We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was traveling and I found this Great Hotel!”
Review of The Berkeley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Berkeley Hotel
Ranked #8 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I would tell everyone about this wonderful hotel, and in a Great area...the staff was great and the room and resturant was the best.
The next time I come back to the area I will be there again,and I will tell my friends about this hotel.

Room Tip: They did not have a gym,but we were able to go across the street. Great!!!!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annskurka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim F, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Hi Annskurka!
Thank you for such a nice review of the Berkeley Hotel. It's always great to see wonderful reviews regarding our room quality, staff service and our dining room. I'm glad you found the off property gym to your liking.
Thank you for telling your friends!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (886)
There are newer reviews for The Berkeley Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

683 - 689 of 886 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

My husband and i spent one night at the Berkeley and really enjoyed the location. There are a lot of restaurants within easy walking distance. Cary St is cobblestone outside the hotel and the hotel is surrounded by historic store fronts. The canal walk is close as well.

Our room (509) was surprisingly large and included a full-sized sofa and club chair. The room had four windows that were all equipted with black-out curtains. We had access to an outdoor patio despite the fact our room didn't have it's own door that directly opened to the patio. The bed was comfortable and the sheets felt like they were high treadcount. The bathroom was filled with stone tiles and was very clean. The decorative style of the hotel is definitely traditional but was comfortably well done. There was no fridge in our room. The only "problem" with our room was a large pink stain on the carpet which i reported to the front desk.

We didn't use the valet service and parked in a city parking deck about two blocks down the road for $5. A sign in the hotel said the valet could take up to 15mins. In less time, we were able to walk to our car in the parking deck.

Check-in and out were quick and easy. The desk staff were helpful in selecting local restaurants.

I booked the hotel online and paid $100 including tax and felt like we got a good value.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oriahlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Lovely hotel....it is right in the heart of the city so I was concerned about parking. We lucked out and found a spot right across the street and were able to park for free. I only stayed one night . We got there after 9:00 pm so it only served as a place to lay our heads for the night as we were back out the door at 8 the next morning. Wished we were able to stay longer and take all that it had to offer. I would stay again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Superb location, beautiful accommodations, and excellent service. Complimentary lobby coffee in the morning is a nice touch, even though there's a stocked coffee maker in the room. Would definitely recommend and will look forward to staying again!

Room Tip: The terrace room was incredible!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marianne_GM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Recently stayed at the Berkeley with my daughter for one evening. We loved our room, cookies from room service - everything! It was our favorite hotel after a long trip - will definitely return. We wished that we could have stayed longer. We did not get to dine there but after seeing the dining room and menu, wished that we had....

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

The Berkeley is a small elegant hotel in downtown Richmond. The room was lovely and the staff very helpful and attentive. We were upgraded to a double with a terrace which although it was cold out still made the room seem brighter and bigger. The room itself had a large desk as well as a couch and coffee table. This is a great place to stay if you are in downtown Richmond.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

I stay here on my frequent trips to Richmond for work. Staff is incredibly gracious and charming and helpful. Rooms are cozy and comfortable and clean. Location is divine...nothing like starting your day walking over cobblestone streets (after a workout at the amazing Y gym across the street). I won't stay anywhere else in town

Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
Thank bluesky1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.7 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,057 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 82 in Richmond
1,279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#12 of 82 in Richmond
1,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.9 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 82 in Richmond
734 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berkeley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berkeley Hotel

Address: 1200 E Cary St, Richmond, VA 23219-4116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#9 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#23 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: £102 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Berkeley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Berkeley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing