We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Ranked #9 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
virginia
Level Contributor
200 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We were in town for a volleyball tournament at the convention center which is diagonal across the intersection from the hotel. Staff is friendly and talkative and we were greeted by each housekeeper, maintenance person etc who we passed in the hall. Great customer service. Sadly, no room service for breakfast, but evening room service was quick and tasty. The rooms are clean and quiet and beds are sleep number adjustable for softness. If I stayed again, I would ask for an exterior room, the view from room 732 is across a small courtyard looking at the other side of the hotel. Can't tell if it's daylight by looking out the window. The marriott is right across the street and has a walkway connected to convention center, we walk through the Marriott to avoid the cold and walking the street at night.

Room Tip: Ask for an exterior room to avoid a view of the other side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MACVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear MACVirginia;

Thank you for your recent visit during the Volleyball tourney, hoping your team did well. We appreciate your feedback and glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and visit to RVA. Yes, at HGI's while we do not offer room service for breakfast, we have our full cooked to order, all you can eat breakfast buffet in the restaurant. As you mentioned, we do have evening room service as you enjoyed, glad to hear.

We hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,

John Cario - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    759
    426
    136
    44
    26
See reviews for
340
260
74
572
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Levittown, United States
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I have stayed here several times for business. The hotel staff is very nice and helpful. Rooms are clean and they just added Keurig coffee makers in the rooms! Has a decent gym and pool. Nice lobby and bar.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Tracy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Tracy;

Thank you for your many stays with us and great feedback to Tripadvisor. Looking forward to your next visit with us.

John and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We were at the hotel during the governor's inauguration and several other groups with blocks of rooms. The hotel staff stayed on top of everything going on and went out of their way to help us with anything we needed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Richard;

Thank you for your recent stay during a busy Inauguration weekend in Richmond. Glad to hear you had a great "couple of days" with us, and we do hope to have you back as a guest soon.

Sincerely,

John Cario - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asbury Park, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed for two nights at the Hilton Garden Inn. In town for the Governor's Inauguration, we were prepared for massive crowds and disorganization and oh boy were we pleasantly surprised! The hotel is/was fantastic on every level. Their staff is top notch: friendly, polite and professional. The rooms very clean and well appointed. The food was excellent and the menu surprisingly diverse.

Room Tip: I can only speak to the room we were in which was very clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWharton, Front Office Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback! Yes, inaguration was such a fun time for Richmond, and it was our challenge to make sure everything went smoothly for our guests. I will make sure to share your comments with my team so they know we met the goal! Look forward to having you with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Went to Richmond Virginia for a wedding & this is the hotel the Bride and Groom selected for their guests to stay at. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, the staff was attentive and very nice. The lobby area, elevators, hallways & room itself smelt very nice. The rooms were very clean and spacious! We were two couples in one room and had plenty of space. We needed a few more towels and called room service and no more than 5 minutes later did we receive 4 extra towels for the room! Very quick service! We had breakfast the next day in the hotel for around $15 per person which allows you unlimited juice, coffee, pastries, omelet station, potatoes, pancakes, toast, anything you want. Not bad at all! We had a couple of cocktails at the bar in the lobby, "Thirst & Fifth". Not only is the name great, the bar was too! One of the bartenders was especially great, Brittany. She was friendly and made delicious drinks! The prices were normal and not overpriced either. (About $11 for a martini w/ top shelf liquor). One of the best things about this hotel is the shuttle service. There are multiple sprinters/vans that will take you within a 2 mile radius+ at NO charge! All of the drivers were so nice and friendly. We were given a phone number to call when we needed to be picked up and brought back to the hotel and we never had a problem! The driver was always prompt and picked us up with a smile on his face. James B. was the best! Also, the location of this hotel is excellent, right in the heart of Downtown Richmond. The biggest con I think would be there are not enough restaurants in the hotel, but you can go right across the street to the Marriott for a great sports bar & a Starbucks.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittany A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWharton, Front Office Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for your review! I am so glad that you enjoyed your time with us! I will make sure to share your positive comments with the team. They work hard to make sure our guests have a great time, and I know they will be pleased to see their efforts paid off. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the Richmond area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This hotel is a converted historic department store with lots of period details. Staff was friendly and helpful! Nice restaurant options in walking distance and valet parking was convenient. Even full of cheerleaders from the convention center, the rooms and common areas were quiet and clean.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank 301CarolJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thanks for your great feedback regarding your visit. We are very fortunate to be close to the convention center (across the street), and close to so many great "new" restaurants nearby, including those in our lobby. We look forward to your return visits to RVA.

John & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United States
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the Richmond Hilton Garden Inn Downtown for our daughters wedding reception. The customer service was outstanding. Many of our guests commented on their very positve experinces as they were leaving. Great location, excellent facilities and would recommend staying here if you travel to Richmond.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Stephen;

Congrats on your daughter's recent wedding, what an exiciting time. Thanks for your visit and post to Tripadvisor on your great stay with us. Don't wait for another wedding to return, come back and visit us !

Sincerely,

John Cario - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.5 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#11 of 81 in Richmond
1,784 reviews
0.3 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#7 of 81 in Richmond
991 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 81 in Richmond
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#6 of 81 in Richmond
595 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 81 in Richmond
783 reviews
0.1 mi away
Richmond Marriott
Richmond Marriott
#18 of 81 in Richmond
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Richmond Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Richmond Downtown

Property: Hilton Richmond Downtown
Address: 501 E Broad St, Richmond, VA 23219-1809 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Richmond
#5 Business Hotel in Richmond
#5 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#6 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#7 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Richmond Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the state of Virginia, and the Hilton Richmond Downtown, located in the heart of historic downtown Richmond. This premiere hotel is located within minutes of I-95 and I-64, across the street from the Greater Richmond Convention Center, two blocks from the Richmond Coliseum, and the National Theater, and next door to Richmond Center Stage. Formerly the beloved Miller & Rhoads Department Store, the original marble floors and restored millwork grace the lobby, providing our guests with a combination of historic charm, southern hospitality and modern amenities. This spacious and inviting Hilton hotel is an easy choice for the discerning traveler and for families who are looking for a place they can feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing