tasty; and the service was very good. I've been around the world more than once and this is one of the best places that I've stayed at. Well done!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miner62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    232
    66
    40
    32
See reviews for
170
341
49
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

I have stayed at this hotel some years ago and it still has the same magic it did then. We parked out front and we were immediately greeted by the bellman who helped us with our luggage. Our car was valet parked. The front desk staff was very friendly and efficient as our check-in was quick and we went straight to our room. Our room was lovely with a nice balcony facing the front of the hotel. So nice to sit out there and have a glass of wine. The only 2 negatives were the safe had been closed by a previous guest and we could not use it and the sink in the bathroom had a drainage issue. Being we were just staying 1 night, we had no problems with these issues but did mention it to the desk clerk at check out the next day. Our dinner was delicious - Prime Rib with blue cheese potatoes, green beans, salad and the most delicious rolls you can imagine(like my Grandmother and Mother made). The dessert was to die for - a secret recipe bread pudding!! OMG!! And of course, Sunday morning brunch was delicious - The Chesapeake Omelet was wonderful as was the, I think its called, Eggs over Hash.

Our stay, to say the least, was WONDERFUL - the price was underbelievible for the room, the breakfast and tickets to the Picasso Exhibit.

Will stay there again and again. Many thanks to the staff!

Room Tip: Room 504 has a great view from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cwlover47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

My husband and I had a terrific weekend stay at the Berkeley Hotel. Rooms were clean and comfy, and best of all it was situated in a great location to enjoy downtown Richmond. Right down the street was a great cafe for a casual breakfast--Urban Farmhouse Market--that we went to both days. You can walk to tons of restaurants, shops, the canal, the capitol--everything. Just be careful if you park a car there...it says "Complimentary Valet Parking" outside, but that's only for the restaurant diners; for overnight parking, it's $21. Would definitely stay there again if we go back to Richmond!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lck823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The 'burbs of Washington, DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

I wanted to book The Berkeley for 4 nights - from Friday through Monday - only to learn it was completely booked the first 2 nights due to NASCAR weekend in Richmond. We quickly changed our plans for those nights and arrived at the hotel late Sunday afternoon. Even though the staff must have been terribly busy those previous 2 days, they went out of their way in giving us great service and restaurant recommendations for dinner. We had a lovely time walking every where and thoroughly enjoyed our room with the balcony across from The Tobacco Company. I understand it can be noisy on the weekend, but with a little prior research I have been able to make great travel accomodations and The Berkeley rates right up there as one of our most memorable hotels. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaBernard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philly
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We stayed at this hotel while touring colleges with our son. The hotel is located on a street with heavy bar traffic. We were given a room on the second floor in the front of the hotel - and it was awful. Starting at 12:30 going until about 2:30am there was loud noises of drunken partiers from the bar located directly across the street - screaming, loud laughing, bottles breaking. It wasn't Mardi Gras, but it sounded like it. It was obnoxious! The hotel was really nice otherwise - and not even filled to capacity. I don't know why they put us in this room knowing the bar across the street was an issue. The night deskman offered no comfort. He just said their was nothing they could do, and the bars didn't close until 2am. Well - there is something they could do - Don't put people in that room!! The rooms on this side of the hotel should be equipped with white noise filters.

I came to this hotel for a comfortable nights sleep - I did not get it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BiancaPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape neddick, maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2011

stayed at the berkeley on april 1st ( no joke ) . what a great place. got a room overlooking cary street w/ a balcony. from the valet parking attendent to the front desk personnel to the waiter in the restaurant this hotel can"t be beat. the room was wonderfully decorated and super clean. the room had all the amenities, wifi and large flat screen tv. the bathroom was huge and the rooms were very quiet. right outside the door of the hotel there are many fine restaurants and shops. when in richmond i recommend staying at the berkeley you won"t be disappointed

Room Tip: ask for a room w/ a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malnval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2011

The Berkeley Hotel has hits and misses.

We found the staff, with only minor expections, to be pleasant and made an effort to be helpful.

As this was a site seeing holiday it was a bit surprising that a hotel located within three blocks of the state capital did not know if they were open for tours on Saturday and was unable to locate the information on her computer. Almost no tourist brochures available.


Very annoying not to be able to get a newspaper on Sunday in the hotel. Checked with a hotel nearby and they did not have a Sunday paper either. (This was at 7:30 a.m.)

The dining room is lovely, however it was a major disappointment - gastly is a better discription. Nothing good about the brunch. One of the waiters had an attitude problem. We had planned to have dinner there on the second night but changed our plans after the awful brunch.

Upon checkout our bill was totally screwed up. After significant discussion, the charges were reduced by $58.00.

There seems to inconsistancy in the attention to detail in the decoration of the guest rooms. Our first night was spent in a Jr. Suite on the third floor facing the street, directly across from a very loud bar that did not close until 2:30 a.m. They were gracious about changing our room for the second night. This suite, located on the back of the hotel facing a brick building, was much nicer and much, much quieter.

Grips:
The selection of TV channels was very poor.

The radio did not work - but the alarm did...The alarm on the radio went off at 6:00 a.m. This is a common problem in most hotels .and we usually check. Forgot the first night.
It should be a law that housekeeping check clock alarms

Lighting in the bathroom was very poor for shaving: the makeup mirror was nice.

The shower curtains were ugly and not up to the standards of a 4-star hotel.

There was only one trash can in the whole suite.

Would I recommend the Berkeley? Probably - with disclaimers..

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you check in.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ShabbyTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dennypppp, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2011
Thank you for your comments. The Berkeley Hotel staff takes great pride in providing excellent service for our guests. We were very disappointed to hear that we did not exceed your expectations during your recent stay.We are following up with our staff on all of the points that you have brought to our attention. Please feel free to contact the General Manager directly If I can be of any further assistance to you at 804-225-5148. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.7 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 81 in Richmond
1,013 reviews
0.1 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#11 of 81 in Richmond
1,857 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 81 in Richmond
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 81 in Richmond
670 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berkeley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berkeley Hotel

Property: The Berkeley Hotel
Address: 1200 E Cary St, Richmond, VA 23219-4116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#9 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#23 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Berkeley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Berkeley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing