We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliable chain hotel and great convention location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Ranked #7 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bedford, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Reliable chain hotel and great convention location”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I've stayed at this property several times when attending a conference across the street at the convention center. Always friendly, efficient service from bell/valet, reception, and restaurant. Nice breakfast. The lobby has nice sitting areas and I enjoyed well-made cocktails at the bar. It's a nice touch that the hotel is housed in the former flagship of Miller & Rhoads department store, and features M&R memorabilia, including the logo on the bar menu...immediately recognizable to Virginians old enough to remember, like myself!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwmsrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thanks for your visit and feedback. Glad to see you noticed some of our historic features related to our Historic facility in the former Miller & Rhoads Dept. store. We continue to look for way's to allow the former glory to shine in the present day as a multi-use facility; Hotel, restaurants, and apartments as well. We look forward to your continued visits with us.

Sincerely,

John Cario - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    818
    453
    139
    50
    26
See reviews for
373
278
78
603
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United States
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2014

If you need a basic place to stay, this property will do. Nothing to write home about but nothing overwhelmingly bad either. Get ready for beige. They hype the bed adjustment things, but no one in our group (about 50 rooms) could tell the difference btw very firm and very soft.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Sven V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Sven;

Thanks for your visit, comments, as well your reply to my personal email to learn more about your visit. You are right, we need to take more advantage of our historical nature of the facility, and showcase some of the highlights of this beautiful restoration. Thanks for your comments, and we hope to see you back soon. John & team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed here while I was in town to see Jersey Boys at the the Landmark Theater. Really convenient location and it was a full service hotel unlike most HG Inns. What impressed me most was the friendliness of the staff, from the shuttle driver,Ted, who took us to and from the theater to the front desk staff, the restaurant hostess and server at breakfast! When I walked down the halls every single housekeeper smiled and greeted me. I travel a lot and it was obvious that the culture of this hotel is all about warm hospitality. I ate dinner in the bar, grilled salmon, and it was very well prepared. Overall it was apparent that this is a well run hotel!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank FOCOChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Cynthia;

Thank you for your recent visit and "Excellent" review on Tripadvisor. Glad to hear you enjoyed the Jersey Boy's show and your stay with us. I will thank the team that assisted during this visit. We hope to see you back to RVA and our Hilton Garden soon.

Sincerely,

John Cario - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I stay at this location in Downton Richmond a lot for business travel. On this visit I brought along my teenage daughter to take her to a concert. I let the GM know ahead of time and we were treated like Royalty. We stayed in room 409 and it provided a great NYC experience and my daughter really thought I was somebody for a day. Only parents of a teenager will get that. We are excited to return in the near future and GM John Cario runs a great location. I have zero complaints and I am a compaliner. I almost forgot, the bed was the most comfortable bed ever.

Room Tip: Try and get a room equal to room 409. The others are nice but this room was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Ben;

Great to hear you had some quality Father / Daughter time with us for a concert nearby. Congrats to make this happen, as many of us get too caught up with work / life ! Honestly, our goal and mission here is to "deliver the light and warmth of hospitality" as our founder Conrad Hilton set out to do. It's great to hear when we can do this for our guests in big or small ways. We hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,

John - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

The rooms & lobby were beautiful. We booked 3 rooms and they tried their best to accommodate us together. The girl at front desk was very friendly & nice. It was thanksgiving and it couldn't have been better. We had a great family time together. The only thing that was a little upsetting was the fact that we had to pay $30 for valet parking.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassyloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Cassy;

Thanks for your Thanksgiving visit and recent Tripadvisor post. Glad to hear you enjoyed some quality family time with us, and the rooms and hotel worked out for you. Yes, we do have overnight valet parking at $21 / night, and while competitive for the area, we also have some packages that include parking. Next visit perhaps look for the "Downtown Work Deal" to include parking, or weekend street parking in the city is free too.

Thanks again, enjoy your travels ahead.

John - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The Hilton Garden Inn in downtown Richmond was well appointed, gorgeous lobby and rooms. The banquet food was outstanding. Location is perfect! I would definitely recommend! Excellent! The pool looked nice though I didn't use it. The fitness room was OK…it would be nice to have more machines and one treadmill didn't work. The bar/lounge was a really nice place to have a drink and meet with colleagues. I'd stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank AJH7566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear AJH;

Thanks for your visit and "Excellent" review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us from the lobby to the rooms, food and service. The team has since addressed the treadmills and all is well, apparently a circuit breaker tripped. We hope to see you back again soon.

John C. - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We were in town for a volleyball tournament at the convention center which is diagonal across the intersection from the hotel. Staff is friendly and talkative and we were greeted by each housekeeper, maintenance person etc who we passed in the hall. Great customer service. Sadly, no room service for breakfast, but evening room service was quick and tasty. The rooms are clean and quiet and beds are sleep number adjustable for softness. If I stayed again, I would ask for an exterior room, the view from room 732 is across a small courtyard looking at the other side of the hotel. Can't tell if it's daylight by looking out the window. The marriott is right across the street and has a walkway connected to convention center, we walk through the Marriott to avoid the cold and walking the street at night.

Room Tip: Ask for an exterior room to avoid a view of the other side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MACVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear MACVirginia;

Thank you for your recent visit during the Volleyball tourney, hoping your team did well. We appreciate your feedback and glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and visit to RVA. Yes, at HGI's while we do not offer room service for breakfast, we have our full cooked to order, all you can eat breakfast buffet in the restaurant. As you mentioned, we do have evening room service as you enjoyed, glad to hear.

We hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,

John Cario - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.3 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,047 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 82 in Richmond
1,268 reviews
0.5 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#12 of 82 in Richmond
1,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 82 in Richmond
868 reviews
0.1 mi away
Richmond Marriott
Richmond Marriott
#18 of 82 in Richmond
717 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 82 in Richmond
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Richmond Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Richmond Downtown

Property: Hilton Richmond Downtown
Address: 501 E Broad St, Richmond, VA 23219-1809 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Richmond
#4 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#5 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#5 Business Hotel in Richmond
#7 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Richmond Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the state of Virginia, and the Hilton Richmond Downtown, located in the heart of historic downtown Richmond. This premiere hotel is located within minutes of I-95 and I-64, across the street from the Greater Richmond Convention Center, two blocks from the Richmond Coliseum, and the National Theater, and next door to Richmond Center Stage. Formerly the beloved Miller & Rhoads Department Store, the original marble floors and restored millwork grace the lobby, providing our guests with a combination of historic charm, southern hospitality and modern amenities. This spacious and inviting Hilton hotel is an easy choice for the discerning traveler and for families who are looking for a place they can feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing