We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place with quirks”
Review of Linden Row Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Linden Row Inn
Ranked #6 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    521
    323
    105
    39
    26
See reviews for
219
405
64
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I found this hotel on Expedia - it was literally the first one I could find by organizing from the lowest to the highest price that wasn't a chain. It ended up being a true gem.

The parking situation was a little iffy at first -- it appeared to be all valet -- but we discovered a few blocks away there was ample street parking that was not time restricted after a certain hour - perfect for parking overnight. The "garden view" rooms are in a small building outside of the main hotel - the door of the room opens right into the garden - no dingy hallways with fluorescent lighting and stained carpets! The garden rooms, while not connected to the main building, are enclosed and not accessible to passersby. Quite a treat! The room was small, but really all we needed. A small refrigerator was a nice, unexpected perk. The grounds and room were clean and well kept.

The complimentary continental breakfast was fantastic. Truly above and beyond the typical powdered eggs and dry pastries. Very elegant without being stuffy - and lovely outdoor seating with bussers to remove dishes and trash.

We have already booked our return trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Linden Row Inn. We are glad that you discovered our "little gem" in the heart of Downtown Richmond. We look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We came to Richmond for a family wedding and many others stayed at the same location which was perfect for family gatherings. There is a large brick patio where one can have breakfast or lunch. Outdoor balcony porches overlook the patio on all levels and include rocking chairs in the shade. The continental breakfast was quite extensive and very good. The location was in walking distance of many interesting sights including the Jefferson Hotel just two blocks away. There is a shuttle that will take you to the James river and farther a field if needed. Parking is a bit troublesome but we were lucky. The carpet was stained in places and the bathroom could use more towel bars. Don't expect a modern hotel equipped with every amenity but do expect to step back in time at this charming Inn.

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious and charming. Suite options are numerous and very roomy with a large parlor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CullenH704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your review! It was a pleasure hosting you and your family. We hope to see you again in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Linden Row is a collection of historic townhouses, dating from the 1850's. From Poe to Civil War generals to Lady Astor, the Inn envelops you in Richmond's history, and its character offers quite a welcome change from the antiseptic sameness of so many chain hotels. Every room is a bit different -- ours, located in one of the original carriage house buildings, was somewhat smaller than the usual chain's king rooms, but was clean, had modern bath appliances, and had far more character than a chain's -- including a bricked-in fireplace. It's also in a pretty convenient location, not far from downtown, VCU, and various other sites.

The included breakfast was quite nice, with do-it-yourself but better-than-chain hotel fare and served in a quaint, sparkling, separate room. The staff was friendly and efficient.

That said, there were a few caveats. This is not a place where bellboys hop to your bags -- the one-person hotel clerk looked like she was doing it all. Historic yes, but there were a few back corners of public areas that could use some serious tidying up. The modern art in the breakfast area seemed out of place in a historic Inn. And most of all, don't rely on their "complementary shuttle." We wanted to use it for the short hop to a downtown restaurant, and followed the instructions to come down well in advance of our reserved time. After waiting half an hour past its appointed time, we had to bail out and hail a cab. Fortunately, one was just pulling up to the door, discharging an unhappy couple who said they had waited more than a half hour at their restaurant for the shuttle to pick them up.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaTrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We are excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We do apologize for some of the caveats noted in your review. Our in-town shuttle service is available to all hotel guests on a first come, first serve basis. We realize that at times, demand for the shuttle exceeds capacity. We have recently upgraded to a larger 12-seater van, and we do hope that this will help us better meet guest needs.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to hosting you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

After getting a great deal online (much better than the hotel's website), we tried out Linden Row Inn for our visit to Richmond. It's in a great location, easily walkable to most of downtown. We did the valet parking ($12/day) making it simple/easy to get to. The garden room was somewhat small but the bathroom was recently remodeled and was great. It definitely retained the historic feel of the room (just as they advertise). This is NOT some fancy boutique type place to stay. It's a historic building and we felt they did a good job keeping with the historic nature of the place. The courtyard was pretty cool to sit in...especially at night after the heat of the day had passed. We enjoyed a nice glass of wine while winding down from the day in the courtyard. (tip...bring your own wine...the "premium wine" on the small drink menu for the courtyard was a cheap big producer wine in small bottles). For the price, this hotel was a much better deal than any of the chain hotels. We'll definitely stay here again if in Richmond.

Room Tip: The garden rooms in the cottage houses are fairly small, so if looking for more space, get a bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Linden Row Inn. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable experience. We look forward to hosting you during a future visit to Richmond!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Linden Row is a little bit of everything, old and new, this is not your average hotel. This is pre-civil war building that is updated and but remains decorated with antiques. The rooms are quiet large and private, the bathrooms updated.
I walked down the hall one evening half expecting to see ghosts of the last 160 years...none seen. It was like my grandmothers old farmhouse but with TV's and internet.
Front desk was extraordinary friendly and helpful and valet parking very reasonable for downtown. The continental breakfast was well presented.
Located downtown and less than a mile to the entertainment district on the river.
As a road warrior is was a most interesting place stay, a little out of the ordinary
Thank you to the staff

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrfllink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our historic property. We look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This Inn is full of charm, history and people eager to make ones stay very comfortable. We took a step back in time and attended one of the coolest weddings ever. Lots to do, see and eat within walking distance. Large rooms and a terrific continental breakfast. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for the review!

All of us at the Linden Row Inn were delighted and honored to be a part of your daughter's wedding weekend. We truly enjoyed hosting you, your family, and your friends.

We are thrilled to hear that our team was able to contribute to the success of this special event and we do look forward to hosting all of you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.7 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#7 of 81 in Richmond
832 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 81 in Richmond
1,227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 81 in Richmond
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.7 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#11 of 81 in Richmond
1,857 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linden Row Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden Row Inn

Property: Linden Row Inn
Address: 100 E Franklin St, Richmond, VA 23219-2108
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#10 Business Hotel in Richmond
#12 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Linden Row Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linden Row Inn is an award-winning 70-room boutique historic hotel located in the heart of Downtown Richmond. The hotel is comprised of seven row houses built in the mid-1800's, and meticulously restored over the years. Many of the hotel's guest rooms are furnished with antiques from the middle and late 1800's, and the hotel is proud to be featured on the National Register of Historic Places. Edgar Allan Poe spent his childhood playing in the garden that is now the hotel's garden courtyard, and local legend has it that the property is home to the "enchanted garden" that Poe mentions in his famous poem "To Helen." Room rate includes free wireless internet throughout the hotel, access to a state-of-the-art fitness center, and complimentary in-town shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Linden Row Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linden Row Hotel Richmond
Linden Row Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing