We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Stay in an Elegant Timepiece”
Review of Linden Row Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Linden Row Inn
Ranked #6 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Hilliard, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Stay in an Elegant Timepiece”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This is more than an excellent inn. The Linden Row Inn is a lovely, elegant piece of Richmond history. We were very surprised to see our hotel's photo when touring the Tredegar Iron Works as it was during the Civil War!

They have preserved as much of the original structure as possible instead of renovating it so completely that you lose the charm of the place. The off-street valet parking and the complimentary shuttle service was a tremendous value - we used the shuttle service each evening for dinner.

The staff was pleasant and knowledgeable. I'd return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murphysmom50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for your review, and for highlighting our property's rich history. Our team works hard to preserve our 160+ year-old row homes and carriage houses. We look forward to welcoming you back during a future visit to Richmond!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    538
    325
    106
    39
    26
See reviews for
227
412
65
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lynchburg, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Linden Row Innn bed & breakfast was absolutely the BEST! We ran the Richmond marathon this weekend and staying here was just perfect. Breakfast was ready earlier just for the runners! The service was fantastic! The management & staff were awesome! And the rooms! Wow - felt like a queen during our short stay. Highly recommend this for anyone who enjoys a bit of pampering & class

Room Tip: All the rooms are GREAT! Not a bad one in the entire place
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuicePlusMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for selecting the Linden Row Inn during marathon weekend. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our services and amenities. We hope to welcome you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

After a trip to Williamsburg and Charlottesville we decided to stay in Richmond and checked TripAdvisor for suggestions and chose to stay here. The courtyard is lovely and the lounge/living room is well appointed. The rooms are adequate and the bathroom is nice. The price was right at $98 per night but wouldn't be worth a lot more. It was a close walk to a good restaurant and 8 blocks to the capital.

Room Tip: Stay in a room by the garden and not the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share some feedback on your recent visit to the Linden Row Inn. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in one of our Garden rooms. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, TN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Linden Row Inn for a wedding. The atmosphere is so inviting, and the inn has such a unique character and feel to it. While we didn't get to stay long (only one night!), we enjoyed every minute. The valet service was great, the room was clean, and the outside courtyard (right outside our door) was wonderful. Plus, the wedding itself was beautiful! I'm hoping we get back to Richmond again soon and can stay even longer at Linden Row!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for your review! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in one of our Garden rooms. We look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I stayed here for one night while traveling for business, and was very pleased with the accommodations. The price was very affordable (stayed in one of the "garden rooms"), and I really liked that there was some outdoor space to enjoy! Great location, very clean and well stocked, modern without sacrificing historic character.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Laurel, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We had a Hotwire stay on 11/3 and 11/4/13. I was excited before we left after reading the history of the place. Our room was plenty big enough for two people. Bed was comfy, desk, chair, two night stands, closet for our coats, bathroom about the size of ours at home - nicely done. Individual heat/air. The only thing about the room - poor television reception - but we were hardly in it long enough to notice.

We had a pretty packed schedule, so only a few minutes of exploring the Inn - which I recommend. Just thinking of the history and being able to see what it 'might' have looked like is incredible.

Everyone we came into contact with was pleasant and ready with a smile. The breakfast was a nice start to the day (waffles, cereal, toast/bagels, coffee/tea/juice.) Walking around the area was like walking back in time in many areas. Recommend the Museum of Fine Arts (bit of a walk) but there is a shuttle that will take you where you need to go within a 2-mile radius if you'd like. There are many restaurants in the area - check on this site since many, if not all, are a short walk away.

We were in town for a show at The National. Easy walk there as well. I've been to Richmond many times, but have never stayed. When we do go back, hope I get this place on Hotwire again! Well done.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TZMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for your descriptive review of the Linden Row Inn. It sounds like you covered quite a bit of ground during your two-day stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed exploring Richmond and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayland, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We flew to Richmond last weekend to tour Virginia Commonwealth University (VCU) with our son. My wife was looking for a nice place to stay and found Linden Row Inn on TripAdvisor. VCU also recommended Linden Row.

We pulled up to the valet service space when we arrived. Their valet greeted us with a big smile and quickly helped with our bags. This warm welcome continued at the front desk and throughout our stay. Linden Row treats you like a good friend -- unlike typical Big Name hotels.

The location is perfect for business, a vacation visit or a tour of VCU. Downtown, fine restaurants, Tobacco Row, shops in Carytown, the river walk -- are all minutes away. The neighborhood is quiet and historic, like the hotel itself. When you arrive or leave, freeway access is easy.

Our room was large and recently remodeled, with high period ceilings and a comfortable bed. The bath was well designed, and everything was very clean -- inside and out.

My wife flies to Richmond frequently on business, and said Linden Row is her new favorite. This was definitely a great choice for our trip to VCU.

Room Tip: All of the rooms at Linden Row benefit from the same great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for your review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to hosting you and your wife again during future visits to Richmond and VCU!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.7 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 81 in Richmond
854 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 81 in Richmond
1,248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 81 in Richmond
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.7 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#12 of 81 in Richmond
1,896 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linden Row Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden Row Inn

Property: Linden Row Inn
Address: 100 E Franklin St, Richmond, VA 23219-2108
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#10 Business Hotel in Richmond
#12 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Linden Row Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linden Row Inn is an award-winning 70-room boutique historic hotel located in the heart of Downtown Richmond. The hotel is comprised of seven row houses built in the mid-1800's, and meticulously restored over the years. Many of the hotel's guest rooms are furnished with antiques from the middle and late 1800's, and the hotel is proud to be featured on the National Register of Historic Places. Edgar Allan Poe spent his childhood playing in the garden that is now the hotel's garden courtyard, and local legend has it that the property is home to the "enchanted garden" that Poe mentions in his famous poem "To Helen." Room rate includes free wireless internet throughout the hotel, access to a state-of-the-art fitness center, and complimentary in-town shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Linden Row Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linden Row Hotel Richmond
Linden Row Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing