We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, lots of character” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Linden Row Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Linden Row Inn
Ranked #7 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, lots of character”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

I stayed here for one night while traveling for business, and was very pleased with the accommodations. The price was very affordable (stayed in one of the "garden rooms"), and I really liked that there was some outdoor space to enjoy! Great location, very clean and well stocked, modern without sacrificing historic character.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    312
    98
    38
    26
See reviews for
211
390
62
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Laurel, NJ
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We had a Hotwire stay on 11/3 and 11/4/13. I was excited before we left after reading the history of the place. Our room was plenty big enough for two people. Bed was comfy, desk, chair, two night stands, closet for our coats, bathroom about the size of ours at home - nicely done. Individual heat/air. The only thing about the room - poor television reception - but we were hardly in it long enough to notice.

We had a pretty packed schedule, so only a few minutes of exploring the Inn - which I recommend. Just thinking of the history and being able to see what it 'might' have looked like is incredible.

Everyone we came into contact with was pleasant and ready with a smile. The breakfast was a nice start to the day (waffles, cereal, toast/bagels, coffee/tea/juice.) Walking around the area was like walking back in time in many areas. Recommend the Museum of Fine Arts (bit of a walk) but there is a shuttle that will take you where you need to go within a 2-mile radius if you'd like. There are many restaurants in the area - check on this site since many, if not all, are a short walk away.

We were in town for a show at The National. Easy walk there as well. I've been to Richmond many times, but have never stayed. When we do go back, hope I get this place on Hotwire again! Well done.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TZMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for your descriptive review of the Linden Row Inn. It sounds like you covered quite a bit of ground during your two-day stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed exploring Richmond and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We flew to Richmond last weekend to tour Virginia Commonwealth University (VCU) with our son. My wife was looking for a nice place to stay and found Linden Row Inn on TripAdvisor. VCU also recommended Linden Row.

We pulled up to the valet service space when we arrived. Their valet greeted us with a big smile and quickly helped with our bags. This warm welcome continued at the front desk and throughout our stay. Linden Row treats you like a good friend -- unlike typical Big Name hotels.

The location is perfect for business, a vacation visit or a tour of VCU. Downtown, fine restaurants, Tobacco Row, shops in Carytown, the river walk -- are all minutes away. The neighborhood is quiet and historic, like the hotel itself. When you arrive or leave, freeway access is easy.

Our room was large and recently remodeled, with high period ceilings and a comfortable bed. The bath was well designed, and everything was very clean -- inside and out.

My wife flies to Richmond frequently on business, and said Linden Row is her new favorite. This was definitely a great choice for our trip to VCU.

Room Tip: All of the rooms at Linden Row benefit from the same great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for your review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to hosting you and your wife again during future visits to Richmond and VCU!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We splurged on the Mary Wingfield Scott Parlor Suite, and it was worth every penny! It was a wonderful space for me to get ready with my wedding party. And, oh-so-romantic and elegant to come back to after our wedding! The staff were very friendly and helpful. The space was clean and full of tons of character. The breakfast was great, as well. It was the perfect cap off to our perfect day!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for selecting the Linden Row Inn for your wedding night. We are glad to hear that we were able to play a small part in making your special day memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beach Lake, PA
Level Contributor
187 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Spacious, charming room. Old-fashioned but roomy. Friendly staff. Unique layout, which encouraged us to explore the entire hotel. The woman at the front desk recommended an excellent restaurant just two blocks away. All-in-all a relaxing stay at the end of a 6-week road trip. Would come back again.

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem, mention this when making a reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank 551melm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thanks for including the Linden Row Inn as a stop during your 6-week road trip. We are happy to hear that you found our historic property to be charming and friendly. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
114 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed at the Linden Row Inn for four nights in early October, at the beginning of a two-week tour of Virginia. We loved our stay. The moment we checked in, well past midnight, we were greeted by the friendly and accommodating receptionist (I believe it was Gerald), oriented to the hotel set-up, and taken good care of. The reception staff continued to give us outstanding service throughout our stay.

We had a King Room in the Main House, on the second floor. It was perfectly comfortable, with high ceilings and period furniture, and a spacious modern granite bathroom. The wrap-around veranda outside our door was most inviting, with rocking chairs placed here and there, overlooking the garden courtyard, where Edgar Allen Poe was said to have played as a child.

The complimentary breakfast in the charming dining room had lots of variety. Cereals, hot oatmeal, waffles, yogurt, fruit, pastries, breads, good coffee and gourmet teas. Factored in to the price of the room, this is a great savings; a comparable breakfast for 2 in a cafe would easily add up to $25 or more.

Keep in mind that this is not a modern chain hotel, nor is it the luxurious and famous Jefferson Hotel a few blocks away, (which one should absolutely visit, to look around and have a drink in the bar) Linden Row is an affordable old-world, European style hotel that has its creaks and quirks. And that's exactly what we search for when we travel. I wouldn't consider booking anywhere else, should I be lucky enough to return to the charms of Richmond, Virginia.

Room Tip: We loved our King room on the 2nd floor of the Main House. All rooms are accessed via a charming wra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaFraubie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for your detailed review of the Linden Row Inn. We are glad that you enjoyed your four-day stay with us. We hope to host you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vero beach fl
Level Contributor
74 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

My wife and I stayed three nights. The room was clean but well worn. Great location and you can walk to a lot of the nicest restaurants. Recommend you valet park because spaces are limited. Nice old place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for your review! We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.2 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#6 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#9 of 81 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.7 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#10 of 81 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,752 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linden Row Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden Row Inn

Property: Linden Row Inn
Address: 100 E Franklin St, Richmond, VA 23219-2108
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#10 Business Hotel in Richmond
#12 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Linden Row Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linden Row Inn is an award-winning 70-room boutique historic hotel located in the heart of Downtown Richmond. The hotel is comprised of seven row houses built in the mid-1800's, and meticulously restored over the years. Many of the hotel's guest rooms are furnished with antiques from the middle and late 1800's, and the hotel is proud to be featured on the National Register of Historic Places. Edgar Allan Poe spent his childhood playing in the garden that is now the hotel's garden courtyard, and local legend has it that the property is home to the "enchanted garden" that Poe mentions in his famous poem "To Helen." Room rate includes free wireless internet throughout the hotel, access to a state-of-the-art fitness center, and complimentary in-town shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelClick, Agoda, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Linden Row Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linden Row Hotel Richmond
Linden Row Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing