We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Ranked #9 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hamilton, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Renovation”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This hotel has an elegant, old-time feel. It's situated in a beautifully revived part of Richmond. The rooms are elegantly appointed and very quiet. The service was outstanding. We've stayed there twice and will do so again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank cathylittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for your visit and review, we appreciate your comments on our historic renovation of this beautiful facility. Sincerely, John Cario - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    761
    426
    136
    44
    26
See reviews for
341
260
74
573
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
224 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We’ve stayed here before in the past and it is our preferred hotel when needing something downtown. I called the hotel the morning of our arrival day to see if it would be possible for an earlier than 4pm check-in. The super friendly staff member informed me our room was ready. Upon check-in, we opted for the $21 valet parking. It’s far easier to pull up in front of the hotel and have them handle the parking rather than scouting it out yourself. At the front desk I was greeted by the same woman who I spoke with on the phone earlier. Welcoming us back as repeat guests with her big smile, she completed the check-in process quickly. Our room, 515, was perfect in every way, except for the dim lighting. We were a party of four females trying to fix our hair and apply makeup in the room before a concert. There was no hope of outdoor lighting as it was a rainy day. Even with all of the lamps on in the room, the lighting was still inadequate for our needs. The bathroom lighting was no better. We arrived back to our hotel room at 130am and were in need of two additional blankets for our beds. When calling the front desk to request them, I was told housekeeping had just left and the front desk clerk was unable to get us any. I found this a bit disappointing; certainly one should be able to get an extra blanket at any hour. We chose to crank up the heat, in hopes of warming us up. We slept soundly on decent beds with no outside noise heard from the neighboring rooms or corridor. I would like to have found an exhaust fan in the bathroom to get rid of the steam after the hot shower, though there was not one. The shower having great water pressure and fluffy soft towels were huge pluses. At check-out time I was once again greeted by the same female hotel desk clerk. She deserves a gold star for making our overall experience top notch. She exudes friendly warmth that makes each guest feel welcomed. I hope the HGI realizes what an asset she is to the team! The valet guys had our car out to us in no time and we were on our way. Even with dim lighting and no exhaust fan, we find those minor inconveniences easy to overlook when the rest is better than great.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kribbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for your "excellent" review after your visit with us. We'll certainly review your comments with the team and thank those superstars, as well address your comments noted. While we do have exhaust fans in the rooms (stack vents) there is not a switch that perhaps make it known there is such a fan in the room. We will have the Engineering team double check however to ensure the vent is pulling properly. John Cario - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Although we only spent one night here, my daughter, granddaughter and I found it to be a nice, clean hotel with pleasant staff. It is convenient to VCU as well as the major sites in downtown Richmond. The staff was helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Debra;

Thank you for your recent visit and feedback. Hope you had an enjoyable visit to Richmond, and perhaps VCU as you mentioned. John Cario - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2013

great accomadations; staff went above and beyond to make every effort for my stay to be exceptional Will stay at Hilton garden inn in the future. Stayed at this hotel last year and some of the staff actually remembered me from my previous visit. great customer service

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Jennifer;

Thanks so much for your recent visit and feedback. Great to be recognized when you return, I'll thank the team for their efforts ! Hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,

John Cario
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

First let me say this is a Hilton hotel so dont expect to get a great price. I was there for a family event and even though it was beautiful, clean and the service was great, it hit my pocket harder than I thought. After the room (which was a discounted rate for the event), parking, breakfast for two and taxes we paid a little under $200 for one night's stay. It is in the heart of downtown Richmond but considering I used to live across the street, I feel it is a little overpriced.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the elevators, otherwise you can end up taking a ten minute walk to your roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Jonell;

Thank you for your visit and feedback. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. While rates due vary with special events, and day of week, we strive to be competitive with the market. I would also recommend a future "bed and breakfast" or "downtown work deal" type package which can include breakfast or parking to add more value. Thanks again, hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,

John Cario
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This hotel is conveniently located by the Convention Center, which we were visiting. You're also a close walk to the historic district and many nearby places to eat and drink. The front desk person was extremely friendly. We reserved a King-Suite room and weren't disappointed. (Room #225). It was quiet, spacious with a separate bedroom and living room. The bed was comfortable, climate control quiet and the bathrooms big and clean. There's self park or valet right in front of the hotel. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Try to reserve King Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveler1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Happy Traveler;

Thank you for your visit and kind review. I was glad to hear you found our hotel to be a great location for your visit. We hope to see you back soon.

John Cario - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, United States
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We selected this hotel because it was close to a concert venue we were attending. The immediate vicinity is not in very good repair, but we still ventured out on foot. The Capital Ale House, a few blocks away, was excellent! The bed was very uncomfortable, despite the sleep system the attendant at the desk told us about. It did not really work for us; it was not a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Brian;

Glad to hear you recently visited and attended an area concert. We are fast becoming a great destination for concerts with the National, Centerstage in walking distance, and of course the Landmark and the Richmond Coliseum very close by. I did reach out to you with a personal email to discuss the bedding. Yes, HGI's have the Garden Sleep System beds you can dial in your comfort. We'll double check the room / bed you had to ensure it was working properly. We hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,

John Cario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.5 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#11 of 81 in Richmond
1,784 reviews
0.3 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#7 of 81 in Richmond
991 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 81 in Richmond
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#6 of 81 in Richmond
595 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 81 in Richmond
784 reviews
0.1 mi away
Richmond Marriott
Richmond Marriott
#18 of 81 in Richmond
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Richmond Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Richmond Downtown

Property: Hilton Richmond Downtown
Address: 501 E Broad St, Richmond, VA 23219-1809 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Richmond
#5 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#5 Business Hotel in Richmond
#6 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#7 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Richmond Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the state of Virginia, and the Hilton Richmond Downtown, located in the heart of historic downtown Richmond. This premiere hotel is located within minutes of I-95 and I-64, across the street from the Greater Richmond Convention Center, two blocks from the Richmond Coliseum, and the National Theater, and next door to Richmond Center Stage. Formerly the beloved Miller & Rhoads Department Store, the original marble floors and restored millwork grace the lobby, providing our guests with a combination of historic charm, southern hospitality and modern amenities. This spacious and inviting Hilton hotel is an easy choice for the discerning traveler and for families who are looking for a place they can feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing