We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Ranked #7 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Huge room”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This place stands out for size of room and huge windows overlooking downtown. The room is well appointed. Only downer at hotel was paper cups in room; no glass for a whiskey. The parking was well run, did not charge for second day. The desk set me up with a pass to swim laps at nearby YMCA. Priceline chiseled me by telling me that if I cancel the second night, as the website says you can, you can't stay at the hotel the first night. But the hotel itself is good value.

Room Tip: Long walk from elevator, but nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluecanoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWharton, Front Office Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for staying with us! I'm glad you had a great time. (Let us know when you're back - we'll get you a glass!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    807
    447
    139
    48
    26
See reviews for
365
275
78
596
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Michaels, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Large spacious rooms with unsually high ceilings, in a historical building. Nice Staff, very accomodating. Just across the street from the Richmond Convention Center and Richmond Coliseum, walking distance. Food was good and lobby very relaxing and inviting.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank 555arlenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWharton, Front Office Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for your kind review of our hotel! I am glad to see you enjoyed your time with us, and will make sure to share your kind comments with my team. They work hard to provide top - notch service, and I am glad this was the case for you.

We look forward to seeing you next time you are in RVA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aruba
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The Hilton Garden Inn in Richmond off of Broad Street was a delightful surprise. Quaint, easy to get to, great staff...and all around great place for business travel. And I didn't know the site existed until last week!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Felicia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWharton, Front Office Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel - we're glad to see you enjoyed your time with us! We look forward to hosting you the next time your travels bring you to RVA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonardtown, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My husband and I did a quick trip to Richmond and stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn Downtown. The hotel was extremely convenient to the Convention Center and the Centerstage Theater. The hotel and room were clean and the staff was very nice and helpful. The drawback was the design of the room we were given. When we made our reservation online we went ahead and asked for a high floor room if available for an additional $7 for the night. When we checked in we were "upgraded" to the 6th floor. I guess we were missing something by making the assumption that a room would have a view of something/anything if you are on a high floor. Unfortunately, the windows in the room started at approximately 5' up the wall. We felt as if we were in prison. The only way to see anything other than the sky or the top of the Marriott across the street was to stand right next to the wall to peek over the windowsill. Since we were tired and only staying one night we didn't make a stink about it but be forewarned that some of the rooms have windows like this. Don't bother paying extra for an "upgrade" unless you check out the room first.

Room Tip: Make sure to check out the room first to make sure you will be able to see out the windows. In the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desertescapee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWharton, Front Office Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for sharing your feeback on your recent stay with us! I am glad to see that for the most part, your stay was pleasant and comfortable. I have contacted you directly to address your concerns. Thank you again for sharing, and I hope you allow us the opportunity to host you again the next time you are in RVA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, United States
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2014

While the hotel is very nice, it's the people that make me want to stay here whenever I come to Richmond. Everyone, valets, shuttle drivers, housekeeping, maintenance, food service and the front desk are friendly, helpful and very welcoming.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Terilynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWharton, Front Office Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
We are glad to see you had a great time with us! I have shared your comments with the team - they are thrilled as well! Thanks for staying with us, and we look forward to hosting you again the next time your travels bring you to Richmond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC area
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This is a great hotel in downtown Richmond, located in an historic building. Very well maintained. Very friendly front-desk staff, nice lobby bar and restaurant. Parking is a little pricey for Richmond. Meeting rooms are available and very convenient and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Mark-in-NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWharton, Front Office Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for staying with us! We are glad to see you enjoyed your time. You can Count on Us to strive to ensure all of our guests have a great time when they are with us. I am glad this was the case for you. We look forward to hosting you again the next time you are in RVA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2014

While on business at the Richmond Convention Center, this is a great hotel to choose! Incredibly friendly and very helpful staff, quiet rooms and comfortable beds, all just across the street from the Convention Center. I felt cared for and appreciated the happy outlook of everyone I met. This is a good "home away from home"!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWharton, Front Office Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to be your "Home away from Home!" That is definitely something that me and my team strive to do for our guests. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.5 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 81 in Richmond
1,248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 81 in Richmond
1,034 reviews
0.5 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#12 of 81 in Richmond
1,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 81 in Richmond
854 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 81 in Richmond
692 reviews
0.1 mi away
Richmond Marriott
Richmond Marriott
#21 of 81 in Richmond
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Richmond Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Richmond Downtown

Property: Hilton Richmond Downtown
Address: 501 E Broad St, Richmond, VA 23219-1809 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Richmond
#4 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#5 Business Hotel in Richmond
#5 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#7 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Richmond Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the state of Virginia, and the Hilton Richmond Downtown, located in the heart of historic downtown Richmond. This premiere hotel is located within minutes of I-95 and I-64, across the street from the Greater Richmond Convention Center, two blocks from the Richmond Coliseum, and the National Theater, and next door to Richmond Center Stage. Formerly the beloved Miller & Rhoads Department Store, the original marble floors and restored millwork grace the lobby, providing our guests with a combination of historic charm, southern hospitality and modern amenities. This spacious and inviting Hilton hotel is an easy choice for the discerning traveler and for families who are looking for a place they can feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing