We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room with terrace”
Review of The Berkeley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Berkeley Hotel
Ranked #7 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful room with terrace”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Our room was lovely and the staff was excellent. We had a problem with our car and the staff was very accommodating to our needs and went out of their way to be helpful and assist us. Our only criticism was that the food in the restaurant was not good and the wait staff was indifferent at dinner. Breakfast was fine.
I would recommend the hotel but not the restaurant.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Foodie410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    232
    66
    40
    32
See reviews for
170
341
48
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Firstly, the staff were all incredibly friendly and hospitable - really couldnt have asked for better service. The hotel itself is in a great little area of Richmond with plenty of restaurants close by. Hotel rooms were clean and comfortable although if I was to be picky there was no hairdryer and there were few power sockets for charging laptops and phones. Restaurant was just ok... wasnt overly impressed with the food - was trying to be something quite high-brow and was failing. Eat elsewhere but for a great night's sleep and some comfort. I'd really recommend The Berkley. I'll definitely be back

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamika Q, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We strive to exceed our guests’ expectations when providing service. We will discuss your comments and make adjustments accordingly. We look forward to having you back when visiting the Richmond area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The hotel is clean and beautiful and the staff is attentive and pleasant. The view from the balconies is fantastic. The restaurant is incredible and has many types of dishes from which to choose. I loved it here and will stay here again on my trips to Richmond.

I used to stay at the 'big grand' hotel but the rooms are just getting shabby there; The Berkeley is in tip top shape.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyetard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamika Q, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful view. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our new fall menu; our Head Chef does a wonderful job of creating an experience for our guests. We look forward to your return visits in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I stayed at the Berkeley in October and while the building is a lovely historic site, the rooms are dark and dismal. Nearly impossible to find a plug-in. Was surprised that they didn't have a set-up on the desk for charging. The restaurant and bar were barely staffed when we were there. We had to flag down a bartender for drinks at 9 pm and no one stayed behind the bar while we were there so other guests came in and left thinking the bar was open. Also, we both got multiple bug bites on our ankles while sitting in the bar area at the couches. Suggests bedbugs in that area? No problems in the room with bugs. The whole restaurant and bar need a good cleaning and renovation. Also, the rooms facing the Tobacco company on the main street are LOUD. No sound proofing in these rooms so the trash trucks hauling and backing up woke us all up before 5 am and kept going until 6.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the main road, especially on trash day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mplsalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamika Q, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review. I do apologize for the inconveniences you faced while staying at our property. We have discussed the items you mentioned and will use them as training tools for our staff. We do have procedures in place to ensure the absence of pests of any type in our property and can confirm that we do not have any incidences. I do hope you will try us again on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Well, first I want to say that once the manager came to assist us with our reservation, our issues were resolved. So thank U, Tamika Quarles. But as a manager you should consider customer service training for your front desk staff. I and a good friend were guest and there was a mix up with our reservation. The hotel was fully booked, Adrian was probably the most rudest and unprofessional front desk person, ever (and I travel a lot). In frustration I said said to him in you gotta help us, his reply, I aint't gotta do nothing. Wow. And the other front desk person Scarlett didn't even attempt to help. So nearly a hour later, we asked to see the manager, and Adrian goes to get the manager.

I plan to visit your city again, so much to do and see, but my experience with you hotel has left such an unfavorable opinion that I will to go where treating guests with respect is routine.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gamma I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamika Q, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
I apologize for the experience you had with our front desk agent. Please know that this is not a normal occurance. I am glad to hear that management was able to turn this around for you while still on property. I hope you will try us again on your next visit to RIchmond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
108 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

The Hotel is down town and close to the business district, restaurants and clubs. If your under 40 there a lot of clubs in the area. The rooms are small but clean. The food at the restaurant was OK nothing where I had to go back again for. Do not order a dry martini, the worst I ever had. Staff was very friendly. The hotel was good but I do not think I will be going back. I cant put my finger on why but something was missing.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamika Q, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. Our unique property has many room types where no two rooms are the same yet each has its own charm. I would love to hear more about your stay so that I may discuss with the staff. We are always looking for ways to grow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cave Creek, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2013

this Inn was so perfect for our trip. The view from our room was the tobacco company across the street which was like being in a movie. Our room was charming and the linens on the bed were so cozy. All of the staff was great , I can't say enough about this place. We would really like to visit again.

Room Tip: tell them you are celebrating a special occasion and they will take care of you. We got a nice upgra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.7 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 81 in Richmond
1,013 reviews
0.1 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#11 of 81 in Richmond
1,855 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 81 in Richmond
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 81 in Richmond
670 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berkeley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berkeley Hotel

Property: The Berkeley Hotel
Address: 1200 E Cary St, Richmond, VA 23219-4116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#9 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#23 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Berkeley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Berkeley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing