We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic downtown inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Linden Row Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Linden Row Inn
Ranked #7 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Historic downtown inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

After getting a great deal online (much better than the hotel's website), we tried out Linden Row Inn for our visit to Richmond. It's in a great location, easily walkable to most of downtown. We did the valet parking ($12/day) making it simple/easy to get to. The garden room was somewhat small but the bathroom was recently remodeled and was great. It definitely retained the historic feel of the room (just as they advertise). This is NOT some fancy boutique type place to stay. It's a historic building and we felt they did a good job keeping with the historic nature of the place. The courtyard was pretty cool to sit in...especially at night after the heat of the day had passed. We enjoyed a nice glass of wine while winding down from the day in the courtyard. (tip...bring your own wine...the "premium wine" on the small drink menu for the courtyard was a cheap big producer wine in small bottles). For the price, this hotel was a much better deal than any of the chain hotels. We'll definitely stay here again if in Richmond.

Room Tip: The garden rooms in the cottage houses are fairly small, so if looking for more space, get a bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Linden Row Inn. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable experience. We look forward to hosting you during a future visit to Richmond!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    511
    317
    101
    39
    26
See reviews for
214
398
63
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Linden Row is a little bit of everything, old and new, this is not your average hotel. This is pre-civil war building that is updated and but remains decorated with antiques. The rooms are quiet large and private, the bathrooms updated.
I walked down the hall one evening half expecting to see ghosts of the last 160 years...none seen. It was like my grandmothers old farmhouse but with TV's and internet.
Front desk was extraordinary friendly and helpful and valet parking very reasonable for downtown. The continental breakfast was well presented.
Located downtown and less than a mile to the entertainment district on the river.
As a road warrior is was a most interesting place stay, a little out of the ordinary
Thank you to the staff

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrfllink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our historic property. We look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

This Inn is full of charm, history and people eager to make ones stay very comfortable. We took a step back in time and attended one of the coolest weddings ever. Lots to do, see and eat within walking distance. Large rooms and a terrific continental breakfast. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for the review!

All of us at the Linden Row Inn were delighted and honored to be a part of your daughter's wedding weekend. We truly enjoyed hosting you, your family, and your friends.

We are thrilled to hear that our team was able to contribute to the success of this special event and we do look forward to hosting all of you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
columbus
Level Contributor
202 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Parking is a pain. Room is average at best. The courtyard was very pretty & relaxing. The footstool in our room was broke - the key which was a traditional metal key was not cut well for the lock. Getting Ice was painful - but don't call the front desk to ask for location. Make sure that you get the concierge - if staying other than on the first floor. The breakfast was good - service was great there.
** Was not impressed with the desk clerk talking about guests who call down to ask STUPID QUESTIONS or CALL them to ask STUPID Questions. She was a young African-American lady who didn't see me there. After she seen me - she imediately stopped talking. ***There is nothing that would make me come back.

Room Tip: Stay on the first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muff1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Linden Row Inn. We appreciate your candid feedback and sincerely apologize for falling short of expectations on aspects of your stay. Your comments on our services, amenities, and infrastructure have been noted and will be utilized in our continuous efforts to upgrade our guest offerings.

We are very sorry for the comments you overheard at our Front Desk as they do not represent the feelings of our establishment. Needless to say, we expect our Front Desk team members to treat all guests with the utmost courtesy and respect. We have taken necessary action surrounding the employee in question, and have initiated a new training program to reinforce our efforts to ensure that our guests receive nothing short of the best in Southern hospitality from our team.

We appreciate the detailed review and hope that you will give us an opportunity to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
113 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

As hotels booked early for the VCU graduation and I was afraid I might be "rolling the dice" to stay at a bed and breakfast. Well we were winners when we booked at Linden Row. It is an 1850's set of row houses in downtown Richmond with quaint but large rooms. They also have additional buildings within the private courtyard that are available depending on your preference. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The light breakfast that was included was good and convenient. Street parking is available but cars must be moved in the mornings on weekdays, so the hotel provides valet parking. There were several places to eat within walking distance and we felt safe walking it at night. I would recommend Tarrant's which is only two blocks away. All and all a very good experience and I will stay there again, when in Richmond.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Verde1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for staying at the Linden Row Inn during VCU graduation weekend. Our convenient location to the VCU campus makes us a very popular choice among parents, prospective students, and other visitors to VCU. We appreciate the detailed review and hope that we will get a chance to host you again in the future. Go Rams!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

The stay at the Linden Row Inn was very relaxing and fun. The hotel is a historical hotel that has alot of the original charm of the period built. The room featured an updated bathrooms that was very nice and clean. The lobby had a parlor attached that utilized antique furniture throughout. The continental breakfast was excellent and well maintained.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

I was in Richmond for a conference at the Convention Center. The hotel is a quick walk to the convention center. The building is a series of old row homes converted into one hotel. It's quirky but has better ambiance than the larger brand name chains. The rooms was clean, comfortable and quite spacious. If I had to make my reservation all over again I would stay at the Linden Row Inn.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ContinentalWander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for staying at the Linden Row Inn while visiting Richmond for a conference. We are glad to hear that you found our location convenient to the Convention Center. We look forward to hosting you again if your travels bring you back to Richmond!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.2 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#6 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.7 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#12 of 81 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,792 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linden Row Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden Row Inn

Property: Linden Row Inn
Address: 100 E Franklin St, Richmond, VA 23219-2108
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#10 Business Hotel in Richmond
#12 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Linden Row Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linden Row Inn is an award-winning 70-room boutique historic hotel located in the heart of Downtown Richmond. The hotel is comprised of seven row houses built in the mid-1800's, and meticulously restored over the years. Many of the hotel's guest rooms are furnished with antiques from the middle and late 1800's, and the hotel is proud to be featured on the National Register of Historic Places. Edgar Allan Poe spent his childhood playing in the garden that is now the hotel's garden courtyard, and local legend has it that the property is home to the "enchanted garden" that Poe mentions in his famous poem "To Helen." Room rate includes free wireless internet throughout the hotel, access to a state-of-the-art fitness center, and complimentary in-town shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Linden Row Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linden Row Hotel Richmond
Linden Row Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing