We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Ranked #7 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I was here with a group of high school students for a state-wide conference at the convention center. The service at this hotel was wonderful. I had a room to myself and it was very quiet despite the very active weekend in the hotel. A fan in the bathroom is my only suggestion. My high schoolers were with a chaperone in a suite with a king bed bedroom and a separate living area with a sofa bed. Those accommodations were very good, too.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Barbara;

Thank you for your recent stay with us and "Great" comments. We'll share your feedback with the team. John Cario - GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,566)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

981 - 987 of 1,566 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

We traveled to Richmond for a wedding that happened to be on the same weekend as the Collegiate Road National Championships & a science fair. Travel to and from the hotel was difficult, but unavoidable with the bike race. Aaron at the front desk was very helpful through our whole stay and more than happy to help in any way. The hostess at the Miller & Rhodes restaurant downstairs went over and beyond to meet our requests for our 1 year old. Overall our experience with all the staff was magnificent.

Accommodating our request for a quiet room we were placed on the 7th floor off the atrium. It was very quiet, with the exception of some of the science fair participants who were playing music & games early in the evening. Once they were told to quiet down we could not hear any noise of the events going on outside.

Our only disappointment with our stay was in our room, under the ottoman. It was apparent that the ottoman was not moved when the room was vacuumed. Even with that one disappointment we would happily recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: We chose a room on a high floor off the atrium. It was much quieter with the Bike Races going on rig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoilerUp2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for your recent visit and comments to Tripadvisor. We enjoyed the recent busy Collegiate Cycling Event, and despite some traffic challenges you like most were able to navigate through the courses that weekend. We will share your positive comments to the team; Aaron and our Breakfast team, as well communicate your comments related to the room. We hope to see you back again ! John Cario - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

To the Hilton Garden Inn Staff:

On behalf of my school, I would like to thank each of you for the exemplary service we received this past weekend, May 2-4, 2014. To begin, the directions to/from the hotel were perfect and kept us from making mistakes when facing road closures due to the collegiate bicycle race being held all weekend. Having some of the rooms available to stage our luggage and prepare for our competition was immensely important. The meals prepared by the restaurant staff were both delicious and reasonably priced, and combined with the Technology Student Association discount offered to us, provided wholesome meals for our students and adults. The attention to detail paid to us by the entire staff at the HGI Richmond Downtown property truly made for an extremely pleasant experience.

Room Tip: The King bed rooms are ample but several Queen bed rooms have extra space that can double as a meeti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear George;

Thank you for your visit to Richmond and your great review. We did have a very busy time w/ the National Collegiate Cycling event in town, and the many street closings. I was glad to hear despite this, we rose to the occasion and we provided a great experience for your group. We hope to have you back as a guest of ours soon. I'll share your positive experience with our team. Sincerely, John Cario - GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

What an experience in outstanding customer service!! From the time of my arrival until my departure I had one of the best hotel stays ever!! Each and every person I came into contact with was awesome, everyone smiled and was friendly and was very helpful whenever I had questions about anything. This is definately the only place I will stay when I am in Richmond. The room was imaculate and the views of the city were amazing!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent but be mindful there is a fee plus tax for parking. They only have vale...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeBose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Deebose;

Thanks so much for your stay and feedback. We'll share with the team and certainly thank you for this wonderful visit. John C., GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Great Birthday getway surprise for wife. Excellent location, close to helpful Visitors Center & many sights within walking distance. Hotel desk personnel were great and the free shuttle an added convenience. We appreciated morning newspaper(s) and the afternoon goodies (juice & oatmeal bars) in lobby were delicious. Very nice room, but avoid lower floors on Grace Street above city bus stop, noisie at night and early morning. Although we did not have a car, having arrived by train, we had no difficulty getting around or seeing local sights.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Eileen V. K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Eileen;

Thanks for your visit and post to Tripadvisor. Glad to hear that while you arrived by train, and no car, Richmond was easy to get around ! Yes, some of our lower exterior rooms can certainly hear "the sound of the city" at times. We hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,

John Cario - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The Front Desk staff was very helpful in helping us find particular destinations and making suggestions for entertainment options. The free for guests Business Center was one of the best I have used while traveling. The Business Center was well stocked with essential supplies and in a quiet private location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank CSB0613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for your visit and feedback. Glad to hear our staff and services exceeded your expectations. We hope to see you back for another visit to HGI - Richmond. John Cario.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights on our way home from Myrtle Beach with friends. Hotel is located in a former department store downtown and is nicely appointed. The area is a short walk to historic sites. The area immediately surrounding the hotel was historically the shopping area of the city. Many of the former department stores have been converted to condos and restaurants although many still remain empty. Staff were friendly and rooms clean and nicely appointed. Cookies provided in the lobby late day are fabulous!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bulanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Bulanda;

Thanks for your visit and positive feedback on our hotel and Richmond. Glad to hear you enjoyed the visit, and Richmond in general. John & team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.5 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 82 in Richmond
1,317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Richmond Marriott
Richmond Marriott
#13 of 82 in Richmond
806 reviews
0.3 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 82 in Richmond
944 reviews
0.5 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#16 of 82 in Richmond
2,040 reviews
13.2 mi away
Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Richmond Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Richmond Downtown

Address: 501 E Broad St, Richmond, VA 23219-1809 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Richmond
#4 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#5 Business Hotel in Richmond
#5 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#7 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: £113 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Richmond Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the state of Virginia, and the Hilton Richmond Downtown, located in the heart of historic downtown Richmond. This premiere hotel is located within minutes of I-95 and I-64, across the street from the Greater Richmond Convention Center, two blocks from the Richmond Coliseum, and the National Theater, and next door to Richmond Center Stage. Formerly the beloved Miller & Rhoads Department Store, the original marble floors and restored millwork grace the lobby, providing our guests with a combination of historic charm, southern hospitality and modern amenities. This spacious and inviting Hilton hotel is an easy choice for the discerning traveler and for families who are looking for a place they can feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing