We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Picturesque, Charming”
Review of The Berkeley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Berkeley Hotel
Ranked #8 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet, Picturesque, Charming”
Reviewed 23 February 2011

The staff was extremely friendly. The rooms were big and very comfortable. Everyone was so patient. Everything was clean and soooo quiet. Was in a great location with wonderful restaurants nearby and shopping places in Shockoe Slip. The Sunday Brunch was delicious. Definitely well worth it!! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snorkel0728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    236
    69
    40
    32
See reviews for
176
347
49
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

The desk clerk and valet were the nicest I've encountered at any hotel. They were very thoughtful and courteous. They seemed eager to help. I was left with a very positive view of the hotel and of Richmond. Also, my room was very spotlessly clean and comfortable. I'm kind of persnickety, so I normally keep my socks on when staying in a hotel, but here I felt comfortable in bare feet. The bed was nicer than my mattress at home. I was on the second floor on a Friday night and slept soundly.

The only negative thing I can think of is one piddly detail: The laminated TV channel guide, which was left on a nightstand, was not up to date. In all, I had a delightful stay and would definitely recommend this hotel. I greatly appreciated how nice and thoughtful the staff were during my brief stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank panchomancho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Small intimate hotel. Staff is excellent. Great food. in house..Nice local eateries..

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbirdhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2011

I have to say this was the best hotel experience I have ever had with the most courteous and helpful staff I have had the pleasure to interact with. From the valet that greeted me as if I were a VIP, through the front desk staff that had my gorgeous room ready hours early, to the waiters in the restaurant that made sure every detail of my experience was perfect; to the housekeepers that knew my name and made sure my room was clean/made to my liking I give this hotel 6 STARS.
Food was excellent, service unbelievable, and the walking convenience to everything I needed in downtown Richmond was phenomenal. I will only stay here from now on and can't wait to bring the family.
All this for a moderate price. Don't miss this one!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RPO_YO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2011

What a wonderfully unpretentious luxury hotel. Top notch staff, good beds and good food in the dining room.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teasnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2011

I travel a lot. This time happened to be with my very spoilt and fussy teenage son. I had seen this hotel a few times so I finally decided to give it a try. To say I was surprised would be an understatement. The suite we had was exquisite. Clean with a beautiful decor. For the price I paid, the room was superb. The staff amazing, well informed, kind, but most of all very welcoming, a rarity these days. The piece de resistence was the food. As I mentioned I stay in hotels a lot and even good hotel food is usually only ok. Well this food could be compared to any five star restaurant. WOW! I had the lamb and my son the crab cakes. This hotel reminded me of the hotels I usually stay in New York or Paris. I will be back very soon.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ggroszman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

This was our third time staying at the Berkeley and each time is a pleasure. The rooms (the two we've stayed in) were unique and spacious. There is a nice "old school" character to the building although it is actually relatively new. The location is great, easy to get on and off Interstate 95 and easy access to Shockoe Bottom and downtown Richmond. One day we visited Monticello and the next day Colonial Williamsburg.

Each staff person we encountered was friendly and helpful. We also had a great meal in the restaurant. We definitely plan to stay here again on our way through Richmond. It's a lovely surprise.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimberNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.7 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 81 in Richmond
1,031 reviews
0.1 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#13 of 81 in Richmond
1,892 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 81 in Richmond
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.9 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 81 in Richmond
688 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berkeley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berkeley Hotel

Property: The Berkeley Hotel
Address: 1200 E Cary St, Richmond, VA 23219-4116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#9 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#23 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Berkeley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Berkeley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing