We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overnight stay at HGI in Richmond!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Ranked #7 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Great overnight stay at HGI in Richmond!”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Spent a girls weekend in Richmond and had an excellent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn. I was so impressed with the shopping/food recommendations provided by the hotel in advance of our trip and we were greeted to a cheese/fruit tray in our room upon arrival. The hotel is in a great location and is a really unique space (renovated from a department store). I can't wait for my next trip to Richmond and will definitely be staying at the Hilton Garden Inn again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellySRooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Kelly;

Thanks for your recent "girl's weekend" visit and feedback on your stay with us, and in Richmond. Glad to hear you enjoyed your visit and our team took good care of you. Hope to see you back soon, as there's much more to see and do in RVA.

John C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    807
    447
    139
    49
    26
See reviews for
365
276
78
596
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I have stayed at this hotel on several occassions and have always been pleased with the cleanliness, the appearance, and the staff! They have great shuttle service, comfortable beds, and other amnities. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Joann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Joann;

Thanks for your "excellent" review, and we hope to see you back again soon. John C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I stay in a lot of hotels for work and pleasure, and this property was a stand-out! The facilities and location were ideal for a weekend away with the girls. We were also impressed with the level of customer service we received before our visit, at check-in, and even in the hallways. An added bonus was the character of the propery and the old department store memorabilia. Very neat that the hotel has a shared history with the city of Richmond. We will definitely be back for another visit!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricaMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Erica;

Glad to learn you enjoyed a "perfect girl's weekend" recently at our HGI in Richmond. Hope to see you back soon. John & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Hadn't stayed at a hilton garden, very nice surprise, clean and bright. The location is convenient and trey have a shuttle free of charge that can take you within 2 miles which is where most of the restaurants are. Very few places to eat within walking distance us the only drawback

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dpadova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Great to hear you found a "nice surprise" here in Richmond and our HGI - located in the Historic Miller & Rhoads Department store. I'm glad you also took advantage of our shuttle service, a great way to get to your business, VCU, or a area restaurant. Of course you can stay and dine with us too at our Garden Grille, or Thirst & Fifth Gastropub. Hope to see you back soon, John C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I had a blast of a weekend watching vcu basketball and enjoyed my stay at the Hilton garden inn on broad street. the location is perfect and centrally located to many activities whether you intend to hit nightlife, convention, historical or governmental functions. be cautious of some of the surrounding neighborhoods as crime in Richmond is high and there is a lot of riff-raff milling around, so don't take side streets. there is a police presence, but you are on your own. every trip to Richmond seems better than the last and staying at the Hilton this time was a wise choice.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank tommydugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear TommyDugger;

Thanks for your stay and feedback. Glad to hear you had a nice suite and great view of the City. Yes, like many US Cities we should all be cautious when venturing out, however I will say Richmond (as you noted) has improved every year relative to crime. We have a very supportive and responsive police force, as well they work closely with VCU police as needed. We also have a complimentary shuttle that goes within 2 miles that certainly eliminates any walk in a strange city. Richmond is also fortunate to have many new downtown residents (here in our mixed use facility, as well the John Marshall residences) so Richmond is greatly improving in downtown living, and support facilities. We hope to see you back soon, and continue to see more development and enhancements ahead. Sincerely, John Cario - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roanoke, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The hotel is perfect for DMAS and Virginia Premier meetings and well as Civic Center events. Room service is excellent! No to-go coffee sales at the Hilton Garden Inn. (Starbucks across the street at the Marriott.) Non-smoking facility and no comfortable/safe place to smoke outside.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank stpeters-square
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us. Glad to hear it was "lovely" as you said, as well we'll certainly address your comments noted. We actually do provide a smokers oasis in front of the hotel, and propane heaters for the recent cold snap. We also have complimentary lobby coffee outside the restaurant in the am, and Keurig available in all guest rooms, or as well Starbucks k-cups at the Pantry by our front desk. Thanks again for your comments, and we hope to see you back soon. John - GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The stay was great. The staff made us feel like we where at home. It was in a great location to the convention center which was hosting the wine expo. I highly recommend this hotel to everyone. Specially if you need to stay near the convention center. The breakfast is excellent and dinner was great too!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Makoneen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Thank you for your recent "Wine Expo" visit. I heard it was a wonderful event, and they even had some running events too. Yes, we are very convenient to the convention center, as well some great new local restaurants and attractions in Downtown Richmond. I will share your review with the team especially our F&B crew related to your wonderful breakfast and dinner you had with us. Hope to see you back for the new Expo, or just a weekend in RVA.

Sincerely,

John - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.5 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 81 in Richmond
1,249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 81 in Richmond
1,035 reviews
0.5 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#12 of 81 in Richmond
1,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 81 in Richmond
854 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 81 in Richmond
693 reviews
0.1 mi away
Richmond Marriott
Richmond Marriott
#20 of 81 in Richmond
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Richmond Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Richmond Downtown

Property: Hilton Richmond Downtown
Address: 501 E Broad St, Richmond, VA 23219-1809 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Richmond
#4 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#5 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#5 Business Hotel in Richmond
#7 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Richmond Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the state of Virginia, and the Hilton Richmond Downtown, located in the heart of historic downtown Richmond. This premiere hotel is located within minutes of I-95 and I-64, across the street from the Greater Richmond Convention Center, two blocks from the Richmond Coliseum, and the National Theater, and next door to Richmond Center Stage. Formerly the beloved Miller & Rhoads Department Store, the original marble floors and restored millwork grace the lobby, providing our guests with a combination of historic charm, southern hospitality and modern amenities. This spacious and inviting Hilton hotel is an easy choice for the discerning traveler and for families who are looking for a place they can feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing