We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surgery Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Ranked #7 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Gloucester, United States
2 reviews
“Surgery Getaway”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Loved everything about the hotel. The location. The history of the building. The room was wonderful. The beds some of the most comfortable I've ever stayed on. The pool and the whirlpool relaxing. It was a great stay. The staff was friendly and helpful. Couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Thom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Thom;

Thanks for your visit and review. We certainly appreciate the feedback, and we'll share the great comments with the team ! Hopefully all is well with from the surgery.

John Cario - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    818
    453
    139
    50
    26
See reviews for
373
278
78
603
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sperryville, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The hotel was fine/standard, but the breakfast could have been a better value, which I realize is typical of hotels, but still... The location is OK, but I will try the Omni next purely based on location. There is more nightlife / activity down closer to the river and the Omni the best location wrt walking distance for night activities (dinner / bars / music).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisajones4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Lisa;

Thanks for your recent visit to our hotel. I sent a personal message to learn more of your experience. We know our travelers have choices, so certainly trying the Omni is your choice, but we would love to hear how we can improve on the items you noted. Sincerely, John - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, United States
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Very nice hotel with helpful and friendly staff. The only complaint I had was with the heat/air system in the room. Quite noisy and never cooled down to my desired temp. Otherwise a great hotel experience and would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Kacy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Kacy;

Thanks for your recent visit and Tripadvisor review. Glad to hear a "great business experience", yet we'll certainly review the louder ac unit. I sent a personal message to find out the exact room you had. Perhaps too if you are a Hilton Honor's guest we can update your profile with a preferred room in the future. Thanks again,

John and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christiana / Newark, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The staff at this property is excellent, across the board. The fitness room, though compact, has all the right stuff so you can get a good workout. I slept like a king and my breakfast was excellent. The valets were efficient and well organized. An excellent stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Daniel;

Thanks for your visit and review. We certainly appreciate the feedback, and we'll share the great comments with the team !

Sincerely,

John Cario
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United States
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The Hilton Garden Inn staff were very pleasant and helpful. The internet connection in the room worked well. The room was excellent, clean and quiet. The restaurant staff were very nice, but the room was too cold. Otherwise, a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Glenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Glenn;

Thank you for your positive review, and glad to hear you were "very satisfied". I was glad to hear about our internet, as we recently upgraded to fiber optic, and a higher in / out baud rate and speed to help at all times with internet use. We'll certainly check the restaurant AC settings ! Thanks,

John c.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

For a chain, the Garden Inn, Downtown, Richmond has an excellent staff ethic. Worth noting that there is a courtesy shuttle service for a two-and-a-half mile radius, so you do not need to have a car or find a taxi. We made repeated use of this efficient service.

My main reservation is that parking is relatively expensive. Had I known in advance of the shuttle service I would not have hired a car for the first two days; there is a Hertz car hire desk in the hotel. Spacious and comfortable rooms with reasonable breakfast choices (though breakfast is charged extra).

The location is excellent for historic Richmond.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhlincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Jhlincoln;

Thanks for your visit and great review. Glad to hear we met our goal of giving excellent service. Hope to see you back soon.

John Cario - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lemoyne, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This hotel is located in an old remodeled department store. Enough details have been kept to give the hotel its unique character including high ceilings in the rooms which give the room a much larger feel. Location is great for events at the convention center and other venues. If you are looking for lively night life there are quite afew local pubs and bars nearby. The only drawback is the smallness of the front parking area as you arrive. Valet parking is available and at a rate that is standard for most cities. Because of a mix up by the front desk which caused us about 15 minutes of trouble, we were comped for the excellent breakfast buffet. We would definitely stay again if traveling to Richmond.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyTomB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear JudyTomB;

Thanks for your stay and great feedback on our historic / renovated hotel, as well the downtown area. Yes, the Richmond area has come alive in recent years with a great choice of area eating establishments, pubs, and or attractions nearby. Great to hear you enjoyed your visit, and the team assisted with an "opportunity" during your stay.

Hope to see you back soon,

John and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.3 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,047 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 82 in Richmond
1,268 reviews
0.5 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#12 of 82 in Richmond
1,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 82 in Richmond
867 reviews
0.1 mi away
Richmond Marriott
Richmond Marriott
#18 of 82 in Richmond
717 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 82 in Richmond
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Richmond Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Richmond Downtown

Property: Hilton Richmond Downtown
Address: 501 E Broad St, Richmond, VA 23219-1809 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Richmond
#4 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#5 Business Hotel in Richmond
#5 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#7 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Richmond Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the state of Virginia, and the Hilton Richmond Downtown, located in the heart of historic downtown Richmond. This premiere hotel is located within minutes of I-95 and I-64, across the street from the Greater Richmond Convention Center, two blocks from the Richmond Coliseum, and the National Theater, and next door to Richmond Center Stage. Formerly the beloved Miller & Rhoads Department Store, the original marble floors and restored millwork grace the lobby, providing our guests with a combination of historic charm, southern hospitality and modern amenities. This spacious and inviting Hilton hotel is an easy choice for the discerning traveler and for families who are looking for a place they can feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing