We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very satisfied”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Ranked #8 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The Hilton Garden Inn staff were very pleasant and helpful. The internet connection in the room worked well. The room was excellent, clean and quiet. The restaurant staff were very nice, but the room was too cold. Otherwise, a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Glenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Glenn;

Thank you for your positive review, and glad to hear you were "very satisfied". I was glad to hear about our internet, as we recently upgraded to fiber optic, and a higher in / out baud rate and speed to help at all times with internet use. We'll certainly check the restaurant AC settings ! Thanks,

John c.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,539)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,097 - 1,103 of 1,539 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2013

For a chain, the Garden Inn, Downtown, Richmond has an excellent staff ethic. Worth noting that there is a courtesy shuttle service for a two-and-a-half mile radius, so you do not need to have a car or find a taxi. We made repeated use of this efficient service.

My main reservation is that parking is relatively expensive. Had I known in advance of the shuttle service I would not have hired a car for the first two days; there is a Hertz car hire desk in the hotel. Spacious and comfortable rooms with reasonable breakfast choices (though breakfast is charged extra).

The location is excellent for historic Richmond.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhlincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Jhlincoln;

Thanks for your visit and great review. Glad to hear we met our goal of giving excellent service. Hope to see you back soon.

John Cario - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This hotel is located in an old remodeled department store. Enough details have been kept to give the hotel its unique character including high ceilings in the rooms which give the room a much larger feel. Location is great for events at the convention center and other venues. If you are looking for lively night life there are quite afew local pubs and bars nearby. The only drawback is the smallness of the front parking area as you arrive. Valet parking is available and at a rate that is standard for most cities. Because of a mix up by the front desk which caused us about 15 minutes of trouble, we were comped for the excellent breakfast buffet. We would definitely stay again if traveling to Richmond.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudyTomB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear JudyTomB;

Thanks for your stay and great feedback on our historic / renovated hotel, as well the downtown area. Yes, the Richmond area has come alive in recent years with a great choice of area eating establishments, pubs, and or attractions nearby. Great to hear you enjoyed your visit, and the team assisted with an "opportunity" during your stay.

Hope to see you back soon,

John and team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This is a Hilton hotel, and it was just as expected: pricey but nice. The hotel was very clean and had a nice restaurant and bar/lounge areas. The rooms were relatively large. The valet parking is convenient but takes a bite out of your wallet by adding an automatic $21 per night.

Room Tip: King bed rooms still have plenty of floor space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Russell;

We appreciate your recent stay and feedback. Glad to hear overall you enjoyed your visit. Yes, Parking in a downtown area can be tough, however we are under most our competitors / neighbors in the area, and offer in & out service for our guests. We also have a "downtown work deal" package that includes parking, keep your eyes open for that if you return to Richmond.

Sincerely,

John and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stay was pleasant. Staff was very nice and responsive. I had been charged for extra nights parking, staff corrected the problem as soon as I mentioned it. Parking could have been better. A complimentary breakfast would make the stay even better.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Sanjiv P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Sanjvi;

Thanks for your feedback from a recent visit. At Hilton Garden's we provide a full cooked-to-order hot, all you can eat breakfast buffet and yes there is a charge, unlike some of our sister hotels; Hampton and Embassy Suites. However, we also have some "bed and breakfast" packages which include breakfast, as well some that include parking. Our Hilton Honor's benefits can include this depending on your number of stays throughout the year, more information is at www.hgi.com, hhonors. We hope to see you back soon.

John Cario
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The service at this hotel was awesome! The front desk staff, the wait staff, the valet, the shuttle drivers all were excellent! The room was perfect. I highly recommend the Hitlon Garden Inn Downtown Richmond. Great Job Folks!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear John;

Thanks for your stay and "Awesome" review. We hope to see you back soon !


Sincerely,

John Cario - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed here while stopping off in a richmond for one night. The parking on arrival seemed a bit confusing, with the car park seemingly full and the on street parking option not too safe or even sure where we could park, so we went for valet parking. This was quite expensive at over $21 per night. Inside the staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms were nice and comfortable. We arrived in late evening so were not too sure about the surrounding are of the hotel for walking too far. All in all, the hotel itself us fine, we just were not too impressed with Richmond itself.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wayne77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Wayne;

Thank you for your recent visit and review. I can assure you there are great things to see and do in the Richmond area, and walking distance too. Perhaps on your next visit you'll find the museums, theaters, restaurants, the beautiful James River, and parks, and other nearby activity. A quick complimentary shuttle away from more; Maymont Park, Va. Museum of Fine Art, Cary Town, and more. www.richmond.com also has some great Richmond info. Hope to see you back soon. John and team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.5 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 82 in Richmond
1,291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,069 reviews
0.5 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#13 of 82 in Richmond
1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#7 of 82 in Richmond
915 reviews
0.1 mi away
Richmond Marriott
Richmond Marriott
#19 of 82 in Richmond
743 reviews
0.3 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Richmond Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Richmond Downtown

Address: 501 E Broad St, Richmond, VA 23219-1809 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Richmond
#5 Business Hotel in Richmond
#5 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#5 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#7 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: £121 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Richmond Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the state of Virginia, and the Hilton Richmond Downtown, located in the heart of historic downtown Richmond. This premiere hotel is located within minutes of I-95 and I-64, across the street from the Greater Richmond Convention Center, two blocks from the Richmond Coliseum, and the National Theater, and next door to Richmond Center Stage. Formerly the beloved Miller & Rhoads Department Store, the original marble floors and restored millwork grace the lobby, providing our guests with a combination of historic charm, southern hospitality and modern amenities. This spacious and inviting Hilton hotel is an easy choice for the discerning traveler and for families who are looking for a place they can feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing