We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caring on Cary Street”
Review of The Berkeley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Berkeley Hotel
Ranked #7 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Recent stay was a weekend overnight package deal including a credit for dinner in the hotel restaurant and free valet parking. Room was large with a private balcony with outdoor seating. Comfortable king size bed as well as a pull out sofa bed. Bath was large and luxurious. Restaurant menu was interesting and food was good. Dinner was not rushed. Staff had us wait briefly while a good table was cleared near the front window rather than seating us in the back of the restaurant. Hotel room was very quiet even though there was considerable activity in the hotel and on Cary St. Hotel is directly across the street from The Tobacco Company restaurant. Hotel staff was warm and helpful. Easy walking distance to state house as well as River Walk. Nice interesting little book store less than a block away.

Room Tip: Reservation was made for an anniversary. Upper three floors (of 6) seem to have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FredL757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dennypppp, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2012

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We do receive many requests for our guest rooms with balconies. We remain Richmond’s only four diamond downtown hotel and work hard to maintain these standards.Our Chef is always pleased to hear that customers enjoyed our cuisine featuring seasonal specials and signature dishes such as southern style Blue Crab Bisque.
Please come see again! Denny Pierce, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (912)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

783 - 789 of 913 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2012

My recent stay at the Berkeley Hotel in Richmond, VA was top notch. My husband and I stayed there as part of a 25 year anniversary celebration weekend. From the moment we arrived, the staff greeted us and was very helpful. And knowing it was our 25th anniversary, the staff went out of their way to make the stay special and unforgettable. The room was beautiful. We especially liked that our room included a terrace. This is not something you usually find in Richmond! We also ate an anniversary dinner at the Berkeley's restaurant. The food was elegant and delicious. The chef treated us to a special anniversary dessert that was probably the best dessert I or my husband had ever had. We definitely plan on making the Berkeley the destination for our next anniversary. We just can't say enough about this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dennypppp, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2012

We appreciate your compliments. Our management team works very hard training our staff to provide outstanding guest services. Our goal is to exceed our guest expectations and make their visit with us special. Our restaurant has become very popular for special occasions such as anniversaries and holidays.We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our signature Crab Cakes and one of the Chefs special occasion desserts.If we can help you in the future please call us directly at 804-780-1300. Thank you Denny Pierce, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

The room I was in was spacious and nicely decorated and the bed was very comfy. The front desk staff were extremely helpful. The location is excellent, on a really lovely street with a lot of good restaurants and bars within walking distance. I had dinner in the restaurant and really loved it. Try the crab cakes they're excellent. Wish I could have stayed longer than two nights. Wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rubysparkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dennypppp, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2012

It’s great to hear when our guests fall in love with our hotel. We are a unique boutique four diamond property in the middle of downtown Richmond. One of the first things guests realize is our great location in the famous Shockoe Slip historic district of Richmond. We are also only three blocks from the state capital and in the center of the entertainment district with a rich selection of shopping and night life.
Please come back and visit with us soon. Denny Pierce, General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Hotel is located in a very nice part of Richmond just a few blocks off the James River between a rather cosmopolitan part of town (Shockoe Bottow) and a business district.
I was in town to see a show at the National Theater several blocks NW of the hotel. Decided to walk to the theater since it was nice out but were unsure about walking back at night. Turns out to be about a 15 minute walk to 'The National'. We couldn't find a cab after the show so walked back through almost entirely deserted commercial property. No negative element was present and it was a safe walk back.
Valet parking was available for $20 but there were plenty of nearby parking garages and lots. Ended up paying $3 in a nearby garage.
Staff were very friendly and were able to let us check in an hour or so early. The place was decorated very nicely with ornate furnature and historic photos. I was a bit disappointed to realize the room was very small. King sized bed with a few feet of room on each side. The photo on the Berkeley website must be of the Governor's Suite. My room was clean and the bed was comfortable. My window faced another building and I couldn't hear any sounds of the nearby nightlife.
The coffee from the in-room coffee maker was tasty. When I asked to get seconds (additional pouches) at the front desk they were confused on where to get the coffee so they directed me to the restaurant where they provided two complimentary cups.
Overall, it was a very pleasant experience. The only negatives were the high price and small size of the room. I suppose as a 'boutique' hotel, you're paying for quality over quantity though. However, I thought my hotel dollar would afford me a bit more in Richmond.

Room Tip: I've read reviews where people have complained about the noise outside their rooms on weekend ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djfunkywill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dennypppp, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2012

Thank you for your wonderful comments that the Berkeley Hotel is a "Nice place to stay".
Regarding value we frequently run packages during weekends and holidays. We also consistently
review our competitors rates and strive to stay very competitive. Please come back to see
us. Thank you, Denny Pierce Genereal Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

This small quiet hotel is a great base for a stay in Richmond. Many of the top tourist sites are in easy walking distance and the financial district begins right across the street. The room was nicely appointed and the bed was comfortable. Other reviewers have mentioned the noise from the bars and restaurants across the street but it was not a problem on a week night.Afternoon cookies in the lobby were delicious. Breakfast was good but a little pricey. I would return.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chr_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Room was large and the beds well appointed, but the towels and floor mat in the bathroom were frayed. We had a room that faced the alley so although the view was unattractive (could see staff outside smoking) there was no noise as noted in other reviews. I was surprised it had four diamonds. The service buttons on the phone did not work and I called the front desk for a wake-up call that I never received. The cobblestone street district is more a bar district for the 20-30 crowd. Lots of pub/bar related places to eat if thats what you are looking for, but limited shopping. We were visiting University of Richmond who recommended this location as a fun place. I did not find it fun with two teenagers in tow, and was uncomfortable walking around the area at night looking for a restaurant that had less of a bar atmosphere. Parking is $21 and the bell staff was helpful and quick. The front desk seemed to know little about the Richmond area.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChaiChai5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dennypppp, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2012

Thank you for sharing your comments. Our housekeeping staff is reviewing all of our bathroom standards. We strive to exceed all Triple A four diamond requirements.We sincerely appreciate your patronage and hope that you will come back to see us. If we can be of any further assistance please contact us directly at 804-225-2548. Thank you, Denny Pierce General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

This is a comfortable hotel in a perfect location, right where the cobblestone streets of Shockhoe Slip meet the financial district. You can walk to a dozen great places to eat and drink, an independent book store, the canal, the state capitol, and most of the major office buildings. The hotel is relatively small and intimate: everything is tasteful and in good shape, and except for the front desk, most of the staff are kindness itself. They really go the extra mile. At the front desk, by contrast, an indifferent attitude must be part of the job description. There is a quiet, but very good restaurant. What the hotel lacks, in addition to a friendly front desk, is spark. It's quiet and a little bland.

Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pullman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dennypppp, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.We do follow up on any feedback from our guests. Our front office management staff is consistently training and reviewing our staff to exceed our guests expectations. Please accept our apologies. There are some months of the year and some nights of the week that are slower than others.We hope that you will come back to see us soon.Thank you, Denny Pierce General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.7 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,069 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 82 in Richmond
1,291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#13 of 82 in Richmond
1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.9 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 82 in Richmond
756 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berkeley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berkeley Hotel

Address: 1200 E Cary St, Richmond, VA 23219-4116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#9 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#23 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: £104 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Berkeley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Berkeley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing