We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Nearby Hotels
US$231
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
US$141
FourPoints.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Richmond Marriott(Richmond)
US$191
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$176
US$157
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Jefferson Hotel(Richmond)
US$312
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$250
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
SuburbanHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,628)
Filter reviews
1,628 results
Traveller rating
920
480
147
53
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
920
480
147
53
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdepartment storeconvention centergarden innfront deskvalet parkinghigh ceilingswithin a mile radiusvalet staffshuttle servicehistoric buildingthe executive loungefull servicefree shuttlebusiness triphotel staffvery nice hotelenjoyed my stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,019 - 1,024 of 1,628 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn in downtown Richmond VA. Clean, but small, rooms. Weird room numbering system on the floors. Some rooms are an extremely long, long walk from the elevators, with no shortcut.

Hotel staff was amazingly cordial and exhibit the best of southern hospitality. Did not eat in the hotel, but I did enjoy drinks in the bar several times.

Only downside was the fitness room. 3 treadmills. One worked but needed a new belt; the belt was stretched. The other two did not work: one would not start and the other had a sign on it that it did not work. Not good.

Room Tip: Ask to be closer to the elevator. Otherwise its could be a very long walk.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLG18104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for your recent stay and feedback. Sorry to hear you were inconvenienced with the treadmills. We did have repairs made for a new monitor, but obviously during your visit this was on order. In the future we also partner with the local YMCA should you need an alternative and expanded facility for your workout. Thanks again for your feedback, and we hope to see you back soon. Sincerely, John Cario - GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We are currently in Richmond for a sports event at the convention center and are staying at the Hilton Garden Inn for the third time. I knew I'd better write the review while I was here or I might not do it. I love this hotel for the people, the convenience, and the ambience. It is meticulous cleanliness, and obvious great management. We checked in and went to our room which only had one window. My husband called down and asked if it would be possible for us to move to a brighter room and it was done within minutes. I asked for an early cleaning and it was done. Our rollaway bed was delivered immediately upon our arrival. Our need for an early brown bag breakfast was accommodated for our son. Even little things like grape water pressure impressed me. We will be back the next time we are in Richmond. Highly recommended.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank oliviaonthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Olivia On The Beach;

Thanks for your visit and feedback, guessing maybe here for the Volleyball event ? Glad to hear you enjoyed your visit, as well the team addressed your initial room request change, and your other requests during your visit. We look forward to your next Richmond visit.

Sincerely,

John Cario - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

From the moment we drove up the valet attendants, the front desk person and the restaurant staff were so friendly and efficient, especially both Hannah and Chandra in the restaurant. The location offered us easy off, easy on I -95 access.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 919LizM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you for your recent stay with us, and recognizing our team. I will thank all, and personally Hannah and Chandra, yes they certainly do a great job for us in the restaurant. Additionally, as you said we are easy to i95 & i64 and very convenient for those traveling to Richmond. We look forward to your next visit, and sincerely appreciate your post to Tripadvisor.

Sincerely,

John Cario - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Rooms are small but have a fridge, Keurig coffee maker and a microwave. I was surprised to see paper cups like a Motel 6 in the rooms though.

They have a little store off the lobby for snacks, sandwiches, drinks and some microwaveable meals. The the free shuttle service within a 2 mile radius is great.

We did eat at the restaurant here one night. Food was good but service was extremely slow. We had to hunt someone down to be seated. The bar doesn't open until 4pm but I don't know for sure whether or not you can get an alcoholic drink before then.

All in all a great place to stay. Service is wonderful and everyone is polite. Public rooms are extensive with beautiful decor. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room ask for an inside one as the street is noisy.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Carol;

Thank you for your visit and feedback on this site. Nice to hear you enjoyed your stay, and rated us "Great Hotel". Yes, all Hilton Gardens recently added Keurig Coffee Makers in their rooms, very cool, but also took all china / glass out and added the paper to go cups. Hilton found that most travelers not only prefer a cup to go, but also want to be confident the cup is clean and sanitized. We certainly provide glasses or mugs to those that prefer them (just had such a request tonight) but we have replaced with the paper products. Again, thanks for your visit and feedback, and hope to see you back again soon.

PS - if you sign up for Hilton Honors, we can note your profile of your personal preference on this. Count on us to give you what you need !

Sincerely,

John Cario - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown over the weekend to attend Dominion Riverrock which was at Brown's Island. The hotel is a short walk (maybe 5-10mins) from Brown's Island and the foot bridge to Belle Isle. The hotel is also close to canal walk and located across the street from the convention center. The hotel wasn't one of the hotels recommended with Dominion Riverrock but I prefer to stay at Hilton brand hotels and I was not disappointed by this hotel! This hotel is fairly new and clean. The staff was also very helpful with information about the area and hotel. We will be returning to this hotel when staying in downtown Richmond!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hbrow022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Hbrow022;

Thanks for your recent visit to RVA and the Dominion Riverrock event. I was out of town and so disappointed I wasn't here for this great event. They had record crowds with the great weather, and so much fun with all the events ! Thanks for your great feedback on our hotel, and we hope to see you back again. John C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews