We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Berkeley in Richmond”
Review of The Berkeley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Berkeley Hotel
Ranked #8 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Berkeley in Richmond”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Berkeley for a weekend trip to Richmond. I've stayed several times in the Omni Hotel across the street and always wanted to try the Berkeley. I was very impressed with the Berkeley and will be staying in this wonderful hotel in the future. The most impressive thing about the hotel during our stay was the condition of the hotel room. I've been in many hotels in the past and can say that the room and bathroom were as close to perfect as possible. Usually, there is something wrong, something in need of maintenance. Our room was very nice and very comfortable. The breakfast was included in our weekend package and the food was great, just the right amount to get started every day. The only negative during the stay was that we received a second floor room overlooking 12th street which could be noisy especially on a Saturday night. I'd request an inner room next time. The hotel also does not have its own parking garage but offers valet service. We decided to park in a lot just a block away so no big deal. There are plenty of options nearby for restaurants as well in the Shockoe Slip (where hotel is located) and nearby Shockoe Bottom areas. I would highly recommend the Berkeley.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LibMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    236
    69
    40
    32
See reviews for
176
347
49
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Petersburg, Virginia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed overnight recently at the Berkeley Hotel. This was in celebration of my companion's birthday. I made the reservations online through their own site, and specified the occasion in advance. I booked the king terrace suite and asked for a quiet room, away from the noise of the Tobacco Company across the street. The only difficulty we experienced was parking. We had valet parking included as a part of our package, along with dinner and the Berkeley breakfast. We had to circle around and then park diagonally with the flashers on so we could get into the lobby to request valet service. Once we were inside with our luggage, everything went very smoothly. We checked in and the personnel were extremely helpful, cheerful and efficient. We went to the room and enjoyed watching the sun set over the Richmond skyline. We then went down to Nightingale's lounge and had some wine prior to our dinner. The wine list was extensive, with a great selection of Virginia wines. There were only three other people in the bar while we were there. We had dinner in the Dining Room, and both of us had the crab bisque, and crabcake plate with smoked tomatoes, along with a bottle of Barboursville Rose'.. It was the BEST crab bisque we both had EVER had! Nice presentation, great waiter. We topped it off with dessert and then strolled around Shockoe Slip, taking in the sights. Very enjoyable. We returned to the room and topped our night off with some more wine on the terrace as we watched people walking around just as we had. Amazing. The bed was comfortable with lots of pillow and great linens. The room was warm, but not too hot. We both slept like logs. We awoke with the sunlight and after a nice shower with Gilchrist and Soames amenities, it was off to the Dining Room for our breakfast. My companion ordered the crabcake and egg plate, and I had the Berkeley breakfast, with scrambled eggs, sweet potato biscuit, bacon, juice and coffee. Way too much than I could consume, but again, delicious!! Our coffee cups and glasses were never less than half full, our waiter was so attentive. We were able once again to look out onto Cary Street while we dined and watch the action on the street. Checkout was a breeze and the car was ready to go and warm when we departed. All in all, everything was perfect! I absolutely cannot find anything to complain about with the exception of parking...you will not be disappointed. We usually stay at the Jefferson, but this stay with the king terrace room, dinner, breakfast and valet parking along with a bottle of wine at dinner was on the level of a superior room at the Jefferson. It changed our views and we plan to return one day again, without hesitation!

Room Tip: Ask for the king terrace suite in advance and specify that you want it to be quiet. They will place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamika Q, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. I truly believe we have a gem here in the heart of Richmond. It sounds like you really took advantage of all we have to offer here. We look forward to being your special home away from home whenever there is an opportunity for you to visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Berkeley recently when we traveled to Richmond to see Jersey Boys. The hotel is so convenient to great restaurants and the Landmark Theater. We found on-street parking in the afternoon and then used the garage a block away for overnight ($4). The room was huge, comfortable, and very nicely furnished. The bathroom is a little dated but still quite large and clean. The desk staff was very friendly. I would recommend The Berkeley to anyone traveling to Richmond who wants to stay in a place with some character, rather than a high-rise that looks like every other high-rise.

Room Tip: We were at the front overlooking Cary St. It wasn't noisy and the morning sun was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walkinvirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We had a very pleasant stay at the Berkeley Hotel. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Our room was quite large. The wifi was included in the price of the room (a pet peeve). The bed was quite comfortable. I felt this hotel was a very good value.

If you are there on a Sunday, don't miss the Sunday brunch. I had the Eggs Berkeley (Eggs Benedict, but with country ham on a big fluffy biscuit instead of Canadian bacon on an English muffin. It was soooo good.

My one complaint was no conditioner in the bathroom. No, conditioning shampoo does not take the place of conditioner and even if the hotel decides to trim costs by not including conditioner in the bath, it should be made available, if a guest requests it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
1 review
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This is overall a great hotel. There was no free breakfast as advertised but don't let that deter you! Excellent service and comfortable beds! Will definitely be staying there again on my next trip to Richmond!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Lea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

When we attempted to check into the hotel on Friday night, December 27 there was a problem with our reservation (we used award points to make the reservation with our cc company and, apparently, the reservation never finalized). The front desk associate, Adrian McLaughlin, was accommodating beyond necessity and is highly commended for his outstanding sensitivity to our situation and exceptional care. This was our first time at The Berkeley; we don't travel to Richmond often, but, when we return we will stay at the Berkeley again. We recommend this elegant boutique hotel for it's beautifully appointed rooms, exceptional location in Shockhoe and the fabulous staff.

Mr.McLaughlin's attitude is a reflection of the way management, and the Hotel, cares for their guests. It was refreshing and much appreciated.

Room Tip: Corner rooms on the 5th floor are spacious and have private balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Had New Years dinner at the Berkley. The food was very good. The service was not what I expected from a restaurant of this caliber. Our waiter was not very professional. His demeanor was very casual. There was nothing formal about his demeanor or presentation.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.7 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 81 in Richmond
1,031 reviews
0.1 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#13 of 81 in Richmond
1,892 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 81 in Richmond
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.9 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 81 in Richmond
688 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berkeley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berkeley Hotel

Property: The Berkeley Hotel
Address: 1200 E Cary St, Richmond, VA 23219-4116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#9 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#23 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Berkeley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Berkeley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing