We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location. Location. Location”
Review of The Berkeley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Berkeley Hotel
Ranked #8 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Great find! It began to snow and the roads were getting icy. We jumped off I-95 and were so lucky to find the Berkley. Wonderful staff, warm welcome, valet parking, very nice king room, exceptionally clean, great dinner recommendations, delicious breakfast. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alleycat0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (943)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

673 - 679 of 943 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

We always stay at the Berkeley when in Richmond. The rooms are so beautiful and quiet, the service excellent. It's affordable luxury in the Shockoe Slip where there are plenty of choices for dinner and breakfast no matter what time you arrive or depart. There's valet parking available but we park in the city garage just down from the hotel rather than mess with the additional cost and wait for the car.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eastcoastdiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The Berkeley's got a great location in Richmond and a friendly, helpful staff. The place looks and feels classy in an old-school sort of way. It could be almost perfect, but there are few problems, perhaps not within the hotel's capacity to control.

First problem is if you have a room fronting Cary street. Across the road is a place called Tobacco Company which attracts a lot of drunks. When they spill out into the streets at midnight and beyond, they spend a lot of time doing what idiot college kids do when they're drunk. They bellow to let you know they're drunk, and the female of the species lets out a lot of loud, "Wooooos!" This happened both Friday and Saturday while we were there. Now, it's not within the hotel's control to shut up the drunken sods from next door, but soundproofing windows is. Ours also felt a bit drafty, which may have been the source of problem number two.

If you like beef Stroganoff, you would have loved our room. It was filled from 3 a.m. on with the aroma of beef stroganoff. Very powerful. Woke us up from the sleep we'd only recently gotten back to after the drunk rutting rituals from Tobacco Company had finally wound down. We're not sure how the smell was getting into our room, but somebody's grease vent was definitely venting into our space.

Others have mentioned the small rooms. They are small, but OK. If you watch TV, you'd need a neck with a 90-degree angle in it to watch from the bed in the room we had, as the TV was located on a wall perpendicular to the direction of the headboard. We don't watch TV in bed, so this didn't bother us.

Room Tip: nothing fronting Cary street! The drunks coming out of Tobacco factory, across the street, at 2 am w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TetanusCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamika Q, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Thank you for your review of our property. We are located within walking distance to many area restaurants and attractions in a lively section of the city. Our unique set up includes 55 well apointed rooms with many different layouts to choose from. We hope you will come back to visit us again when in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I had not been to the Berkeley in a while and it just gets better and better. It is a great location and you would walk to numerous restaurants but why would you. The food in the Berkeley is great and not like a normal hotel restaurant. The hotel has the amenities of a larger property but the great feel of a boutique hotel. As a person who has spent hundreds of nights in hotels, I would recommend the Berkeley to anyone. The doorman and desk help are especially helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exptrave101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

A boutique type of hotel in the Shockoe Slip area of Richmond, VA. We stayed for one night.
Room/amenities:
Our room was clean, but small. The lighting was somewhat dim. We slept fairly well -- the mattress was reasonably comfortable (better than the Omni's). And I did particularly like the pillows and the bed linens which might 'look' like other hotels, but IMO these were a standard above and very nice. The bathroom was very clean and nicely updated. We were facing the back of the hotel, which I'm fairly sure helped with the noise level since the hotel faces The Tobacco Company Restaurant/Bar (which had some boisterous customers outside) Saturday evening. The room has a safe. The toiletries were average. The parking situation in this area is just not great -- even with advance planning and/or use of valet, and IMO, it's just a hassle & expensive.
Staff: We were greeted at check in by a friendly front desk. We found the bellman to be helpful and friendly too. Unfortunately, the checkout process was not as smooth. When I approached the desk, no one was there. The bell staff told me that the person had stepped outside around the corner to assist another customer and "would be right back." Well, I waited and of course, a line grew behind me, all of us waiting to checkout. I don't usually mind a short wait, but it did take awhile, which caused me to keep a number of other people waiting. Insofar as the restaurant goes, I would not recommend it. Four of us ordered 4 different meals and no one really enjoyed any of the dishes, which was so disappointing because we know there are some really good restaurants in the area, but we wanted to try something new.
Would I stay here again? Maybe. The bottom line is that it did not feel like a 4 Diamond Hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank CLDLSLCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamika Q, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you for your honest opinion of our property. I apologize for the checkout process that left you expecting more. I am not sure what happened that would take our agent away for a long period of time. We are making some changes in the restaurant, so please come back and try us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

A reservation doesn't guarantee a room at the Berkeley. Around 4pm on the day we arrived, I received a call saying that the hotel had cancelled our reservation (check in only starts at four). They were fully booked, but they could transfer us to a partner hotel, a Marriott, at the same cost...despite the fact that the Marriott goes for $70 less per night and is in a different neighborhood. Other than that, the best they could do was a refund.

My SO and I, neither familiar with Richmond, abandoned our sightseeing and spent the next hour frantically trying to identify a replacement hotel in the neighborhood we needed to be in that evening. We eventually found a room, though at a significantly higher cost, and it really put a damper on what was supposed to be a relaxing weekend.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamika Q, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

I do apologize for your experience with our property and wish we were able to find something more suitable for you. I hope you will try us again when in the area as this is not a typical experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I was in Richmond for one night and stayed at this very nice hotel. As the title to my review suggests, I think "elegant" sums it up well. There is no workout area or swimming pool (on-site, anyway) and there doesn't seem to be much retail shopping in the area, so if that is what you are looking for, this is not the hotel you want. But it is located near several excellent restaurants, the staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms are clean and quiet (although there was some kind of street construction at 3:00 a.m. that woke me up -- not the hotel's fault). Within easy walking distance of the 4th U. S. Circuit Court of Appeals and other downtown Richmond buildings.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathycpope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamika Q, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. I hope you were able to visit the workout facility across the street that is complimentary for our guests. Our location does offer several restaurants and attractions within walking distance. We look forward to your next visit when in the Richmond area again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.7 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,080 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 82 in Richmond
1,317 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#15 of 82 in Richmond
2,040 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 82 in Richmond
793 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Westin Richmond
The Westin Richmond
#4 of 82 in Richmond
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berkeley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berkeley Hotel

Address: 1200 E Cary St, Richmond, VA 23219-4116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#9 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#23 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: £93 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Berkeley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Berkeley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing