We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Neat place to stay, customer service is horrible!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Linden Row Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Linden Row Inn
Ranked #7 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
75 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Neat place to stay, customer service is horrible!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

SHUTTLE IS UNRELIABLE, CUSTOMER SERVICE UNPROFESSIONAL!

The history of the inn is very interesting and unique. We stayed in a parlor suite and we were surprised by the extraordinary spaciousness of the suite. Upon check-in, the attendant (adellia) was very pleasant and friendly. We asked about the complimentary shuttle and she said to give her a call about 30 minutes before we were ready to go. So we called her at 4:30pm for a 5:00pm shuttle in order easily to make our 5:30pm restaurant dinner reservations. We arrived at the front entrance at 4:50 and at 5:15pm started to become concerned about the lack of transportation and communication. So we asked adellia if she knew the status of the shuttle, and her comment was "I can't make him come any quicker, all I can do is call him and ask where he is." Really? This is the customer service provided by this type of historical establishment? When we checked back with her a few minutes later, she said the driver would arrive shortly because "he was caught in traffic".

We'll we shook it off, and 5 minutes later the driver arrived. The driver was very friendly and took us to our destination just in time for our dinner reservations. Upon exiting the shuttle, we asked about him picking us up after dinner and he said just give him a call and he would be there. Keep in mind our restaurant was literally 1 mile from the inn, and the inn advertises its shuttle will only transport you within a 2 mile radius of the inn.

After dinner we called the front desk and asked adellia if she could notify the driver we would be ready for shuttle pick up in 30 minutes. After about 25 minutes past the pick up time, we opted for a reliable cab to take us back to the inn.

Upon arrival at the inn, another couple waiting out front used our cab because they were tired of waiting for the shuttle as well. When we entered the inn we informed adellia about the lack of transportation, and her comment: "oh he's been waiting on you." Really? We literally sat at the front of the restaurant, and saw every vehicle that passed by. The Linden Row Inn shuttle never came! Given the frustrated look of the couple who used our cab, we we're not the only couple disappointed in the inns transportation failure!

The Linden Row Inn is very historical, but the customer service is poor at best. We will not return!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Edandwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for your review. On behalf of all of us at the Linden Row Inn, we would like to express our sincerest apologies for your experience at our historic property.

We pride ourselves on offering our guests nothing short of superb customer service and expect all team members to treat our guests with honesty, respect, and courtesy. Clearly we missed the mark on customer service during your stay.

As a small inn with only one shuttle van, we make a best effort to meet all shuttle service requests in a timely manner. Unfortunately, we were simply not prepared for the volume of requests we received on the evening of your stay and our team should have done a better job of communicating this to you. We are taking this as a learning experience and will be utilizing your feedback as part of our ongoing staff training program.

Your experience was a real anomaly and we would like to make things up to you. We have attempted to reach out to you directly to discuss your experience further. We hope that you will give us an opportunity to make amends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    312
    98
    38
    26
See reviews for
211
390
62
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

The Linden Row Inn was an excellent place to stay. Our plane came in late so we didn't make it to the hotel until 2:30 a.m., check in was very quick and easy. Our room was in the main house on the first floor. The room was huge with two bed and a large bathroom. The continental breakfast was good and we found lots of good options to eat. We then took advantage of the shuttle bus to take us places to explore. Our room was cleaned daily and the front desk staff was very helpful. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bdcsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again on a future visit to Richmond!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

I chose this hotel based on price. The price was reasonable for the area and it is definitely in walking distance for plenty of restaurants. In the future, I may pay more and stay at a better kept and more modern hotel. In my opinion, this is a truly over hyped hotel with over hyped experiences. At best, it is average and comparable stays in the area for me, would warrant this stay a little below average. The room I had was located on the 4th floor. The elevator takes you to the floor you are staying then you walk outside along the porch to find your room, take a couple of flights of stairs down to your room. This is not ideal if it is raining, you have a lot of luggage, or in my case, snowing outside. The room was average size. The bathroom was large. However, the shower area is very dark. My room was run down with stains on the wallpaper and peeling wall paper, along with huge water stains on the ceiling in the bathroom ( several places with one about 12 inches wide). My room was not very sound proof as I heard conversations next door and their TV at times. They do have a complimentary breakfast which is average at best. But eating area is not heated and everyone in the room had to wear coats while eating breakfast and did not linger. Even the person working in there wore a coat and scarf. I would not recommend this hotel if anyone in your party has a physical disability that includes the inability to walk or if they are in a wheelchair or crutches. This is not especially good hotel for those type issues. You will have to pay for parking though it is cheaper than other places, no parking is available at hotel. Parking is: Valet, off street or garage. The room and hotel appeared to be very clean. Staff was helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keeptraveling01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the constructive feedback and apologize for missing the mark on some aspects of your stay.

We can certainly empathize with your concerns surrounding the temperature in the breakfast room. Unfortunately, the heating system in our Dining Room had a brief outage during your stay. This was certainly unexpected, and was very quickly resolved by our maintenance team. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience it caused to you and other impacted guests.

We also appreciate the feedback on accessibility. We actually do have ADA-compliant rooms for guests with accessibility needs. We request our guests to inform us in advance if they will be requiring one of those rooms.

We appreciate your feedback and hope that we will have a chance to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We chose the Linden Row Inn after looking at the reviews here. We selected the valet service and pulled right up in front of the entrance. Checking in was fast and easy. We were on the second floor and the elevator and stairs where right behind the front desk. Our room was huge. We walked into a huge living/sitting room with two couches and chairs. The bedroom was the same size and had pocket rolling doors that could be closed if desired. Each room had an inactive fireplace but they added charm. Two separate thermostats for each room. The bathroom was plain, but spacious and clean. The continental breakfast in the morning was typical, but all we really wanted The price was excellent. The only thing I would recommend is better communication between the valet attendant and front desk. They didn't seem to be coordinating well.

Room Tip: Room 214 was superb. A bartender we talked to said there were reports the third floor was haunted. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bart J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for your review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to hosting you in one of our third floor rooms during your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

The Linden Row Inn provides unique accommodations for a reasonable price. Historic whether inside or out, this is more like a B & B than a typical urban hotel. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Valet service was close to instantaneous. ...Wow ! You're only a few blocks to the Jefferson for their great bar and restaurant, but the money saved at the Linden Row will cover the night out. If you want to self - park, there is a garage around the corner, but the valet service is not that expensive and the service is great. Would recommend !!

Room Tip: Let your needs be known. Staff seem eager to please.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PJZimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Linden Row Inn. We are excited to hear that you appreciated our property's rich history and commitment to great service. We look forward to hosting you again when your travels bring you back to Richmond!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

I am not sure what all the hype is about, it was a clean nice hotel but there wasn't really anything that stood out. The staff was friendly and helpful and the location was good. The breakfast was on par with a normal hotel. Overall it was a nice stay warm beds and clean spacious rooms.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jbnoyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad that, on the whole, you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Linden Row is a charming property, especially with its beautiful row of historic townhouses that face Franklin Street. Service was friendly, but it took way too long for my car to be retrieved from valet. Breakfast is included in the room rate, and is served in a charming breakfast room. However, the food, variety, and presentation were lacking, and I've had better in budget chains.

I stayed at Linden Row during a snow storm and extreme cold snap, which might explain the worst part of my stay: I had one of the Garden Rooms, located in the auxiliary buildings behind the row of townhouses. The room was small, but had lots of charming details. However, the room temperature never rose above 62F, and hit 59F at one point, despite lots of experiments with the thermostat. Also, there was no hot water in the bathroom sink (NOTHING came out of the hot-water spigot), so I had to use the tub/shower for any hot water. Also, while the room was generally clean, there were a few things missed, like paperwork from a prior guest on top of the armoire.

Linden Row has lots of potential, but better attention to details would make a huge difference.

Room Tip: Request a room in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cwmsrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the constructive feedback and sincerely apologize for falling short of expectations during your stay.

It has been an unusually harsh winter for Richmond. That said, the maintenance issues you experienced in your room were certainly an anomaly and we would have gladly relocated you to a different room if these issues were brought to our attention during your stay.

We are very sorry that you left our property with a negative impression, and we will be using your feedback as we continue to seek out opportunities for improving the guest experience. We hope that you will give us an opportunity to make things up to you during a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.2 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#6 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 81 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.7 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#10 of 81 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,751 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linden Row Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden Row Inn

Property: Linden Row Inn
Address: 100 E Franklin St, Richmond, VA 23219-2108
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#10 Business Hotel in Richmond
#12 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Linden Row Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linden Row Inn is an award-winning 70-room boutique historic hotel located in the heart of Downtown Richmond. The hotel is comprised of seven row houses built in the mid-1800's, and meticulously restored over the years. Many of the hotel's guest rooms are furnished with antiques from the middle and late 1800's, and the hotel is proud to be featured on the National Register of Historic Places. Edgar Allan Poe spent his childhood playing in the garden that is now the hotel's garden courtyard, and local legend has it that the property is home to the "enchanted garden" that Poe mentions in his famous poem "To Helen." Room rate includes free wireless internet throughout the hotel, access to a state-of-the-art fitness center, and complimentary in-town shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelClick, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Linden Row Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linden Row Hotel Richmond
Linden Row Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing