We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not electrocuted!”
Review of The Berkeley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Berkeley Hotel
Ranked #7 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Moline, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not electrocuted!”
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Just returned from another and our last stay - can't help it-when you wake to your room filling up like a bathtub at 3 am and you get treated like you are bothering the hotel desk-that is it. We did not hear from them at all and no one would pick up the phone at the front desk-we just had to gather our things in a panic, hope there wasn't an electrical short anywhere and evacuate. Water was rolling out the door as we left. When we made our way to the front desk he replied something like I have had a really rough day too!-They moved us to another room but there was no hot water in the morning and only a token adjustment on the bill. We were stunned at the blase attitude-the company won't be booking anymore business stays there.

Room Tip: bring hip waders
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rhonda07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dennypppp, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
We are very sorry about the flooding that occurred on the evening of July 16th. The City of Richmond was required to make emergency repairs to the neighborhood's main water line overnight with no notice to any of the businesses in Shockoe Slip. This repair resulted in all water being shut off temporarily for our hotel causing a pipe to burst. I apologize that our front desk staff did not handle this situation very well. It was an unusual and trying occurence for all of us but our staff should in no way have demonstrated their frustration when interacting with our guests.
Please accept our sincere apology. I would appreciate the opportunity to talk with you directly about your experience. My contact information follows. 804-225-Thank you, Denny Pierce, General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    225
    64
    37
    32
See reviews for
162
329
47
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We booked this hotel, sight-unseen, for a business meeting. The hotel staff nearly literally bent over backwards to accommodate our EVERY request, large and small -- even some things that we probably should have done for ourselves. The staff was friendly, reliable and extremely competent. The hotel is lovely and was very easy to get around in.

The food was really good, as was all the service.

I would highly recommend this hotel for a business meeting, and I'd like to go back for a relaxing weekend off the clock!

Room Tip: Ask for one with a sitting area...OR a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review. Our management team works hard to train our staff and meet our corporate meeting planners'expectations. We are the ideal property for small corporate meetings. The Berkeley Hotel enjoys Richmond’s best location in the heart of Shockoe Slip; the historic and entertainment district. We remain Richmond’s only downtown 4 diamond hotel and we recently won “Trip Advisor's Certificate of Excellence”. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you back soon. General Manager, Denny Pierce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2012

My Fiancee and I spent New Year's at the Berkeley Hotel. We wanted to stay in a location that was close to everything but that was still very comfortable. The Berkeley Hotel is absolutely beautiful and so charming! The staff were absolutely wonderful, very polite and professional. When we arrived in our room, which was the Governor's Suite, we had fresh flowers and champagne waiting for us. The room was so gorgeous! My fiancee and I were so pleased with our stay in the governor's suite that we plan to stay there the night of our wedding! The Berkeley was a great place to stay for New Year's because it was in a very convenient location for all the New Year's Eve festivities. We just may make staying at the Berkeley a New Year's tradition! If you are looking for a place to stay with wonderful service and accomodations in a great location you should definitely stay at this hotel, I would recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: I recommend the Governor's Suite! It was aboslutely beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
It is very rewarding when our guests post their positive experiences on line. The Berkeley has beautifully renovated guest rooms with flat screen T.V.s, two line telephones, luxurious pillow top beds ,oversized executive desks and free Internet. We have recently won many awards such as Virginia Living’s "Readers Choice Award as Richmond’s Best Boutique Hotel”. We hope you and your family come back to see us soon.
Thank you. General Manager, Denny Pierce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colonial Heights, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We are very impressed with the staff of the hotel, very accommodating! And the food is superb! We truly enjoyed our stay in Richmond. It seems to me like, all you have to do is sit in the balcony, have wine and oh the night was perfect! Very nice hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 312MariaB17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
We do have an outstanding culinary team at the Berkeley Hotel. Our restaurant “The Dining Room” has received many awards over the years and was most recently awarded “Open Table's Diners Choice Award”. Also many of our oversized guestrooms have large balconies offering
panoramic views of downtown Richmond. We hope to see you return soon.
General Manager, Denny Pierce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Being from the area, I think they represent the city well and would be perfect for someone seeking the historic charm of the area especially with the tobacco company across the street.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Wow! Thank you for expressing your visit in such a positive way. Our goal at the Berkeley is to meet every guest expectation and for you to be a return customer. The Berkeley is the ideal property for so many different events such as weddings, small corporate meetings, family reunions and just great weekend escapes. We are only three blocks from Virginias state capital and in the middle of both the historic district and Richmond’s financial hub. Please come see us again. General Manager, Denny Pierce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We checked in on May 31,2012 and the gentleman at the Front Desk was so charismatic and exemplified first class customer service. Our room as well as my parents' room were adequately sized with large bathrooms. The next evening, upon our return from dinner, we rounded the corner to our room and the smell of cigarette smoke was overpowering from the room next door and it infiltrated into our room. I called the front desk and the gentleman apologized and asked if I wanted to switch my room. He called back a few minutes later stating we were moving to another room a floor below and he was sending the bellhop up with the keys. Fine, stuff happens . . . We packed up and went down to the new room. Both keys didn't work. Go down to front desk guy and he shrugs and gives us 2 new keys and sends bellhop with us with the master key just in case. None of the keys work! Not even the master key. So Bellhop knocks on the door. Guess what? Guests are already in the room! Back down and no real apology just gives us another room a floor lower. We get to the room. It's stinky, half the size and my 6'2" husband barely fits in the bathroom! No indication was given to us that perhaps there weren't any other comparable rooms left. Nothing! We got downsized and displaced because inconsiderate guests smoked in a smoke free hotel and for the same price I get a closet of a room! Give me Adrian (sp?) from Thursday who would have bent over backwards to accommodate us! So disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clacla730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Thank you for your comments. Adrian one of our p.m. Front Office Representatives frequently receives favorable comments. We are glad to see that our staff accommodated your request for a guest room change. However it does appear that we were having equipment problems with our electronic key system that evening. Please accept our apologies for this. If we can further address any issues with your stay please feel free to contact us directly at 804-225-5148. Thank you. General Manager, Denny Pierce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I stayed at the Berkeley for the Monument 10K in March, 2012. I had heard of it's 4 star rating and was excited to spend an evening at this historic hotel. The price was about $75.00 a night more than I typically spend, however I was willing to pay the price for what I expected to be excellent accomodations. First, I booked my room online and when I arrived they did not find my reservation. I was asked to confirm through my e-mail account that I had a reservation and that my room was actually pre-paid. The hotel receptionist could not let me use her computer, so I had to go on another floor to find a computer that I assume was a public one to gather this information. Upon my return with all the requested information, my reservation still could not be located. There were rooms available so no big deal except for the inconvenience. When I checked into my room, I made several observations. The bathroom trash can had not been emptied, the ice bucket lid was dusty (and I don't mean a little) and the in room coffee maker had no coffee pods. I reported my complaints and mailed it to a pre-addressed location and I have yet to hear back from anyone from the hotel. Disappointing is an understatement for the almost $200.00 a night I spent. Would not go back even if it was steps to my location.

Room Tip: Stay a few miles on the outskirts for about $100.00 bucks less.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dennypppp, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Please accept our apology for your unsatisfactory visit. I want to assure you the situation you describe is not the norm at The Berkeley Hotel.
Can you please contact me directly at 804-225-5148 so that I can get the information from you to research this issue immediately. I guarantee we will make this right. On a another note, I would like to hear more about your experience with our housekeeping staff who take great pride in being Richmond’s only 4 diamond property as well a winning the Reader Choice Award
From Virginia Living magazine as Richmond’s Best Boutique Hotel.
Thank you for your communication and I hope to speak to you soon. Denny Pierce, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.1 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#12 of 81 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,833 reviews
0.7 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#8 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#6 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berkeley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berkeley Hotel

Property: The Berkeley Hotel
Address: 1200 E Cary St, Richmond, VA 23219-4116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#9 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#23 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Berkeley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Berkeley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing