We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real charmer”
Review of Linden Row Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Linden Row Inn
Ranked #6 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A real charmer”
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

A lovely little enclave right in the middle of Richmond. .... we thoroughly enjoyed it. ...intimate lounge, charming room, extraOrdinary breakfast included. ..the weather prevented us from enjoying the private courtyard. Next time! Even a wine service for a nightcap if so desired. A complimentary shuttle service took us to the restaurant of our choice as our cars were safely tucked away, courtesy of the valet! The customer service continued even after my departure reminding me that southern hospitality still does exist. Check this place out when in Richmond!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank suecq2s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Linden Row Inn. We are ecstatic to hear that you loved your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    521
    323
    105
    39
    26
See reviews for
219
405
64
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
RALEIGH
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The first stay was in the summer with my family. We stayed two nights and booked through the Inn website. Our room was on the third floor, clean and pretty nice. The bed linens could really use refreshed comforters and shams. My second stay was in December and I booked through Hotwire. Got an incredible deal... $53 a night. This room was on the first floor ... Below street level. No view except for air conditioners. The rugs had two small mud stains and the dropped ceiling in the bath had water stains. I slept well withoutmuch streetnoise though. It was adequate...though the room had a sort of two-star quality. Breakfast is good, staff is pleasant, and I will stay again. But, just know that it does have rooms that are in need of some TLC. Richmond is a pleasant weekend spot... this hotel is quaint and downtown.

Room Tip: Stay on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Someone042_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you for your review! We appreciate your candid feedback and apologize that aspects of your stays didnt meet expectations. We have recently initiated an upgrade of the bedding in some of our rooms, and we will certainly utilize this feedback as part of our ongoing efforts to improve the overall guest experience. We hope to host you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Best stay in Richmond. Has a lot of character and is classy. The staff really makes the stay, from the front desk to the shuttle driver to the maid service. They really make you feel that all they want to do is help make your stay as perfect as possible We have stayed there several times and we will be back

Room Tip: The king size getaway package is great and worth the money! The parlor room is real nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Thank you for selecting the Linden Row Inn during your many visits to Richmond. We agree that our Getaway Package is a great option for anyone seeking a quick romantic escape. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
O'Fallon, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

A fantastic find. Edgar Allen Poe grew up in one of the row houses that make up this unique "Inn" that feels much more like a B&B. I will stay there every time I am in Richmond. I had a business meeting with an advisor from out of town in the common living area and was quite comfortable. Very attentive front desk and service staff. Very quiet room. Across the street from the library and around the corner from the historic Jefferson Hotel. The shuttle will take you 2 miles + which will get you to the VA Museum of Fine Atrs and other good locations.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meh2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Linden Row Inn.

We are proud of our connection to Edgar Allan Poe and are happy to hear that you too are a Poe fan. Young Poe spent part of his childhood living across the street from Linden Row and playing in the garden that occupied the Linden Row property at the time. According to historians, the garden that sat on the Linden Row property was inspiration for the "enchanted garden" that Poe mentions in his poem "To Helen."

We look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We recently stayed in Richmond and were actually thrilled to find the Linden Row Inn. The rooms were clean and neat - spacious and well-furnished. The amenities were above average and the feel of the hotel was boutique and comfortable. Not only do I have no complaint with the Inn itself, but it far exceeded our expectations. That said, what makes it outstanding is the service provided by the hotel staff and their desire to accommodate their guests needs. Were were in town for a sporting event - along with thousands of others - and with closed roads, necessarily delayed departures, and a general chaos throughout the downtown area, Linden Row did all they could (which was a great deal) to serve out needs. From finding restaurants that met out specific needs, extending the check out time, allowing our luggage to be stored on-site, and backing up the breakfast time... the staff went above and beyond to help us out. We will stay at Linden Row whenever we're in the area and highly recommend them to our friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ava P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that we exceeded your expectations. We hope to host you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
346 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 376 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Two couples stayed for a weekend while visiting the city and each other. Both rooms were tired and only marginally clean. The hallways were just plain dirty. I've stayed at many old inns and old hotels and, for the price and "historical" hype, the Linden Row is severely lacking. Shuttle excellent, front desk spotty, but mostly OK. They have coffee by the front desk and for the three days we were there they never replenished the cookies (there were four in a sticky jar the day we checked in) and never changed the table cover under the coffee either (and it was dirty when we arrived). They never watered the flowering plants by the front door which were shriveled and pathetic. Our room was very noisy and the bed was a bit squishy.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emilee l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Thank you for your review. On behalf of all of us at the Linden Row Inn, we sincerely apologize for failing to meet expectations during your stay with us.

As attested by the hundreds of positive TripAdvisor reviews about the Linden Row Inn, we hold our staff to the strictest standards of cleanliness. Our management team was disturbed to learn about your experience and we have shared your feedback with our housekeeping team for incorporation into their ongoing training program.

We are very sorry that you left our property with such a negative sentiment and would welcome the opportunity to make things up to you. We invite you to contact our Management office if you would like to discuss your experience in further detail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Somewhat tired but comfortable. Asked for room on ground floor because of luggage, but beware - Room 120 is right next to a noisy aircon unit for the whole building. They were happy to change rooms but we found ourseleves on 4th floor.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gplk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were unhappy with your first room assignment, and are glad that relocating you to the 4th floor helped alleviate any noise concerns. We appreciate your feedback and hope we can host you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.2 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 81 in Richmond
670 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 81 in Richmond
1,227 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#7 of 81 in Richmond
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.7 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#11 of 81 in Richmond
1,856 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linden Row Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden Row Inn

Property: Linden Row Inn
Address: 100 E Franklin St, Richmond, VA 23219-2108
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#10 Business Hotel in Richmond
#12 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Linden Row Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linden Row Inn is an award-winning 70-room boutique historic hotel located in the heart of Downtown Richmond. The hotel is comprised of seven row houses built in the mid-1800's, and meticulously restored over the years. Many of the hotel's guest rooms are furnished with antiques from the middle and late 1800's, and the hotel is proud to be featured on the National Register of Historic Places. Edgar Allan Poe spent his childhood playing in the garden that is now the hotel's garden courtyard, and local legend has it that the property is home to the "enchanted garden" that Poe mentions in his famous poem "To Helen." Room rate includes free wireless internet throughout the hotel, access to a state-of-the-art fitness center, and complimentary in-town shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Linden Row Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linden Row Hotel Richmond
Linden Row Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing