We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VEry comfortable and convenient”
Review of The Berkeley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Berkeley Hotel
Ranked #8 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“VEry comfortable and convenient”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Decided to fore go the Colonial Heights, VA, hotels and come all the way in to Richmond. Was I glad that I did. this hotel has the feel of a hotel in a European village, staff was very helpful and the dining was very good. Convenient to many things in Richmond in the Shockhoe Slip, Civil War sites and terrific restaurants. Very SOHO. Rooms are spacious and the beds are dreamy. For the price, worth every penny. Will definitely stay here again. You can park a couple blocks away or do Valet. Regardless a very good and comfortable experience.

Room Tip: ASk for rooms away from Cary street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wallpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamika Q, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback. We have so much to do right here in this area and all is very convenient to walk to. I am glad to here you were able to experience a new area of Richmond and we look forward to you coming back to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    239
    70
    41
    33
See reviews for
180
353
51
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, CA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stayed at the Berkeley the night before and the two nights following our wedding. The positives: The location was perfect for us - all of our guests stayed at other local hotels so we had some privacy, and many of our wedding events took place in Shokoe Slip, so we could easily walk there due to this hotel's location. Every one of the staff we met was fantastic! They were all very kind to us and wished us well once they realized we were there for our wedding weekend. They were very helpful as well, when we constantly were moving large amounts of stuff in and out of the hotel (no one tells you how much stuff is involved in wedding planning). The not as positives: We booked a suite, and while it was a large room with a lovely balcony overlooking Cary Street, it definitely wasn't a suite with a separate living room or anything like that. I knew that going in, but just be aware that this is an older property, so rooms are smaller than chain-type hotels offer. We also didn't have a refrigerator, which I hadn't even thought to ask about, but would have been extremely helpful as we did have (packaged) food in the room. Which became a problem on the night of our wedding, as we came back to the room to find ants all over the floor (on the 6th floor). While I recognize that having food can draw bugs, I didn't expect so many on such a high floor of the hotel. Staff came up twice that night to vacuum/spray to kill the ants that we saw (and there were a lot) but we ended up having to switch rooms the following morning. Although the staff did absolutely everything they could to make us comfortable (including comping us a night of our stay), it did sour our experience. I don't think I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Balconies on the Cary Street side, but can also be a bit noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KKinCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamika Q, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback. It is good to hear the staff was very responsive to your needs and overall wellbeing. I do apologize for the invonvenience you experienced during your stay and wish we could have done more at that time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, MD
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We took advantage of a travelzoo voucher to spend the weekend at the Berkeley at a discounted rate that included free parking and a $50 restaurant credit (no tips, taxes or alcoholic drinks). The hotel is located in Shockoe Slip, a redeveloped area of Richmond that is heavy on bars and restaurants and within easy walking distance to the exquisite capitol grounds and monuments. Shopping, however, is nonexistent.
The hotel's interior is five-star. Our room was large and luxuriously furnished and decorated with more than ample closet and drawer space for clothing. The king sized bed was as comfortable as our bed at home. Seldom have we seen as large a bathroom in a hotel. Although there was only one sink, there was ample counter space and the shower was large and clean. The tub, however, had a draining problem which may have symbolized a larger quality control issue.

While the hotel's employees were unfailingly polite and went out of their way to be helpful, service was haphazard. We drove up to the hotel after noon on a Saturday. We had to park and go inside to locate a bellman to take our suitcases and valet the car. Our rooms weren't ready so we opted to store our luggage. Several minutes elapsed before a bellman stored our bags.
We had lunch and toured Shockoe during the afternoon, returning to the hotel around 5 p.m. Service fell down again. Our friends had requested a room in a quiet area of the hotel when they booked several weeks earlier. The desk staff, albeit polite, claimed that no such rooms were available and appeared to have no legitimate explanation why the request had not been honored. As it turned out, our room was quiet. Our friends said that the noise outside their room kept them up most of the night.
The following morning we decided to use our $50 credit toward brunch in the hotel dining room. The food was passable but the prices were relatively high after some unusual side charges were tacked onto the price. The Berkeley would be wise to simplify their menu prices and eliminate the side charges. It isn't Spirit Airlines.
A beautiful interior is not enough. Training and attention to detail would make a huge difference at the Berkeley.

.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K-traveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamika Q, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments with us. I deeply regret that our services were somewhat lacking during your stay. I have shared your comments with our staff so that we may grow from them. I hope you will try us again should you find yourself in the Richmond area once again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

My wife, daughter and i stayed here for just a night on a travel zoo deal and were very pleased with the service and the location. Everyone we encountered were extremely pleasant and helpful. The hotel is located right across from the tobacco company restaurant and the omni so the location is great. Very central and easy to get to. We had a lovely balcony over looking Cary street which was awesome. One word of caution, it is somewhat loud on a Friday night on this side of the hotel. Bars are open until 2 so be aware of that. Despite that, it was well worth having the balcony and our stay was great.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnsenEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamika Q, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. I am happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of the Travelzoo special. We hope you will remember us on your next visit to the Richmond Area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This is a beautiful historic hotel with great wifi reception. You can walk to many restaurants and very convenient to the expressway. The main problem is the valet parking...they park your car about 4 blocks away and on one of the days we stayed there, the bellman had called out so it took 22 minutes for us to get our car(.someone from the kitchen staff got it for us). The staff is friendly and helpful. There was no regular coffee pack replacement in our room. When I went to the front desk to inquire, Andrew from the restaurant went downstairs to check and coming up empty, made me a pot in the restaurant for me to take to our room. Starlet and Adrian were also great...very friendly and helpful. If it wasnt for the valet parking delay, I would of given this hotel 5 stars.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the street, our room faced a brick wall of another property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamika Q, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. It gives us great pride that we have such wonderful employees on staff such as Starlett, Adrian and Andrew. Please accept my deepest apologies in regards to the valet service, this should not have altered your experience or expectations. I do hope that you will try us again in the future so that you will see us at full capacity so that we can earn back that last star.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We just spent the weekend here for our anniversary. It was a wonderful experience. We booked a standard room which turned out to be quite large. The free wifi kicks in instantaneously. The staff was very helpful. And the location was great--right near the canal. We ate in their restaurant twice. The food was delicious and the waiters were very attentive. You couldn't ask for more.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Hunter5229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamika Q, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We love having honeymooners and anniversary couples stay with us. Hopefully you will make this a yearly event! Belated best wishes to you on your anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

The Jefferson is admittedly the 'Grande Dame' among Richmond hotels but the Berkeley is in a more interesting and lively neighborhood, and is more affordable besides. Visit the Jefferson to see the breathtaking public spaces but stay at the Berkeley!

The Berkeley is located in the Shockoe Slip neighborhood, which has many restaurants, bars, boutiques and even a deli/market adjacent. It's a quaint old neighborhood and eminently walkable. You can eat--and drink--to your heart's content without worrying about driving afterward. Check out TA's Richmond restaurant reviews for some good suggestions.

Right out your front door, follow cobblestoned Cary Street down the hill, past Shockoe Slip and into the area called Shockoe Bottom where you should switch over to Main Street and continue past the train station to one of the liveliest night-life areas in the region.

During the day, Thomas Jefferson's stunning Capitol Building is also only three blocks away (in the other direction) and well worth the visit. Dating from 1785, it is the first neo-classical building in the New World and home to the oldest continuously elected law-making body in the Western Hemisphere.

The Berkeley's staff is gracious, charming and always helpful. Rooms are reasonably spacious, comfortable and clean. And there is free wifi thank god! Do note that during weekend nights there is a lot of activity in the area especially on the other side of the train station. Take an upper-floor room and/or one on the back of the hotel if this is an issue for you. Cary Street and Main Street get to hopping especially when the weather's good!

Spring for one of the upper-floor suites with balcony if you can. There is a gym across the street where guests have complimentary access to a fully equipped health club.

If you do drive, check out Carytown, Windsor Farms, the Fan and Church Hill. And of course the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts--one of Richmond's best-kept secrets.

BTW, you can park your car overnight in a nearby covered parking garage for $5 and save the valet fee if you like. Also, there are always cabs across the street at the Omni.

Room Tip: Spring for one of the upper-floor suites with balcony if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ConradDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamika Q, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Thank you so much for the glowing reccommendation and all of the wonderful information. We truly appreciate the 5-star review. I hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.7 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,047 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 82 in Richmond
1,268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#12 of 82 in Richmond
1,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.9 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 82 in Richmond
710 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berkeley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berkeley Hotel

Property: The Berkeley Hotel
Address: 1200 E Cary St, Richmond, VA 23219-4116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#9 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#23 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Berkeley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Berkeley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing