We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in the city”
Review of Linden Row Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Linden Row Inn
Ranked #6 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great value in the city”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This hotel is great value for the city centre, providing valet parking and a free shuttle bus on demand (drivers are very friendly and helpful). We stayed in a queen garden room and had a 10% fall discount on the rack rate. Our room overlooked a small patio with a fountain. The garden rooms are accessed by Savannah-like verandah walkways and provide a quiet location in a busy city. Breakfast was the usual buffet style hotel fare. All in all and excellent find in the centre of Richmond. Our only criticism is that our car, when returned from 4 days valet parking, was covered in dust and dirt, so we wondered was it left on an empty lot?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiltshire_Eddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for your review! We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We do apologize for the dust on your vehicle-- the garage where we park our vehicles was undergoing some upgrades over the past month and so there may have been some additional dust as a result of that. We look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    521
    323
    105
    39
    26
See reviews for
219
405
64
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed here while looking attending a vcu open house. It was perfect! Lovely building, nice room, ideal location. We walked or took the hotel shuttle and didn't have to mess with the car. It was a good way to get a feel of the city and the staff were warm and helpful. Yummy breakfast a plus.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3bythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Linden Row Inn while visiting VCU Open House. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location near the campus. We hope that we will get a chance to host you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed there October 9. The govt was shut down; all Smithsonian museums were closed in Washington, DC and I had guests. The stunning Virginian Museum of Fine Arts seemed like a fabulous day's entertainment. We decided to overnight because of the rainy weather. The hotel is on the National Register. I found it delightful. If you want period antiques and perfection, stay at the nearby Jefferson hotel for triple the price. Our room, not a suite, was large, clean, comfortable bed and bedding with a modern large bath. There is coffee, tea and cider mix 24/7 along with a canister of mini brownie cupcakes. Wine is available by the glass or the bottle at a reasonable price. With no reliable street parking we opted for the $12/day valet parking, the best bargain ever. With valet parking, the shuttle took us everywhere we wanted to go and picked us up. They even took us to the city tour the next morn after we checked out and brought us back. The breakfast was filling for most but delicious to us who enjoyed the pot of hot oatmeal with generous toppings plus a make-your-own waffle bar. The orange juice tasted and looked like fresh squeezed. The staff is warm and accommodating. It is centrally located to downtown and a short ride to historic Shockoe district with its many restaurants. I will never stay anywhere else in Richmond, but encourage an indulgent lunch or brunch at The Jefferson where they gladly drop you off and pick you up.

Room Tip: They say they have garden view rooms. I never saw a garden but there is a small patio off the rece...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your last-minute stay with us. We hope to host you again on your next visit to Richmond!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Agree with previous review talking about rooms needing some updates. Rooms are large though furnishings are a mix of antiques combined with average hotel pieces. General setting is lovely and history of hotel very interesting. Continental breakfast very mediocre. Service was very good. Valet parking great as had free in and out after initial fee. Also, inn has a shuttle service within 2 miles which was convenient to restaurants.
Appreciate that although I paid for my stay, the package for 2 nights was donated by the Linden Row to a charity event. Very generous of the management!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kooka54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that, on the whole, you enjoyed your stay with us.

All of us at the Linden Row Inn are committed to ensuring the long-term well-being of our environment and the community in which we operate. So, we are happy to support the community by sponsoring causes that are of importance to our employees and neighbors.

We look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Can't be to judgmental about a much older 1800's type of building/hotel. Yes it was charming and quaint, but the accommodations didn't exactly match my ideal place to stay. I booked thru priceline.com so I got what I got.

Got a room on the first floor #115. It faces the indoor hallway so not alot of sunlight or natural light at all. The decor and setting of the room felt dark and kinda of sad.....The bathroom was fully upgraded but the toilet handle needed to be held down for most of the flush. Again, old building, old plumbing, etc.

Overall, its a decent stay, not anything spectacular.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank letstalktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to learn that some aspects of your stay failed to meet expectations. Given the unique layout of our property, we always encourage our guests to contact our Front Desk if they are not satisfied with their room. Provided that we have availability, we are happy to relocate a guest to a room which better suits their needs. We appreciate your candid feedback and hope that you will consider staying with us on a future visit to Richmond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The general architecture of the buildings which are beautiful brick colonial row houses that have been converted into a hotel, the fact you have breakfast in the old stables and the beautiful courtyard make this a place with so much promise. Unfortunately the room smelled and the general condition is pretty tired. Granted the rate was really inexpensive so for the money it was actually a great stay. I would gladly pay more though to stay there if they put in a little money and really brought it up to a higher standard. I would recommend it for people who are trying to save money and appreciate the character of the hotel so don't mind that its a little tired. People who work there were very nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheKoonah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for your review. We are always happy to receive constructive feedback from our guests, and appreciate your suggestions on areas for improvement. Over the past two years, we have made a handful of upgrades to our historic property, including renovation of our Board Room and Parlour Lobby, restoration of the exterior of our property, upgrade to flat screen televisions in all rooms, and the introduction of new landscaping in our Garden Courtyard. However, we agree that the work is not yet complete. On that note, we are currently working on additional improvements and will certainly utilize your feedback as we continue to seek out opportunities to refine our guests' experience. We hope that you will get a chance to see some of these changes during a future visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
199 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Went there for a wedding. Staff very helpful with good customer service. Unique rooms with charm-clean with upgraded bathroom,great AC but carpet could use some upgrading. Well set up for outside venue. Staff able to quickly transition area. Lovely at night. Shuttle driver very helpful. Not a fan of valet parking but it worked well. Breakfast was good. Love waffle maker with good selection. Nice place for event or if you want to enjoy downtown.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lickcreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Linden Row Inn. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our services and amenities. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Richmond!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.7 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#7 of 81 in Richmond
834 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 81 in Richmond
1,229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 81 in Richmond
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.7 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#12 of 81 in Richmond
1,858 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linden Row Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden Row Inn

Property: Linden Row Inn
Address: 100 E Franklin St, Richmond, VA 23219-2108
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#10 Business Hotel in Richmond
#12 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Linden Row Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linden Row Inn is an award-winning 70-room boutique historic hotel located in the heart of Downtown Richmond. The hotel is comprised of seven row houses built in the mid-1800's, and meticulously restored over the years. Many of the hotel's guest rooms are furnished with antiques from the middle and late 1800's, and the hotel is proud to be featured on the National Register of Historic Places. Edgar Allan Poe spent his childhood playing in the garden that is now the hotel's garden courtyard, and local legend has it that the property is home to the "enchanted garden" that Poe mentions in his famous poem "To Helen." Room rate includes free wireless internet throughout the hotel, access to a state-of-the-art fitness center, and complimentary in-town shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Linden Row Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linden Row Hotel Richmond
Linden Row Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing