We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not impressed for a AAA Four Diamond Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Berkeley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Berkeley Hotel
Ranked #9 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Littleton, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Not impressed for a AAA Four Diamond Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Where do I start?
First I went online to make a reservation for a one night. They required a min 2 nights. I called and they were able to accommodate a one night. We are locals and celebrated our 21st wedding anniversary. We ordered the “Evening of Elegance”.

We pulled up on Saturday around 4:30, and there were no available valet parking spots on the curbside, and no doorman. We parked in front of the fire hydrant. We went to the front desk (to check in) and the staff was eating in front of me. We carried on own bags to our room, and there were no bellman.

The room: The room was big and comfortable. Nice flat screen TV. The bed was nice and firm and plenty of pillows. In addition, the carpet had a big stain. The wallpaper looked like there was some cheap repair. The bathroom was big, the shower/tub – well the tub was tiny from the early 90’s with the fake gold faucets. The Granit counter tops were the same as the floor and wall. The toilet had a nut cover mission.

Restaurant – a AAA 4 Diamond, really.

We went down for dinner and had to wait for a minute before a server saw us, as they had no Host. They only served the Restaurant Week Menu, however, wife got the dinner menu and I got the bar menu. I was looking for the extra touches – like the server putting the napkin on your lap. My soup was warm – not hot. My duck was tasteless (I had to put salt on for some taste) and warm – not hot. The servers were not a 4 Diamond type servers. The wine selections were good and the server was good at refilling my water and wine.

Breakfast was basically the same type of atmosphere. The eggs benedict was good. The Berkley breakfast was ok, the potatoes were extremely over salted. The coffee and water refills were constant.
For being an old hotel the atmosphere was nice. The staff was nice but not very professional. The bellman stand had too many local pamphlets. Lastly, I would expect the extras, like a sidewalk carpet in front of the front doors, bed turndown. host, bellman, doorman.

My opinion, this is a 3 diamond hotel not a 4 diamond.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    215
    60
    36
    31
See reviews for
145
314
45
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

The hotel was better than we had expected, for the price. The staff welcoming and helpful. Many thanks, Fletcher, our valet parking man, and everybody else at The Berkeley. Southern hospitality at its best!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UrsulaLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Event coordinator (Jacque Brown) was phenomenal!! We were trying to coordinate a wedding block and bride's room with the hotel *across the street* and they were awful - they never returned any calls/emails and main reception was rude when we called, so we just gave up. We called The Berkeley and talked with Jacque who was extremely helpful, always responsive to my calls/emails, wasn't pushy in the least, and offered great suggestions to make the bride's weekend absolutely fantastic. They also were very accommodating with last minute wedding attendees who didn't have reservations. I would coordinate an event at this hotel ANYDAY!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamika Q, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you so much for your review. Jacque is a star and I am so glad she was able to help make your weekend special. We look forward to working with you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Our room was lovely and the staff was excellent. We had a problem with our car and the staff was very accommodating to our needs and went out of their way to be helpful and assist us. Our only criticism was that the food in the restaurant was not good and the wait staff was indifferent at dinner. Breakfast was fine.
I would recommend the hotel but not the restaurant.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Foodie410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Firstly, the staff were all incredibly friendly and hospitable - really couldnt have asked for better service. The hotel itself is in a great little area of Richmond with plenty of restaurants close by. Hotel rooms were clean and comfortable although if I was to be picky there was no hairdryer and there were few power sockets for charging laptops and phones. Restaurant was just ok... wasnt overly impressed with the food - was trying to be something quite high-brow and was failing. Eat elsewhere but for a great night's sleep and some comfort. I'd really recommend The Berkley. I'll definitely be back

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamika Q, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We strive to exceed our guests’ expectations when providing service. We will discuss your comments and make adjustments accordingly. We look forward to having you back when visiting the Richmond area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

The hotel is clean and beautiful and the staff is attentive and pleasant. The view from the balconies is fantastic. The restaurant is incredible and has many types of dishes from which to choose. I loved it here and will stay here again on my trips to Richmond.

I used to stay at the 'big grand' hotel but the rooms are just getting shabby there; The Berkeley is in tip top shape.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eyetard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamika Q, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful view. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our new fall menu; our Head Chef does a wonderful job of creating an experience for our guests. We look forward to your return visits in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

I stayed at the Berkeley in October and while the building is a lovely historic site, the rooms are dark and dismal. Nearly impossible to find a plug-in. Was surprised that they didn't have a set-up on the desk for charging. The restaurant and bar were barely staffed when we were there. We had to flag down a bartender for drinks at 9 pm and no one stayed behind the bar while we were there so other guests came in and left thinking the bar was open. Also, we both got multiple bug bites on our ankles while sitting in the bar area at the couches. Suggests bedbugs in that area? No problems in the room with bugs. The whole restaurant and bar need a good cleaning and renovation. Also, the rooms facing the Tobacco company on the main street are LOUD. No sound proofing in these rooms so the trash trucks hauling and backing up woke us all up before 5 am and kept going until 6.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the main road, especially on trash day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mplsalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamika Q, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review. I do apologize for the inconveniences you faced while staying at our property. We have discussed the items you mentioned and will use them as training tools for our staff. We do have procedures in place to ensure the absence of pests of any type in our property and can confirm that we do not have any incidences. I do hope you will try us again on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.9 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#10 of 81 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,752 reviews
0.7 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#7 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#6 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berkeley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berkeley Hotel

Property: The Berkeley Hotel
Address: 1200 E Cary St, Richmond, VA 23219
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#9 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#23 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Berkeley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and TravelClick so you can book your The Berkeley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing