We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and elegant”
Review of The Berkeley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Berkeley Hotel
Ranked #8 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I was in Richmond for one night and stayed at this very nice hotel. As the title to my review suggests, I think "elegant" sums it up well. There is no workout area or swimming pool (on-site, anyway) and there doesn't seem to be much retail shopping in the area, so if that is what you are looking for, this is not the hotel you want. But it is located near several excellent restaurants, the staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms are clean and quiet (although there was some kind of street construction at 3:00 a.m. that woke me up -- not the hotel's fault). Within easy walking distance of the 4th U. S. Circuit Court of Appeals and other downtown Richmond buildings.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathycpope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamika Q, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. I hope you were able to visit the workout facility across the street that is complimentary for our guests. Our location does offer several restaurants and attractions within walking distance. We look forward to your next visit when in the Richmond area again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (888)
There are newer reviews for The Berkeley Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

624 - 630 of 888 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

Where do I start?
First I went online to make a reservation for a one night. They required a min 2 nights. I called and they were able to accommodate a one night. We are locals and celebrated our 21st wedding anniversary. We ordered the “Evening of Elegance”.

We pulled up on Saturday around 4:30, and there were no available valet parking spots on the curbside, and no doorman. We parked in front of the fire hydrant. We went to the front desk (to check in) and the staff was eating in front of me. We carried on own bags to our room, and there were no bellman.

The room: The room was big and comfortable. Nice flat screen TV. The bed was nice and firm and plenty of pillows. In addition, the carpet had a big stain. The wallpaper looked like there was some cheap repair. The bathroom was big, the shower/tub – well the tub was tiny from the early 90’s with the fake gold faucets. The Granit counter tops were the same as the floor and wall. The toilet had a nut cover mission.

Restaurant – a AAA 4 Diamond, really.

We went down for dinner and had to wait for a minute before a server saw us, as they had no Host. They only served the Restaurant Week Menu, however, wife got the dinner menu and I got the bar menu. I was looking for the extra touches – like the server putting the napkin on your lap. My soup was warm – not hot. My duck was tasteless (I had to put salt on for some taste) and warm – not hot. The servers were not a 4 Diamond type servers. The wine selections were good and the server was good at refilling my water and wine.

Breakfast was basically the same type of atmosphere. The eggs benedict was good. The Berkley breakfast was ok, the potatoes were extremely over salted. The coffee and water refills were constant.
For being an old hotel the atmosphere was nice. The staff was nice but not very professional. The bellman stand had too many local pamphlets. Lastly, I would expect the extras, like a sidewalk carpet in front of the front doors, bed turndown. host, bellman, doorman.

My opinion, this is a 3 diamond hotel not a 4 diamond.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

The hotel was better than we had expected, for the price. The staff welcoming and helpful. Many thanks, Fletcher, our valet parking man, and everybody else at The Berkeley. Southern hospitality at its best!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UrsulaLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Event coordinator (Jacque Brown) was phenomenal!! We were trying to coordinate a wedding block and bride's room with the hotel *across the street* and they were awful - they never returned any calls/emails and main reception was rude when we called, so we just gave up. We called The Berkeley and talked with Jacque who was extremely helpful, always responsive to my calls/emails, wasn't pushy in the least, and offered great suggestions to make the bride's weekend absolutely fantastic. They also were very accommodating with last minute wedding attendees who didn't have reservations. I would coordinate an event at this hotel ANYDAY!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamika Q, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you so much for your review. Jacque is a star and I am so glad she was able to help make your weekend special. We look forward to working with you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Our room was lovely and the staff was excellent. We had a problem with our car and the staff was very accommodating to our needs and went out of their way to be helpful and assist us. Our only criticism was that the food in the restaurant was not good and the wait staff was indifferent at dinner. Breakfast was fine.
I would recommend the hotel but not the restaurant.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Foodie410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Firstly, the staff were all incredibly friendly and hospitable - really couldnt have asked for better service. The hotel itself is in a great little area of Richmond with plenty of restaurants close by. Hotel rooms were clean and comfortable although if I was to be picky there was no hairdryer and there were few power sockets for charging laptops and phones. Restaurant was just ok... wasnt overly impressed with the food - was trying to be something quite high-brow and was failing. Eat elsewhere but for a great night's sleep and some comfort. I'd really recommend The Berkley. I'll definitely be back

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamika Q, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We strive to exceed our guests’ expectations when providing service. We will discuss your comments and make adjustments accordingly. We look forward to having you back when visiting the Richmond area again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The hotel is clean and beautiful and the staff is attentive and pleasant. The view from the balconies is fantastic. The restaurant is incredible and has many types of dishes from which to choose. I loved it here and will stay here again on my trips to Richmond.

I used to stay at the 'big grand' hotel but the rooms are just getting shabby there; The Berkeley is in tip top shape.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eyetard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamika Q, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you so much for the wonderful view. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our new fall menu; our Head Chef does a wonderful job of creating an experience for our guests. We look forward to your return visits in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.7 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,063 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 82 in Richmond
1,279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#13 of 82 in Richmond
1,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.9 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 82 in Richmond
734 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berkeley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berkeley Hotel

Address: 1200 E Cary St, Richmond, VA 23219-4116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#9 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#23 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: £102 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Berkeley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Berkeley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing