We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and service”
Review of Linden Row Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Linden Row Inn
Ranked #6 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Cowpens, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location and service”
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Our first trip to Richmond, our mission to do one of the runs on Nov 10. For me it was my first marathon and the location and amenities of this hotel helped make it a great experience! Breakfast was great, even early on race day, staff was helpful for restaurant choices and directions. The location was walking distance to start and finish and the partnership with YMCA just put icing on cake! (I like to swim day before long run)! Even for non race weekends, location close to all historical tours and museums! Thanks

Room Tip: Main House rooms are very roomy if more than 2 people in room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 93paula404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Thank you for staying at the Linden Row Inn while in town for the Richmond Marathon. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our services and amenities. We look forward to seeing you again next November!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    521
    322
    105
    39
    26
See reviews for
219
405
64
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

I could go on for ages about the charm of this small boutique hotel. I looked at it when another place failed to respond to my email enquiries. The ease of reserving the room I wanted was my first clue to this place's suitability. When I checked in, weary and mussed from miles of trudging, receptions gracious welcome further warmed me to the Linden Row Inn. It was my room that did the trick, though; a spacious room with the tv sequestered in a tasteful armoire really charmed me.

The queen bed was comfortable, the shower was hot, and the water pressure strong. The breakfast provided with the cost of the room was tasty and unfussy. The location in Richmond was also a great asset, and the free shuttle to the train station provided the perfect touch for an idyllic stay. I will gladly return to this inn.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Linden Row Inn with the TripAdvisor community. We are pleased that you found our boutique historic hotel to be "exquisitely comfortable." We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Now, your taste in hotels might not be the same as mine, so let me state upfront that this I tend to prefer staying in a hotel that is not cookie-cutter, that has historic or unique qualities, that really gives one a "sense of place" of the town in which it's location. This is the Linden Row Inn, in spades! Very unique, historic, well-renovated hotel. I found my room nicely furnished and the bed & mattress & pillows super comfortable. Front desk staff was always pleasant and helpful.

Although they offer valet parking, I found it much more convenient to just park on nearby streets (just make sure that for overnight parking, you park on a street that isn't marked no parking during morning rush hour!) and I found it very easy to get from here to various other places around the city.

Many of the rooms face onto a nice courtyard.
The room rate was quite reasonable relative to the quality of the lodging.

Room Tip: I liked staying on the second floor but do keep in mind that you access the 2nd floor rooms from an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteverinoJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of your recent stay at the Linden Row Inn. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our property's unique qualities.

We also appreciate your recommendation on being cognizant of the street parking signs. As the City actively enforces the street parking regulations in Downtown Richmond, we generally encourage our guests to take advantage of our valet parking service.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
139 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We went to Richmond for a wedding and decided to stay downtown. It is an Inn staff were very nice, shuttle service available within 2 miles radius of the Inn. Valet parking available, we parked on the street. We were in a very nice room but the rooms do vary considerably.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gordon993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Thank you for staying at the Linden Row Inn during your recent visit to Richmond. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our services and amenities. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I just returned from an overnight stay at the Linden Row Inn while in Richmond for a wedding. I'd stayed there once before, many years ago, and nothing has changed. LRI doesn't pretend to be a Relais & Chateau property, and as long as your expectations are kept in check, it is a good alternative to the large downtown hotels. It reminded me of some of my favorite 3 star, European hotels in my younger travel days.

The Inn is well located--within walking distance of many of the historic downtown sites and a long but pleasant walk to the restaurants and bars of Shockoe Valley. They also have a van that will shuttle you to locations within 2 miles of the Inn (I didn't use the service so cannot comment on it). I didn't take advantage of the breakfast because one of my favorite diners, Perlys, is right around the corner (get the biscuits).

The room was very large and very basic. The television reception was poor, and both the smoke detector as well as the bathroom fan/light were not fully attached to the ceiling. But the bed was comfortable, and the room was clean, as other reviewers have noted.

This is an old property, and the "renovations," such as they are, are primarily surface cosmetic touches. The floors and the plumbing are creaky, and it's wise to keep one hand on the shower control, as the water temperature seems to have a mind of its own (at least at 8:00 a.m., which is probably peak usage).

In summary, the LRI has its own charm and a great location. Children (particularly under 17) might find it a little creepy, but if the Jefferson Hotel is too expensive (or booked), it's certainly preferable to the chain hotels right in the downtown area. I'd go back.

Room Tip: Check the usual internet sites for deals. I booked through the Inn's web site and paid $161, ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Linden Row Inn. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
1,004 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 400 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

More like an upscale Inn than either a hotel or B&B. Decor and History on par with any decent B&B or boutique Inn. Size and overall feel of a small sized hotel. Beds were comfortable, we stayed two nights but they were split (Thursday and Saturday). Both times check in and check out was pleasant. They offer a shuttle that will take you to any restaurant or venue w/in 2-miles of the inn. That was a nice touch, since parking on the street is a premium and we coped a good spot that certainly would not have been there when we returned after dinner.

Staff is very nice and helpful. Rooms with period antiques, nothing too special, but more for your money than at a Hampton or Best West. Could have been more space for the laptop.

First evening was spent in a smaller room (carriage house) and our second night in the main house. Price difference is about 20 to 30 dollars less for the smaller room. If on a budget that is the way to do.

Breakfast was typical big-box continental breakfast.... was hoping for more than just ''hot'' oatmeal, but you didn't have to eat off of disposable Styrofoam either... coffee and danish were plated on china and you had silverware.

Would stay again. Didn't have to utilize the $12 valet parking as both evening we were able to park conveniently across the street from the main entrance (20 yards away).

Room Tip: Elevators available in main building. Uneven pavers in garden area, watch your step at night. On...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPSaleebyMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of the Linden Row Inn. We agree with your characterization of our 70-room property as an upscale inn rather than a B&B, and are happy to hear that you enjoyed the services and amenities offered during your stays with us. We look forward to hosting you again during your next visit to Richmond!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in August for a family wedding. This is an area of historic federal style townhomes from the pre civil war time frame that has been restored and converted into a bed and breakfast. Very nice place with lots of history and charm. We loved it.

Staff was EXTREMELY helpful. Had a couple of minor problems, and the TVs were old CRT with limited channels but the manager responed that they are in the process of replacing the TVs and upgrading the cable.

There is very limited parking on the street so you pretty much have to use the valet with adds to the cost and the valet hours are limited so you have to plan ahead a bit for early departures or late returns.

We will stay there the next time we are in Richmond and need a place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLCarmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Thank you for staying with us while visiting Richmond for a family wedding. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are in the process of upgrading the TVs in our Main House rooms and we hope that you will get a chance to see the changes during your next visit to Richmond!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.2 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 81 in Richmond
670 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 81 in Richmond
1,224 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#7 of 81 in Richmond
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.7 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#11 of 81 in Richmond
1,855 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linden Row Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden Row Inn

Property: Linden Row Inn
Address: 100 E Franklin St, Richmond, VA 23219-2108
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#10 Business Hotel in Richmond
#12 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Linden Row Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linden Row Inn is an award-winning 70-room boutique historic hotel located in the heart of Downtown Richmond. The hotel is comprised of seven row houses built in the mid-1800's, and meticulously restored over the years. Many of the hotel's guest rooms are furnished with antiques from the middle and late 1800's, and the hotel is proud to be featured on the National Register of Historic Places. Edgar Allan Poe spent his childhood playing in the garden that is now the hotel's garden courtyard, and local legend has it that the property is home to the "enchanted garden" that Poe mentions in his famous poem "To Helen." Room rate includes free wireless internet throughout the hotel, access to a state-of-the-art fitness center, and complimentary in-town shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Linden Row Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linden Row Hotel Richmond
Linden Row Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing