We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly Positive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Ranked #7 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We are from Richmond but wanted to show our future relatives some of downtown, since they plan on moving to the city soon. When checking in one of our rooms was ready but the other needed more time to be vacated and cleaned. The young man at the front desk, not sure of his name but his byline was that he was a student, was extremely condescending. He mixed up which reservation was ours and then the woman next to him chimed in to tell us completely wrong information. We decided to go upstairs to wait in one room for the other to be finished, and though they said they would call us at 4 we eventually had to call to down the front desk and ask for the key. We finally got the keys at about 4:30, which is ironic since the man at the front desk repeated check in was at 4 again and again.
The cleaning woman in our area was extremely helpful and kind though, which restored my faith in the staff. The whole atmosphere pf the hotel is great, and our visit really impressed the future family. hopefully the guy was just having a bad day and doesn't treat guests so poorly on a regular basis.

Room Tip: Suites are spacious and beautiful
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilyReed2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWharton, Front Office Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for sharing about your recent stay at our hotel! I am glad the overall experience was positive, however, I would like to apologize for your less-than-stellar arrival. Typically my team is efficient and friendly; I regret that this was the case for you. I have emailed you privately to discuss. Thank you again, and I hope we have the opportunity to host you the next time your travels bring you back to RVA!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,511)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Richmond Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

890 - 896 of 1,510 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Centrally located, just a couple of blocks from the capitol. Space is not a problem in Richmond: Huge rooms with nice amenities. There are free hot drinks in the morning in the lobby and complimentary wifi all over the hotel. There is valet parking in the hotel but there is a cheaper public parking next to it.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank jon_alfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Jon;

We appreciate your recent visit and feedback. Glad you find us a good option in the Downtown Richmond area. A note on parking, while yes our valet only is $21 overnight it does allow for in and out access 24 hours daily, and while the lot accross the street is $17 or so, it is not the same in / out. (Just a helpful hint if needed.) Watch also for some of our "Downtown Work Deals" which can include parking for better price / value. Also, weekend parking on the streets in Richmond is "free" when / if you can find a spot. Thanks for the feedback, and hope to see you back with us soon. John Cario - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Our family recently stayed here at the end of our vacation. The staff was pleasant & helpful & the facilities were excellent! In addition, this hotel's location can't be topped, just a few blocks from the Capitol building, yummy restaurants & across the street from the Convention Center. I hope I return to Richmond soon & can stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Rachel;

Thank you for your great review of our hotel, and the Richmond area. Yes, we are proud of our facility and neighborhood with the many new restaurants (and more coming soon) in the area. We hope to see you back soon. John and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I joined my daughter, her husband, and their family on a trip to Richmond for a three day home-school conference. At the last minute, we decided to see if rooms had become available at the Hilton Garden Inn, which is so close to the convention center. We were able to book the last two rooms in the hotel - two suites. At $269 a night, they were a bargain. Both were quite large and included a bonus ½ bath. During the days, i kept the 5, 3, and 1 year old at the hotel while their parents attended the conference. The room was SO large and nice that I could have the baby napping in the bedroom while the other children and I were in the living area. There were two walls of windows and high ceilings, so we never got "cabin fever". With a wet bar area, the children could still enjoy their morning smoothies, etc. The staff was amazingly accommodating - from bellman to waitress to front desk. Everyone was anxious to please. Because the conference lasted later on our check-out day than expected, I was able to keep one suite for almost 6 hours for ½ day's charge. I am "old school" and remember the South's old glorious hotels; my expectations are high, and I am usually not only disappointed, but also disgusted. Though this hotel is in a historic building, it was new, bright, and clean. In fact, everything about it was really top-notch

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank ToyBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Toybaby;

Thank you for your recent visit and stay with us in one of our suites. I was pleased to hear we were not "less than perfect", as well you met some of our great staff here. We hope to see you back when your travels return you to Richmond. Happy Summer ahead.

Sincerely, John Cario - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This was a totally positive experience! We were in town for only one night and wanted to be in downtown. The location was excellent within walking distance of restaurants, convention center and other points of interest. The check in was a breeze with very friendly staff; wifi was easy to connect to and fast; the room was amazingly large for a city hotel and very well cleaned. We opted to park across the street at a public parking lot ($ 18/ for 24 hours) saving a few dollars instead of using valet parking. We'd definitely stay here again if in Richmond.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill1207W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Jill;

Glad you found us to be "a winner" for your recent visit. Hope to see you back to RVA soon. Sincerely, John and team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Very friendly staff and the hotel is spacious and comfortable. Our room was over large and had a view of the iinner court and the pool. They offer and all you can eat buffet breakfast and although it was an additional charge, the food was good; there was a great variety including omelets made to order. There is a medium size pool and jaccuzzi we found very relaxing and a small fitness room nearby. We mentioned to a staff membr that our bathtub nozzel was loose, but since we only used the shower we had no problem with it. I am not sure anyone came to fix it. The hotel is within walking distance of a number of wonderful historic sites and some excellent restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dreamtogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Dream to go ! I like that ! I was glad to hear of your Excellent stay with us while in Richmond. Yes, we are fortunate to have a great team, hotel, and be in a central location to many sights and attractions in Richmond. We also have our two shuttle vans that can get you to area restaurants, and other attractions. Thanks for your post, and we hope to see you back soon. Sincerely, John Cario - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights for a convention downtown. The rooms are perfectly suitable, clean, and comfortable--but what impressed me most on this visit (I've stayed twice before) was the staff. Every single hotel employee we encountered--the front desk staff, the valet parking attendant, the people we passed in the hallway--were friendly, courteous, classy, and polite. "Hello, Ma'am--how are you today?" "Thank you for staying with us; I hope you enjoy your day..." It seemed like they were happy to be working there. The demeanor of the employees was not only positive, but strikingly so, and they did not seem to be faking it. Outstanding.

The only blemish is the trash trucks outside making a huge racket at 5:30 in the morning--but I think you'll have that in an urban setting. The hotel itself and the beds are quite comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katiesnewlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Katie;

Thanks for the wonderful review from your recent visit. I am fortunate to have a wonderful staff to work with each day, and to echo Conrad Hilton's vision we truly strive to deliver "the light and warmth of hospitality daily". Yes, our urban setting sometimes can deliver "the sounds of the city", my good friend Ray coined, and we will address that with our trash company. PS - we do have very quiet interior rooms as well perhaps on a future visit. Sincerely, John Cario - GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.3 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,060 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 82 in Richmond
1,279 reviews
0.5 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#12 of 82 in Richmond
1,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 82 in Richmond
886 reviews
0.1 mi away
Richmond Marriott
Richmond Marriott
#19 of 82 in Richmond
729 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 82 in Richmond
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Richmond Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Richmond Downtown

Address: 501 E Broad St, Richmond, VA 23219-1809 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Richmond
#4 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#5 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#5 Business Hotel in Richmond
#7 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: £119 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Richmond Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the state of Virginia, and the Hilton Richmond Downtown, located in the heart of historic downtown Richmond. This premiere hotel is located within minutes of I-95 and I-64, across the street from the Greater Richmond Convention Center, two blocks from the Richmond Coliseum, and the National Theater, and next door to Richmond Center Stage. Formerly the beloved Miller & Rhoads Department Store, the original marble floors and restored millwork grace the lobby, providing our guests with a combination of historic charm, southern hospitality and modern amenities. This spacious and inviting Hilton hotel is an easy choice for the discerning traveler and for families who are looking for a place they can feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing