We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd Stay Again”
Review of Linden Row Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Linden Row Inn
Ranked #6 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“I'd Stay Again”
Reviewed 22 October 2009

The reviews for this hotel are definitely mixed so I was wary. I had a good experience however and would stay again. I saved half of what I would have had to pay to be downtown. I was 1/2 mile from where I needed to do business but I used the hotel's shuttle service and had no problem. In fact, after my business was done I was able to leave my luggage at the hotel and had the afternoon to do a little sightseeing before going to the airport. All I had to do was ask and the van took me just where I wanted to go. I had the best pizza I've ever eaten at Bottoms Up, then toured the capitol, then went down to the Civil War museum down on Tredagar. Though I had 3 different drivers in as much time, they were very polite and accommodating and very responsive to my calls. I never waited more than 5 minutes, which was great since it was raining.
The front desk staff were polite and informative.
My room was in the garden part and was more than adequate - clean, and appointed well.
Breakfast was fine too. I made myself a great waffle. Nothing fancy but I'm always happy to not have to forage for food outside of the hotel in the morning.
It is a historic site (just like the city it is in) and the perfect place to take in the flavor of Richmond.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KoalaGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 24 November 2009
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Linden Row Inn. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you were able to take advantage of our convenient downtown location and complimentary shuttle and luggage storage services.

We take pride in the history of Richmond and our hotel and work hard to preserve the historic elements of our property. So, we are always happy to hear from guests who appreciate that aspect of our hotel.

We appreciate your comments and look forward to hosting you again during a future visit to Richmond!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    522
    323
    105
    39
    26
See reviews for
219
405
64
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tidewater Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2009

The room we had was quite, large, clean and very comfortable. Unfortunately, we were met at the front desk by a fairly unkept gentleman who acted like he was doing us a favor. This attitude was again present when we came back after dinner, around 10pm looking for a hot cup of tea. He pointed us to the breakfast room and when we found the water in the pot cool, we went into the kitchen next door which was open and lit. We found the hot water and were attempting to warm the pot when he came in and again made us feel most unwelcome by stating incredulously that we were not allowed in the kitchen. The next morning when we bounced out of bed (wonderfully comfortable) and quickly headed down stairs to get breakfast at 10am on the nose, the woman running breakfast told us it was too late and we couldn't have anything! When we asked for coffee, she grudgingly allowed us a cup, but wouldn't let us take it to our room. Again, it was if we were there for her instead of her being there for us. All of this was mitigated somewhat by the wonderful woman who checked us out and pointed us toward a good, hot breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iamsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 24 November 2009
Thank you for taking the time to share your constructive feedback on the Linden Row Inn. On behalf of the management of the Linden Row Inn, we would like to express our sincere apologies for the customer service experience during your recent stay with us.

Our highest priority is to create a warm and welcoming environment for our guests and what you describe does not meet our high service standards. Rest assured, we have shared your feedback with our Front Desk Staff and are taking the necessary disciplinary action against the Front Desk team member that you describe in your review.

We also apologize for the inconvenience you faced at breakfast. We are pleased to offer a complimentary continental breakfast every morning from 7AM-10AM, and our breakfast attendants strive to accommodate guests who arrive into the breakfast room at the end of the breakfast period. That said, we do encourage our guests to try to make it to breakfast before 10AM so that our team members may finish their work and attend to other responsibilities.

We appreciate the honest feedback and hope that we may be able to welcome you back to the Linden Row Inn during a future visit to Richmond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2009

We have been traveling to different locations for quick get-a-ways for the past 10 years. Out of the past 10 years, we stayed in Downtown Richmond four times, which is less than 10 miles from our home.
Our stay at The Jefferson and The Berkley out rank The Linden Row Inn by far. Please make sure you get everything in writing via email or fax on the cost of your room and what is included. If not, you will pay more than expected.
If you question your service and anticipation of what you expected, you will be welcomed by an easily irritated manager that has not learned the art of customer service or communication. If you call the front desk, please be prepared for little to no answers, inappropriate giggling, the computer system being down or the inability to pull up their own website.
The young lady that helped us at check in was kind and showed empathy towards our concerns. The gentleman that took us downtown for dinner and later picked us up was extremely nice and hardworking.
We made the best of the situation, but would not recommend a stay at this Inn. The management team only worries about what their supervisors think and not about returning customers or a positive word of mouth. I can promise that they will say you are wrong and offer a meaningless I'm sorry.
For your breakfast, one would anticipate more than hostess donuts, dried cereal, 2 fruits, watered down juices and make your own waffles. It would have also been a little nicer if the dining staff paid more attention to the customer and less time on the telephone and breaks.
I normally do not complain since every business has an off day, but I should have read the trip advisor before re-booking a second stay at the Linden Row. Our first stay was over 5 years ago when they were trying to make their comeback and we understood that fact.
I will say that 10 years ago, the business meetings and lunch experiences we had were excellent. A lot has changed in 10 years.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GetawayCouple23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 24 November 2009
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Linden Row Inn. We are sorry to hear about your experience with us and have taken necessary action to ensure that our guests continue to receive the superior customer service that they have come to expect of the Linden Row Inn.

We apologize for the misunderstanding regarding your rate. As with all hotels, we offer a variety of special rates and promotions, and those rates and promotions are subject to availability restrictions. We have shared your comments with our Front Desk and Reservations teams to ensure that all guests are correctly informed of the rules and regulations associated with special rates. We also encourage our guests to review their email confirmations upon booking with us to ensure that the rate quoted via phone matches the rate that is associated with their reservation.

Regarding our complimentary continental breakfast, we are continually making additions to the quality and variety of products offered. At present, the breakfast includes a variety of Fresh Bagels, an assortment of Fresh Danish, Hot Waffles, Mini Donuts, Mini Muffins, Wheat/White Bread Toast, a selection of Breakfast Cereals, and Fresh Fruit. Our breakfast beverage options include Regular and Decaffeinated Coffee, a selection of Hot Teas, Orange Juice, Apple Juice, and Milk.

We truly appreciate candid, constructive feedback and hope that we may be able to welcome you back to the Linden Row Inn during a future visit to Richmond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suburban Washington DC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2009

We just returned from a long weekend trip to Richmond where we stayed at the Linden Row Inn. We loved the location and walked to the Capitol and to several museums and restaurants. We were in a ground floor room with access to a courtyard. Our room was comfortable but had a musty smell which did not dissipate. Friends staying across the courtyard did not have any problems. We all decided that the hotel was a good value for the discount rate that we paid. One fun aspect was the woman in charge of the breakfast room. She had a great personality.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chezclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 7 October 2009
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Linden Row Inn. We truly appreciate your kind feedback, including your compliments on our breakfast attendant.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the musty smell in your room. Our housekeeping and maintenance staff work hard to address such isolated issues on an ongoing basis, and we are always more than happy to try and relocate guests to a different room when such issues are brought to our attention .

We thank you again for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and look forward to hosting you during a future visit to Richmond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bermuda
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2009

We stayed three nights at conclusion of a visit touring state. The neighbourhood looked and is a little shabby but Linden Row is clearly well maintained. We were checked in promptly indeed we arrived at noon and were able to get to our room and drop bags.
The common areas / lounge very welcoming. Room in Garden Court - large , clean, nicely furnished and for someone with a bad back - VERY comfortable and firm mattress.
Breakfast was included but was disappointing - no variety from day to day and same fare as offered in motels for 1/3 price. A real bonus to us was the free mini-shuttle within city, which as we had returned our car rental was great to get to Shokhoe Slip and Capital and Monument Avenue. Van driver was great , Front Desk Staff - OK. Helpful but not overly friendly. Big question - would I stay there again - definately. Could they improve - yes- better breakfast ( described as Gourmet and it was not) and more
friendly staff .

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TouringOnion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 7 October 2009
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Linden Row Inn. We appreciate your positive feedback on the check-in process, our neighborhood, our guest rooms, and our garden areas.

We strive to provide our guests with great customer service, and will definitely share your constructive feedback on the friendliness of our Front Desk staff with our entire Front Desk team.

We are also sorry to hear that our Complimentary Continental Breakfast failed to meet your expectations. We have recently added some new items to our breakfast menu (including the introduction of premium coffee, doughnuts and hot waffles), and plan to make some additional improvements in the months to come.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Linden Row Inn during a future visit to Richmond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2009

We had a GREAT time, just looking for an excuse for a weekend getaway from DC. We did the First Friday art tour, and then kept on asking staff for suggestions on where to eat or what to see, and zzzipp, the weekend was over.

Richmond was so much more than we expected, and this great little Inn was an easy point to drive around from, and to walk around from. We are definitely going back, and will use this as our local pied a terre again.

Friendly, courteous, prompt and try-to-be-invisible staff; just what we wanted. Thanks.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WDC_Realtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 7 October 2009
Thank you for your review of the Linden Row Inn. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to hosting you during your next visit to Richmond!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Va
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

Hotel staff was friendly and helpful- the front desk made a dinner suggestion and placed reservations for us. Hotel is located in a great location and is within walking distance to tons of great cafes, bistros, bars and historic attractions. The rooms are beautiful and the marble bathroom was super clean. We loved the antique furniture and would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Richmond and even people who live in Richmond, like us, who would like to get to know Richmonds great history a little better.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loveitlocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindenRowInnMgmt, Manager at Linden Row Inn, responded to this review, 28 July 2009
It is always a pleasure to hear from guests who had a wonderful stay at the Linden Row Inn. As you note, the Linden Row Inn is a great destination for Richmond residents looking to spend a night (or two) in the city. We frequently offer special packages and rates for those looking for an in-town getaway. We encourage you to visit the Specials and Packages section of our website for further details. We appreciate your review and look forward to hosting you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.7 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#7 of 81 in Richmond
835 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 81 in Richmond
1,229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 81 in Richmond
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.7 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#12 of 81 in Richmond
1,859 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linden Row Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden Row Inn

Property: Linden Row Inn
Address: 100 E Franklin St, Richmond, VA 23219-2108
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#10 Business Hotel in Richmond
#12 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Linden Row Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linden Row Inn is an award-winning 70-room boutique historic hotel located in the heart of Downtown Richmond. The hotel is comprised of seven row houses built in the mid-1800's, and meticulously restored over the years. Many of the hotel's guest rooms are furnished with antiques from the middle and late 1800's, and the hotel is proud to be featured on the National Register of Historic Places. Edgar Allan Poe spent his childhood playing in the garden that is now the hotel's garden courtyard, and local legend has it that the property is home to the "enchanted garden" that Poe mentions in his famous poem "To Helen." Room rate includes free wireless internet throughout the hotel, access to a state-of-the-art fitness center, and complimentary in-town shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Linden Row Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linden Row Hotel Richmond
Linden Row Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing