We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Ranked #7 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Jersey, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Went to Richmond Virginia for a wedding & this is the hotel the Bride and Groom selected for their guests to stay at. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, the staff was attentive and very nice. The lobby area, elevators, hallways & room itself smelt very nice. The rooms were very clean and spacious! We were two couples in one room and had plenty of space. We needed a few more towels and called room service and no more than 5 minutes later did we receive 4 extra towels for the room! Very quick service! We had breakfast the next day in the hotel for around $15 per person which allows you unlimited juice, coffee, pastries, omelet station, potatoes, pancakes, toast, anything you want. Not bad at all! We had a couple of cocktails at the bar in the lobby, "Thirst & Fifth". Not only is the name great, the bar was too! One of the bartenders was especially great, Brittany. She was friendly and made delicious drinks! The prices were normal and not overpriced either. (About $11 for a martini w/ top shelf liquor). One of the best things about this hotel is the shuttle service. There are multiple sprinters/vans that will take you within a 2 mile radius+ at NO charge! All of the drivers were so nice and friendly. We were given a phone number to call when we needed to be picked up and brought back to the hotel and we never had a problem! The driver was always prompt and picked us up with a smile on his face. James B. was the best! Also, the location of this hotel is excellent, right in the heart of Downtown Richmond. The biggest con I think would be there are not enough restaurants in the hotel, but you can go right across the street to the Marriott for a great sports bar & a Starbucks.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittany A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWharton, Front Office Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for your review! I am so glad that you enjoyed your time with us! I will make sure to share your positive comments with the team. They work hard to make sure our guests have a great time, and I know they will be pleased to see their efforts paid off. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the Richmond area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    807
    447
    139
    49
    26
See reviews for
365
276
78
596
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laurel, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This hotel is a converted historic department store with lots of period details. Staff was friendly and helpful! Nice restaurant options in walking distance and valet parking was convenient. Even full of cheerleaders from the convention center, the rooms and common areas were quiet and clean.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank 301CarolJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thanks for your great feedback regarding your visit. We are very fortunate to be close to the convention center (across the street), and close to so many great "new" restaurants nearby, including those in our lobby. We look forward to your return visits to RVA.

John & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United States
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the Richmond Hilton Garden Inn Downtown for our daughters wedding reception. The customer service was outstanding. Many of our guests commented on their very positve experinces as they were leaving. Great location, excellent facilities and would recommend staying here if you travel to Richmond.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Stephen;

Congrats on your daughter's recent wedding, what an exiciting time. Thanks for your visit and post to Tripadvisor on your great stay with us. Don't wait for another wedding to return, come back and visit us !

Sincerely,

John Cario - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyons, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn last night because my daughter was in a cheer convention across the street at the Greater Richmond Convention Center. First, you just can't beat the location. Second, the room was super clean and the beds were really comfortable. Both my kids slept like a rock (and that doesn't happen often). There was some outside noise because we were in a street view room, but I just put a white noise app on my iPad and we were good to go. And finally (and most importantly), the customer service was top notch. The valet staff were very friendly and super efficient (and I felt terrible for them because it was FREEZING outside) but they did their job with a smile. The woman at checkout today (I believe her name was Maria) was AMAZING. She was so personable and friendly and really made me feel like a valued guest. I everyone had the kind of personality she did, this world would be a better place! Great visit all around, will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurenmc44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Lauren;

Thank you for your visit to RVA and our HGI for your recent cheer competition. So glad to learn you had a wonderful visit, and thank you for recognizing several team members for their efforts; Valet, and Marie specifically. I will certainly thank all, and we do hope to see you back soon. Thanks for the tip on the "white noise app" too, great way to reduce the "sounds of the city" if needed. Sincerely, John Cario - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Do not stay at this hotel. The staff were not friendly to New Years and New Years eve guests. I was charged for a meal we did not have and when questioned the staff was stand-off ish and not compliant with helping. The issue remains unresolved.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWharton, Front Office Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Kevin,

I appreciate you bringing your situation to my concern. I can assure you this is not typical and regret that this was your experience at our hotel. I have emailed you personally to discuss and make amends for your concerns. As you can see (from other reviews), this truly is an anomaly. I will make sure to share your comments with my team so they understand the importance of always being on their "A" game! Thank you again for letting us know, and I look forward to resolving the billing issue with you privately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Our entire family has always enjoyed each of our stays. After staying the first time for convenience, we now go back for the friendly staff and great hospitality. From arrival to departure, every person is kind and personable. The amenities and location are great as well.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thanks for your recent visit, as well past visits. Glad to hear it's "always a pleasure", and likewise, it's "our pleasure" to serve you as a guest with us. Hope to see you back soon. John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western PA
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed a Friday and Saturday evening the week prior to Thanksgiving. I have to say I was thoroughly surprised, because I just had doubts about staying here. Our first contact with staff was with valet service. They were nice, polite and professional- a good sign. Check-in was quick and friendly. Our porter was friendly and informative and he knew the history of the building. The room was large enough, was clean and the linens, drapes etc. were clean and seemed relatively new. We faced a court yard which let in a lot of light. Also the frig and coffee service in the room were a nice touch. At that point I settled in.
We were with a large group and there for a wedding. All of us enjoyed the open feeling and welcoming spaces of the bar, and the restaurant for the two days we were there. We were able to sit together and just hang out in these comfortable spaces.
Would definitely stay here again. Thank you for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WesternPAAndiamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Western PA;

We appreciate your November wedding visit and feedback to Tripadvisor. We'll share your great review with the team, and we hope to see you back sometime, maybe a return visit to RVA in the Spring or Summer and enjoy some of our warmer weather activities and events. Sincerely, John & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.5 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 81 in Richmond
1,249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 81 in Richmond
1,035 reviews
0.5 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#12 of 81 in Richmond
1,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 81 in Richmond
854 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 81 in Richmond
693 reviews
0.1 mi away
Richmond Marriott
Richmond Marriott
#20 of 81 in Richmond
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Richmond Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Richmond Downtown

Property: Hilton Richmond Downtown
Address: 501 E Broad St, Richmond, VA 23219-1809 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Richmond
#4 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#5 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#5 Business Hotel in Richmond
#7 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Richmond Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the state of Virginia, and the Hilton Richmond Downtown, located in the heart of historic downtown Richmond. This premiere hotel is located within minutes of I-95 and I-64, across the street from the Greater Richmond Convention Center, two blocks from the Richmond Coliseum, and the National Theater, and next door to Richmond Center Stage. Formerly the beloved Miller & Rhoads Department Store, the original marble floors and restored millwork grace the lobby, providing our guests with a combination of historic charm, southern hospitality and modern amenities. This spacious and inviting Hilton hotel is an easy choice for the discerning traveler and for families who are looking for a place they can feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing