We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be prepared for not so nice staff at front desk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Ranked #7 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The room itself was lacking a safe, which bothered me, but other than that, it was ok. It was a little dusty. I did face the river on an upper floor, which was nice. The food, though expensive was good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank emily0463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Emily;

Thank you for your recent stay and candid feedback. I did send you a personal email to discuss your comments. I am sure you can see from most of the comments the entire team is very friendly and lives "hospitality", so we certainly welcome your details on our desk team that didn't live up to our expectations. We will share your comments with the team, and hope to see you back with us soon. John Cario - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

991 - 997 of 1,583 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

Very good facility in downtown Richmond about a block from the convention center. Good rooms, excellent service from the valet parking and desk staff. Clean and up to Hilton standards. Was located in a former department store downtown, and we enjoyed our daily walk in the downtown. Place was packed with wedding guests, a high school prom, and many visitors in town for the NASCAR race. They seemed to handle of it very well. Other than valet parking, no onsite parking.

Room Tip: Ask if you can get closer to elevator. Because of the older building construction, we had a bit of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Frank;

Thank you for your stay and feedback via Tripadvisor. Yes, we did have a busy NASCAR weekend, and other events going on in Richmond. Great to hear you had a comfortable stay with us, as well some good pointers for others as being in a former historic department store the hallways can be long at times, or you can get a good morning walk in on the way to the elevator ! Hope to see you back soon, John Cario - GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We thought it was amazingly wonderful! This place is beautiful! It is worth staying here especially for graduation at VCU next year (or any year) since it is across the street from the Convention Center. I couldn't believe it was the Miller & Rhoads Building before - I used to go there as a girl in the early 60s.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Winslow W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Winslow;

Thank you for your visit and comments. Glad to hear you found us to be a "desirable place", and perhaps you'll be back for Graduation. Hope to see you again soon. John and team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here for a week to attend a genealogical conference at the Convention Center. The ONLY reason this place doesn't get five stars is that it's huge and it was a long walk to our room to and from the lobby every time we needed anything (and the air conditioner filter in our room was dirty so we were sneezing… but we didn't call down and ask for a change, so that's kind of our own fault.)

The staff here is so friendly you'll feel just like home. The rooms are very quiet. The ventilation system works great - there's plenty of hot water…. I will definitely stay here again. An upside for me personally is that this place is a five minute walk from the Virginia State Library, which is like Mecca for we people interested in genealogy. The nights of the convention were somewhat pricey, but we got a great deal for our last couple of nights so it evened out some.

This place may employ literally the most friendly hotel employees I have ever encountered. They really went above and beyond, from the valets, the front desk staff to the servers in the restaurant. I kind of miss them, tell you the truth…...

Room Tip: Higher floor is better in the sense of less street noise. You may wish to ask not to be on the very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DivemistressofthDark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

We thank you for your recent visit to Richmond for the Genealogy conference and were glad to hear your enjoyed your stay. Yes, we do have some "super friendly staff" and our proud of our team hear. We immediately addressed the comment on the filter, my apologies. No excuses, but the team ran out of the filters during their normal preventive maintenance checks, but are now back on line. Again, thank you for your visit and feedback, and we hope to see you back soon if your travels return you to Richmond.

John Cario - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Our stay at the hotel was during a collegiate cycling event, which caused a good portion of the city to be blocked off and created a lot of difficulty navigating a city which we have never visited before. We received incorrect directions from the hotel and had to stop at various cycling check points for directions from police and event staff. Upon arrival at the hotel, we were greeted promptly and warmly which we particularly appreciated after our extensive trek through the city. When we told the front desk that the directions were incorrect, they were apologetic and made the effort to find out what was wrong. Our nicely appointed room was ready for us and, as I found out later, each room is unique because the hotel is a converted department store. We enjoyed our stay at the Hilton Garden Inn, and we thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful city of Richmond.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PTrish01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear PTrish;

Thank you for your recent visit to Richmond and comments. With the cycling events in town, and many main roads used for the courses, there is no doubt you had a "Unique" visit. We tried our best to over communicate the various routes to get to the hotel, and we certainly will continue to improve on this prior to the Richmond 2015 cycling events we'll be hosting next year. We appreciate your visit and feedback, and hope to see you back soon.

John and Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I was in Richmond, VA for the VA TSA Technosphere at the same time the Collegiate Cycling Challenge was in Downtown Richmond. Despite the challenges getting to the hotel and participating in the events for the students in TSA, the Hilton Garden Inn surpassed all my expectations. In advance of the trip, they sent directions on how to get to the hotel - a few days more advanced notice would have been helpful - directions for parking and so forth. Although, if the Collegiate Cycling Challenge were in Downtown Richmond again I would refrain from attending any activity in the area, if I were in Downtown Richmond again I would definitely stay at the Hilton Garden Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Tyler N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Tyler;

Thank you for your recent stay and comments on Tripadvisor. We were glad to hear that despite the initial challenges, you had a great stay. With the Richmond 2015 cycling events next year, we used the Collegiate races as a test for things to come. We certainly did try to communicate to all our guests of the issues with traffic, parking, and street closures in advance, so glad to hear that assisted. We hope to see you back in the future, perhaps when there is not such a large event using our main streets for the courses.

Sincerely,

John Cario - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We arrived in town during a race, and could not reach hotel, but I called and the front desk was extremely caring about the situation and held my room for late check in after the wedding I was there to attend. Front desk staff was above and beyond courteous during check in and the breakfast staff was very professional and gave top notch service! Breakfast was the only amenity that we used during our stay, but I look forward to our next stay to try the restaurant/bar.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Susie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Susie;

We thank you for your recent stay and "excellent" review on Tripadvisor. We certainly did have a busy weekend with the collegiate cycling event, and glad to hear the team was able to ensure your room was waiting after the wedding. We hope to see you back in Richmond soon. John Cario, GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.3 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,092 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 82 in Richmond
966 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 82 in Richmond
1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Richmond Marriott
Richmond Marriott
#14 of 82 in Richmond
824 reviews
13.2 mi away
Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump
6.1 mi away
The Westin Richmond
The Westin Richmond
#4 of 82 in Richmond
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Richmond Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Richmond Downtown

Address: 501 E Broad St, Richmond, VA 23219-1809 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Richmond
#4 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#5 Business Hotel in Richmond
#5 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#7 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: £124 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Richmond Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the state of Virginia, and the Hilton Richmond Downtown, located in the heart of historic downtown Richmond. This premiere hotel is located within minutes of I-95 and I-64, across the street from the Greater Richmond Convention Center, two blocks from the Richmond Coliseum, and the National Theater, and next door to Richmond Center Stage. Formerly the beloved Miller & Rhoads Department Store, the original marble floors and restored millwork grace the lobby, providing our guests with a combination of historic charm, southern hospitality and modern amenities. This spacious and inviting Hilton hotel is an easy choice for the discerning traveler and for families who are looking for a place they can feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing