We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience in the heart of Richmond”
Review of Linden Row Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Linden Row Inn
Ranked #6 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Va
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience in the heart of Richmond”
Reviewed 20 July 2009

Hotel staff was friendly and helpful- the front desk made a dinner suggestion and placed reservations for us. Hotel is located in a great location and is within walking distance to tons of great cafes, bistros, bars and historic attractions. The rooms are beautiful and the marble bathroom was super clean. We loved the antique furniture and would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Richmond and even people who live in Richmond, like us, who would like to get to know Richmonds great history a little better.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loveitlocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 28 July 2009
It is always a pleasure to hear from guests who had a wonderful stay at the Linden Row Inn. As you note, the Linden Row Inn is a great destination for Richmond residents looking to spend a night (or two) in the city. We frequently offer special packages and rates for those looking for an in-town getaway. We encourage you to visit the Specials and Packages section of our website for further details. We appreciate your review and look forward to hosting you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    538
    326
    106
    39
    26
See reviews for
227
413
65
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern VA
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2009

Linden Row is a charming, historic hotel. Historic means it is delightful, quirky and old. The original owners were the foster parents of Edgar Allen Poe (the “Allen” in the Edgar Poe). The Inn is full of unusual spaces and venues. For example, you will find summer verandas and rocking chairs, and rooms with 12-foot ceilings. A charming, tree filled courtyard with wrought iron furniture. The rooms are large and furnishings are lush. But all the rooms and furniture have dings and dents in them because they are old or antiques, and no amount of paint can cover up the dents that occurred 60 years ago. Be warned, even though the hotel is smoke free, some public rooms still have the lingering smell of cigarettes, as Virginia had a long history with tobacco (the actual bedrooms do not have this problem). We booked in the cheaper garden rooms (smaller units, but in the beautiful courtyard). When we arrived, we were “upgraded” to the larger units in the main house at no cost (a $50 savings). I was perplexed. But I deduced the Inn did not have enough business to open up the garden units (and pay for the A/C in them). So they “upgraded” us at no cost, to lower their over all A/C costs (hint: always book the garden units). Breakfast is good, not great. Service is basic (no room service, no business center, no exercise, no porter, etc.), but friendly. The neighborhood is safe, despite what some reviewers may think (bear in mind, this is a city, not some suburban cul-de-sac). It is on the premier street (Franklin) in Richmond across from the main library, next to law offices and two blocks from the five star Jefferson Hotel. Some reviewers appear to be afraid of local Richmond people, who are probably going about their own business.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foster32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 28 July 2009
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience at the Linden Row Inn. As you point out, the property does have a very unique history, with many well-known Richmond residents of the past spending a portion of their lives here. Most notable, the Allan Family (including young Edgar Allan Poe) lived with Charles Ellis, the owner of the land that now comprises the Linden Row Inn. The property where the Linden Row Inn now stands was a garden where young Edgar played with the Ellis children. Local legend has it that the enchanted garden is the one that Poe mentions in his famous poem “To Helen.” It is also believed that the lifelong romance between Elmyra Royster and Edgar Allan Poe unfolded in the garden where the Linden Row Inn stands today.

Thank you for your comments on our upgrade policy. To clarify, the Management of the Linden Row Inn occasionally upgrades our regular guests from Garden rooms to our Main House rooms. This is a gesture of our appreciation for the continued support. Unfortunately, complimentary upgrades are always based on availability and are not guaranteed.

Regarding the services we offer, we are proud to provide a variety of complimentary amenities for our guests. This includes complimentary access to the state-of-the-art YMCA fitness center (located one block away), Free wireless internet in all rooms and public areas, and a complimentary internet station in our Parlour Lobby. We also offer printing, photocopying, and faxing services at our Front Desk. While we don’t offer room service, our Front Desk is always happy to provide guests with menus for nearby restaurants which deliver to guests staying in our rooms.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastern Long Island
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2009

A wonderful small rowhouse inn with history included at no extra charge. The place is located within walking of the canal, the state capitol buildings and magnificent city hall. It is also adjacent to Vir Comwlth Univ and some really interesting restaurants (I tried Comfort and Edos Squid) You will be delighted I believe.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCSEasternLongIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 28 July 2009
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience during a recent stay at the Linden Row Inn. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed staying with us and we hope that you will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2009

This is a terrific 70-room hotel, very old world, with a beautiful and very large brick terrace and garden across the walled back courtyard and stunning verandah hallways. We were upgraded to a suite after booking a queen room. The suite had spectacular floor-to-ceiling windows and gorgeous old chandeliers. The complimentary breakfast every morning features waffles as well as fresh fruit and coffee. We particularly enjoyed the shuttle service, which took us everywhere we needed to go pretty much whenever we wanted. Service very friendly at the front desk, driving the shuttle, and in the dining room. The hotel is very well located in a beautiful old neighbourhood in between Richmond's business core and the historic Fan district. We attended a conference in the city core; it was an easy 7-minute walk in the mornings. One thing: if at all possible, it would be nice if your patrons could book a shuttle ride to the airport. We spent nearly $100 getting to and from the airport in taxis. Other than that, we loved the old furniture, and understand completely how expensive it would be to maintain such a gorgeous old building. You offer an experience of the nineteenth century, when Richmond was the capital of the confederacy — we experienced the faded grandeur of a bygone era — and that is priceless! Thank you so much. Your new friends from Toronto, Canada.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallygolightly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 27 July 2009
Thank you for sharing your positive experience at the Linden Row Inn. Our team works hard to provide our guests with a glimpse of Richmond during the 19th century. It is always a pleasure to hear from guests who enjoyed experiencing a piece of history while staying with us.

Your feedback on transportation to/from the airport is also appreciated. While we don’t have any plans in the near future to offer an airport shuttle, our experience has been that a taxi ride between the Linden Row Inn and the airport costs approximately $30 (one-way). For those seeking a cheaper option, there are some shared ride companies (e.g. Groome Transportation) who offer fares as low as $21. We work with a handful of reputable taxi drivers and are always happy to provide guests with specific transportation recommendations before arriving in Richmond.

We look forward to continuing to host you during future visits to Richmond!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2009

A quaint hotel well located. Stayed with friends and even though we were both in the main house their room was much bigger than ours, so try not to get in room *25. They failed to service our room but the front desk did bring fresh towels that night when we called. Our friends had no problems. The hotel is old so it can be noisy with thin walls and windows. Parking is on the street but generally isn't a problem so long as you move your car in the morning. Breakfast is good.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhamiltonnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 24 March 2009
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Linden Row Inn. It is certainly disappointing to hear that we failed to service your room during your stay. Our team works hard to provide our guests with superior customer service, and we hope that you will accept our sincerest apologies for the experience you had with us.

As a historic landmark that was originally built in the 19th century as a series of rowhomes, each of our guestrooms offers guests with a unique experience. While we cannot always guarantee that you will be placed in a specific room (or room size), we do try our best to honor guest requests to be placed in specific tier rooms as long as the tier fits in with the room type that was reserved.

In terms of parking, we are proud to offer a valet parking service that allows your vehicle to be placed in a secure garage without the time limits or restrictions associated with street parking in an urban setting.

Ensuring a wonderful stay for each of our guests is our priority and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with the exceptional stay that you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2009

I have stayed at Linden Row several times now, and always have had a good experience. I was surprised to see that some other reviewers said Linden Row was located in the "ghetto." While the hotel is located in downtown Richmond near the VCU campus, I wouldn't qualify that as ghetto. It isn't like the hotel is located in Compton.

The building is old, but certain wear comes with age. We always stay in the front rooms overlooking the library. They are clean and nice. Simple, but they do the job. The front staff has always been friendly. You can get a free work out pass for the YMCA two blocks up and the free breakfast is good.

The only down side is probably the parking (they do have valet, though) because if you don't use the valet you have to park on the street. Then again you are in downtown Richmond and near a college campus where parking is always an issue.

I think most of the other reviewers' issues come with the nature of staying in an older hotel in a downtown enviroment. If you are looking for a decent place to stay with easy access to VCU, Downtown, or even Carytown, I would suggest Linden Row. If you want a modern 4 or 5 hotel with all the amenities, I would suggest you stay somewhere else

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TubbyTankers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 24 March 2009
Thank you for sharing your many positive experiences at the Linden Row Inn. We pride ourselves on offering guests with superb customer service and a range of complimentary amenities in a unique historic downtown setting. All of us at the Linden Row Inn look forward to continuing to host you during future visits to Richmond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2009

The Linden Row Inn, nestled nicely between Richmond, Virginia's historic downtown and trendy West End, is a great place to get away to together for Valentine's Day. The Inn has struggled a bit historically against slightly swankier retreats such as the Berkely in the Bottom and the Five Diamond-rated Jefferson just blocks away. However, the Inn has far more of a friendly feel and is actually well placed walking distance-wise to several of Richmond's best restaurants, art galleries, and music venues along the downtown Broad Street corridor. As far as a Romantic get away, the Inn offers an incredibly affordable "Romance Package", which came with a dozen fresh roses in our room, along with a generous assortment of Belgian chocolates, a tall bottle of delicious sparkling water, and even a Dean Martin "Amore" CD to set the mood. Now take all that and add in a large room with tall ceilings, king-sized bed, antique mantle surrounding an old coal fireplace, beautiful view of the Inn's quaint courtyard, and enough polished granite in the bathroom to sink a ship, and you're not getting a bad deal for a little over $150.00. For the same price even, the Inn would have arranged a three course dinner at a local restaurant with transportation to and from with everything taken care of save for gratuity. We were going to opt for this package, but dinner reservation times still available were all after 9:00 and we had other plans. Needless to say, the Inn, location, room, and accompanying package were just shy of perfect for a couple wanting to get away from it all for Valentine's Day save for one thing- the continental breakfast.
My wife and I arrived in the dining room at 9:45 AM, 15 minutes prior to when continental breakfast time was scheduled to end after a solid night's sleep, ample time in our book to enjoy what was meant to be included with the price of our stay, and were met by the main server who reminded all in the breakfast room that it was 9:45 when she saw us, and then shot us a look of annoyance as we walked in to try and eat something before we got back on the road. The server had already begun breaking things down and there was not much left to enjoy as a result. So, after doing our best to put together some semblance of a breakfast, we and the few of us left in the room were treated by the server to tales of previous cranky guests, bowl movement-inducing coffee, and how difficult it is to get up early and serve guests breakfast. While we had no choice but to laugh at this woman's candor, the level of professionalism was seriously lacking for a historic inn, and one of Richmond's most treasured historic landmarks. While my wife and I will no doubt likely return, we hope that the breakfast fare, schedule, and server are a little more up to par with historic inn standards and our overly informative breakfast server has been reassigned to what she told everyone she enjoys more than serving guests- cleaning rooms.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wake00forest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 24 March 2009
The Management of the Linden Row Inn thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed spending Valentine’s Day with us. We work hard to assemble meaningful packages with local restaurants and cultural venues, and are always happy to hear about guests that enjoyed the additional amenities.

We are extremely sorry to hear about your experience with our continental breakfast. Over the past year, we have worked hard to improve our breakfast fare by introducing new products such as Southern-style biscuits and hot waffle-making stations, and we are continuing to work on introducing additional improvements. Our breakfast hours are from 7AM-10AM, and we often extend those hours during special events/occasions such as Valentine’s Day weekend. So, the breakfast attendant should not have started breaking down the breakfast at 9:45AM. The behavior you describe is simply unacceptable, and following a thorough investigation of the occurrences you describe, we have taken the necessary disciplinary action to ensure that guests are provided with the professionalism and hospitality that they have come to expect of the Linden Row Inn.

We are happy to hear that you and your wife will be returning to the Linden Row Inn and hope that you will be pleased with our continued efforts to deliver outstanding service and amenities to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.7 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 81 in Richmond
854 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 81 in Richmond
1,249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 81 in Richmond
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.7 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#12 of 81 in Richmond
1,900 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linden Row Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden Row Inn

Property: Linden Row Inn
Address: 100 E Franklin St, Richmond, VA 23219-2108
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#10 Business Hotel in Richmond
#12 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Linden Row Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linden Row Inn is an award-winning 70-room boutique historic hotel located in the heart of Downtown Richmond. The hotel is comprised of seven row houses built in the mid-1800's, and meticulously restored over the years. Many of the hotel's guest rooms are furnished with antiques from the middle and late 1800's, and the hotel is proud to be featured on the National Register of Historic Places. Edgar Allan Poe spent his childhood playing in the garden that is now the hotel's garden courtyard, and local legend has it that the property is home to the "enchanted garden" that Poe mentions in his famous poem "To Helen." Room rate includes free wireless internet throughout the hotel, access to a state-of-the-art fitness center, and complimentary in-town shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Linden Row Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linden Row Hotel Richmond
Linden Row Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing