We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Berkeley Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Linden Row Inn(Richmond)
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$95
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Jefferson Hotel(Richmond)
US$312
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$266
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$257
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni Richmond Hotel(Richmond)
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,016)
Filter reviews
1,016 results
Traveller rating
579
274
82
45
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
579
274
82
45
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshockoe slipsmall hotelcobblestone streetvalet parkingtobacco companylovely hotelvalet servicecanal walkstreet parkingrestaurants and shopslocation is greatshockoe bottomroom was largegreat roomfront desk staffsouthern hospitalitybed was comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
711 - 716 of 1,016 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The Berkeley Hotel is a small hotel in historic Shockoe Slip, it has a nice feel due to the overall look of the hotel and the fact that it is small. Staff were pleasant and helpful, the air conditioning in our room was perfect even on the hottest days. The bar had a club feel and the restaurant was classy. The location made it within walking distance of most of the Richmond sites, various restaurants were a step outside the door. We liked the touch of the Balmain umbrella, and used it on a showery day. Rooms have a safe for valuables which previous hotels we have stayed in did not have. The breakfast was excellent with a variet of choices.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jacqui H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamika Q, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you so much for the 5-star review! I can see that you enjoyed the intimate touches that make The Berkeley Hotel special. Please remember us when visiting the Richmond area in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

the room was large and the bed comfortable. The climate control was way off, however. Was up several times during the night to adjust the thermostat but couldn't get the room to cool off. And while they have a telephone (?) in the bathroom, there's no fan.
I left my phone charger in the room and called to ask that it be mailed to me. That would improve the service rating, for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Reid N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamika Q, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

the room was large and the bed comfortable. The climate control was way off, however. Was up several times during the night to adjust the thermostat but couldn't get the room to cool off. And while they have a telephone (?) in the bathroom, there's no fan.
I left my phone charger in the room and called to ask that it be mailed to me. That would improve the service rating, for sure.

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. I would love to be able to contact you to ensure you receive your charger as well as find out your room number so we may address the issues presented.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We have found our spot in Richmond. This place is perfect and with only 55 rooms you don't have to worry about any racket. Everyone here is classy. They have the best breakfast in town. Reserve a king terrace suite so you can enjoy coffee on your deck in the morning. Star at the front desk is as sweet as she can be and even came into the restaurant one morning just to day hello to me. Josh, William and Chris in the restaurant were all great guys. Thank you for having us we will be back soon!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jack A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamika Q, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

What a wonderful review! It is great to hear that you enjoyed not only our wonderfully unique rooms but also our wonderful staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Spent one night in this lovely hotel and enjoyed every aspect. Clean, comfortable, and very well appointed rooms. Staff are friendly and helpful. No attitudes here! We were parched after a long walk and requested cold water from the front desk. They brought us 2 bottles of artesian water on ice and said "on the house!" WOW! The ambiance is peaceful and relaxing. Perfect location as well with easy access to some wonderful restaurants and the canal walk. Breakfast at the hotel restaurant was delicious and the waiters were gracious and efficient. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Will recommend to family and friends.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Maura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamika Q, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you so much for your review. This is what it's all about, that Southern Charm. We hope you will visit us again when in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed two nights in the Berkeley Hotel in Richmond, Virginia recently. We had intended to stay only one night, but it was so lovely we stayed another! The hotel is in a great location and literally up the street from the trolley bus tour of the city (a must to do). We received a warm welcome and Tad the doorman couldn't have been more helpful, bringing our bags up to the room and parking our car for us. The room we stayed in was big and very luxurious with tasteful furniture and furnishings. The hotel in general was spotlessly clean and has a comfortable, relaxing feel to it. I would definitely stay there again. There is a great restaurant, The Tobacco Company, an old tobacco warehouse literally across the road. Food superb.

Room Tip: Our room had a side view onto the street which was fine, but I believe there are rooms at the front with a better view so ask for one of those.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PandYT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamika Q, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I will definitely pass on your wonderful comments to Tad.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews