We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice downtown hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Ranked #8 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Potomac Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice downtown hotel”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My husband and I stayed overnight while we were visiting our son. The hotel is very well located - right in the heart of downtown with an easy walk to restaurants, the state Capitol and a short ride to the Museum District and Carytown. Check-in was very easy and we found the desk staff to be extremely friendly and helpful. You are forced to use valet parking and the charge is $21 for overnight guests. Be aware that if you are checking out and then leaving your car for a few more hours, there is a late charge of $5 per hour after 2:00. It is not $21 for 24 hours as the sign says. The clerk at the desk waived the charge for us after we complained. The room itself was very spacious and clean; the bathroom as well. All the rooms have adjustable mattresses - the bed was very comfortable. We opted not to have breakfast at the hotel as we were not interested in a buffet; the staff directed us to a very nice coffee shop about a 10 minute walk. Overall, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michzuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thanks for your recent visit and great review. I was glad to hear the team adjusted the added fee for parking, as while we do have the extra fee after 2pm, we certainly understand if your stay extended longer than the normal departure times. We hope to see you back soon ! John Cario, GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    793
    435
    138
    48
    26
See reviews for
357
271
75
587
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, NJ, United States
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We liked the HGI in downtown Richmond very much. Got a great dinner recommendation from the desk manager, and the hotel itself (apparently a former landmark department store) was of architectural and social interest to us. I like the HGI chain a lot.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear John;

Thanks for staying with us and getting some relief from the heavy traffic, I'll bet it was on your way from Spring Break ? or Easter Travels ! Yes, we are in the Historic Miller and Rhoads Department store, so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us in our multi-use facility; Hotel, Meeting space, Retail Space, Apartments and more. We hope you made it home safely, and you'll think of us for a future visit. John Cario & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Our family of four enjoyed our stay at the Hilton Garden Inn. Very convenient to downtown Richmond and the Coliseum, where we saw a show. My ten-year old loved the pool and I appreciated that the room was bright and clean. We enjoyed complimentary snacks in the PM and coffee in the AM. One negative is the required valet parking...if there is no other option, shouldn't the cost be rolled into the room rate?

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank AbbyCat3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Abbycat3;

Thank you for your visit to Richmond and stay with us. Great to hear your feedback, as well that you all enjoyed the pool and guest rooms. Being in a downtown city setting we are limited on parking, so only offer valet through an outside company. There are other lots in the area, as well street parking is free on weekends, if available. We do have some packages at times with valet included. We hope to see you back soon. John and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

If you have to stay downtown, you could do a lot worse than this Hilton property. The staff is friendly, efficient and accommodating. Room was super clean and quiet.
On site restaurant was good for breakfast, with a fixed-price buffet, including fresh cooked eggs, pancakes and french toast. Pastries were kinda stale, but everything else, including the service was top notch.
Valet parking only at this location, but again the staff was fast and courteous.
Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Elevators "announce" the floor number and "going up/down" so ask for a room away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pippi_two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWharton, Front Office Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel! I will make sure to pass along your comments to our Food and Beverage team - I know they will be thrilled! We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in RVA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This place stands out for size of room and huge windows overlooking downtown. The room is well appointed. Only downer at hotel was paper cups in room; no glass for a whiskey. The parking was well run, did not charge for second day. The desk set me up with a pass to swim laps at nearby YMCA. Priceline chiseled me by telling me that if I cancel the second night, as the website says you can, you can't stay at the hotel the first night. But the hotel itself is good value.

Room Tip: Long walk from elevator, but nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluecanoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWharton, Front Office Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for staying with us! I'm glad you had a great time. (Let us know when you're back - we'll get you a glass!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Michaels, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Large spacious rooms with unsually high ceilings, in a historical building. Nice Staff, very accomodating. Just across the street from the Richmond Convention Center and Richmond Coliseum, walking distance. Food was good and lobby very relaxing and inviting.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank 555arlenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWharton, Front Office Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for your kind review of our hotel! I am glad to see you enjoyed your time with us, and will make sure to share your kind comments with my team. They work hard to provide top - notch service, and I am glad this was the case for you.

We look forward to seeing you next time you are in RVA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aruba
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The Hilton Garden Inn in Richmond off of Broad Street was a delightful surprise. Quaint, easy to get to, great staff...and all around great place for business travel. And I didn't know the site existed until last week!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Felicia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWharton, Front Office Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel - we're glad to see you enjoyed your time with us! We look forward to hosting you the next time your travels bring you to RVA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.5 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#11 of 81 in Richmond
1,857 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 81 in Richmond
1,227 reviews
0.3 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 81 in Richmond
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 81 in Richmond
670 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#7 of 81 in Richmond
832 reviews
0.1 mi away
Richmond Marriott
Richmond Marriott
#22 of 81 in Richmond
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Richmond Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Richmond Downtown

Property: Hilton Richmond Downtown
Address: 501 E Broad St, Richmond, VA 23219-1809 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Richmond
#5 Business Hotel in Richmond
#5 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#5 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#7 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Richmond Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the state of Virginia, and the Hilton Richmond Downtown, located in the heart of historic downtown Richmond. This premiere hotel is located within minutes of I-95 and I-64, across the street from the Greater Richmond Convention Center, two blocks from the Richmond Coliseum, and the National Theater, and next door to Richmond Center Stage. Formerly the beloved Miller & Rhoads Department Store, the original marble floors and restored millwork grace the lobby, providing our guests with a combination of historic charm, southern hospitality and modern amenities. This spacious and inviting Hilton hotel is an easy choice for the discerning traveler and for families who are looking for a place they can feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing