We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot of history for an amazing price”
Review of Linden Row Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Linden Row Inn
Ranked #6 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A lot of history for an amazing price”
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Linden Row Inn is this quaint, old set of row houses that has been many things over the years, including a school for girls during the Civil War. The court yard that is surrounded by the inn was beautiful. We were there at New Year's and a wedding was taking place there. During the winter they have a great special that will make it easy on anyone's pocket book. The room we stayed in (225) was one of the smaller rooms, but still nice. The bed was good and the the bathroom had been redone fairly recently. The marble floor in the bathroom was chilly, but they gave us plenty of bath mats to lay down. The towel quality (which is a good way to judge a hotel) was very nice. I was a quality assurance coordinator at a time share resort in Gatlinburg, TN, so I know how to judge quality. I wasn't able to explore a larger room, but I hope to in the near future. You can almost feel the ghosts of those who came before! It's not the Hilton, but it is full of charm and old southern style. The folks who make this place hum are gracious and generous with their time and are more then willing to do what they can to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The valet/shuttle service was wonderful! And while the continental breakfast was standard fare, drinking coffee in real china cups in the parlor, early in the morning was beautiful. We live in Richmond and we will stay at the Linden Row Inn again for a great "Staycation"!!

Room Tip: I would say "go with the larger rooms with parlors". That's what we are going to try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravensavim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Linden Row Inn with the TripAdvisor community. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our services and amenities and look forward to hosting you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    538
    326
    106
    39
    26
See reviews for
227
413
65
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin County, PA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Finding the Linden Row ad on Groupon when my husband and I were dithering about what to do for New Year's Eve was pure serendipity. As a Civil War buff, my husband was delighted to be in Richmond again, and I loved the historic setting, as well. The staff was extremely helpful, providing excellent tips for dining and sightseeing, as well as friendly attention to our comfort. The room was large and comfortable, with a few interesting features to accommodate the age of the building. The location was fabulous for us as we love to walk wherever we are and we could easily stroll to many downtown sites (Monument Row, the Jefferson Hotel, the Poe Museum, the Virginia Holocaust Museum, etc.), but were also reassured that the complimentary shuttle service would drop us off and/or collect us from our destination if we wanted them to - an ideal solution for New Year's celebrations!
One unique aspect of our visit was that a large wedding party, hosting both the rehearsal dinner and subsequent wedding on the 30th and 31st of December, was in residence during our stay. This was not an imposition at all - we enjoyed seeing the courtyard transformed into a twinkling fairyland of white lights and white roses, although my spouse was not quite as enthusiastic about the presence of a bag-piper at both events as I was. In spite of the number of people and preparations involved, our sleep was not disturbed, nor was any lack of attention paid to our comfort.
Minor annoyances included: a strong, pervasive vibration of unidentified source in the bathroom (which was, otherwise, well-appointed with sufficient large soft towels and other amenities) and the fact that the door to the TV compartment on the top of the armoire obstructed the bathroom door when opened. The latter wasn't a huge imposition, but would be very annoying if more than two avid TV watchers occupied the room, because the bottom of the door is right at forehead height for most people.
Breakfast was abundant, varied, and well-attended.

Room Tip: Only second floor rooms in the main house are accessible with no interior steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyPo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review about your recent stay at the Linden Row Inn. We truly appreciate your compliments about our service during a very busy weekend and look forward to seeing you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This was my first stay at Linden Row and I just loved it! I picked this hotel because of the location and because it was historic. The room was super clean and decorated nicely. The stafff was nice and helpful. The BEST part was that once we parked our car, we didn't have to drive anywhere because the hotel shuttle took us and picked us up from wherever we wanted to go in downtown Richmond. The shuttle driver even offered to take us for a ride down Monument Ave on our way back from dinner. I will definately stay there again and would definately recommend it to others!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at the Linden Row Inn. We are pleased to hear that you loved our historic inn and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

First the good news. The hotel is in a vibrant part of Richmond near Virginia Commonwealth University and the magnificent Jefferson Hotel (a truly matchless lobby-sitting experience!).

But the room... Let's just say one person's "well worn" is another person's "shabby." I would also add "charmless" to describe our room, with the harsh florescent light overhead only accenting the huge stain on the carpet. The bed was also badly in need of a new mattress.

On the plus side, we only paid $80-90 for the room, so I suppose we got what we paid for. And the bathroom, by contrast to the rest of the room, looked like it had been redone fairly recently.

Room Tip: This hotel hosts wedding receptions so stay away from "Garden Rooms" on the weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OleCarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Linden Row Inn.

We are sorry to hear that your room failed to meet expectations. We have noted the concerns expressed in your review and will be working with our Maintenance and Housekeeping teams to ensure that such issues get addressed in a timely manner.

We appreciate constructive feedback and hope that you will give us another opportunity to host you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

This is a great hotel in a central location. If you plan to do some sigtseeing downtown than this is a great place. The Inn has a very historic feel. It shows some signs of age, but it feels like something out of the civil war era. Very cool. Our room (307) was huge, with a fireplace (not working) and a window seat in it. The bathroom was large and spacious as well. It felt more like visiting someone's home than staying in a hotel. The breakfast was basic, but good and the valet parking service was very prompt. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. I didn't expect this place to be 4 star and I was very happy with our stay. It rounded out the historic feel of our stay in Richmond.

Room Tip: I could hear foot traffic on the floor above (this is an old house). If this bothers you, ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmaline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Thank you for writing a review about your recent experience at the Linden Row Inn. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our property's historic charm, and hope that you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX USA
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

If you are into historic hotels that have the feel that Jefferson Davis just checked out then this is the place. Everything is a bit outdated from the "real" room keys to the TV's but the location is good for seeing Richmond and staff helpful. Basic breakfast is included and valet parking is not expensive. Hotel shows years of wear and in need of updating in common areas but is a pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TXDavid937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about the Linden Row Inn. We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay and look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Churchville, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

I choose the Linden Row Inn because I wanted my grandchildren who were with me to experience some of the history of Richmond. It was beautiful and they were very impressed. The rooms were huge and impressive. Definitely a cut above the cookie cutter hotel experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewsNanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 26 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Linden Row Inn. We are delighted to hear that you and your grandchildren enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.7 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 81 in Richmond
854 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 81 in Richmond
1,249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 81 in Richmond
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.7 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#12 of 81 in Richmond
1,900 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linden Row Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden Row Inn

Property: Linden Row Inn
Address: 100 E Franklin St, Richmond, VA 23219-2108
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#10 Business Hotel in Richmond
#12 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Linden Row Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linden Row Inn is an award-winning 70-room boutique historic hotel located in the heart of Downtown Richmond. The hotel is comprised of seven row houses built in the mid-1800's, and meticulously restored over the years. Many of the hotel's guest rooms are furnished with antiques from the middle and late 1800's, and the hotel is proud to be featured on the National Register of Historic Places. Edgar Allan Poe spent his childhood playing in the garden that is now the hotel's garden courtyard, and local legend has it that the property is home to the "enchanted garden" that Poe mentions in his famous poem "To Helen." Room rate includes free wireless internet throughout the hotel, access to a state-of-the-art fitness center, and complimentary in-town shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Linden Row Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linden Row Hotel Richmond
Linden Row Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing