We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FREE little park, playground, nature walk and aquarium” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Three Lakes Nature Center and Aquarium

Three Lakes Nature Center and Aquarium
selden
Level Contributor
98 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“FREE little park, playground, nature walk and aquarium”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

This was an adorable, clean and free park and aquarium. Lots to do here for a full day of fun. Bring your lunch and have a picnic.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank reiki4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    24
    4
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
121 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stopped here when we got to town, expecting just a small playground. We found a large playground designed for 5-12 year-olds and a small playground designed for the under-5 crowd. There were clean bathrooms and a water fountain, and the playground was really well-maintained. The Nature Center is small but neat. There are live animals, though the enclosures are very small, and there seemed to be an impressive amount of algae growth in the aquarium.
There are also bathrooms and water fountains in the Nature Center. There are, in fact, three lakes at this park, and nature trails go all around. What turned out to be just a stop to stretch our legs turned into a two-hour rest stop!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank LibbyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RVA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Really Nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

We went when it wasn't too hot or too chilly. It was perfect out! Great date place. Just me, him, and nature. Who can complain?! =)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank AmandaM423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Family Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

What a gem in Richmond! The aquarium is geared toward toddlers to elementary school. The play ground is first rate! The playground has plenty of open area around it so keeping track of your kids is easy. You feel really safe here. There are tons of walking paths that would be great for biking too, especially biking for kids. We had a picnic under a big shelter that sat right in front of one of the small lakes. Fishing is allowed near this shelter too. Great value since all you spend is your time!!!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Run off some energy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

Lots to see and do at this park! Have a picnic with an option of a covered pavilion.. Enjoy the trails..fish and play on two separate playgrounds! There is a nature center with local amphibians and displays..which opens at 12 and is air conditioned. The bathrooms near the playgrounds were clean and also has a few picnic tables located near by. Enjoy!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank TravlinwBoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Three Lakes Nature Center and Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to Three Lakes Nature Center and Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing