We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stop-off”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Ranked #8 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice stop-off”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stopped in Richmond on the way to Williamsburg. Everything about check-in and checkout was a breeze. Valet came out immediately and offered a luggage cart. The valet bills directly to the room and the service allows for unlimited in/out. The room was nice but doors were heavy (stuck when opening and shutting and very loud when slammed and the refrigerator unfortunately noisy. The beds were okay but a little hard for my liking. The shuttle service around town was excellent and a quick stop at Carytown was very enjoyable. At the Gastropub I found the drinks a bit on the pricey side so if i came back i would probably avoid this part of the hotel. The breakfast was very good and offered a great slection. Though it initially seemed a bit pricey the made to order omelets and french toast more than made up for it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rnightv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripin1, General Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your recent visit and great feedback on many components of your stay with us. I was glad to hear you had a "nice stop-off" and we met your expectations in most areas. I will address the noted items, as well sent you a personal note to find out your exact room.

Sincerely, John Cario - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    794
    435
    138
    48
    26
See reviews for
357
272
75
587
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
663 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Positives: it was a good location in downtown Richmond. Walking distance to everything. I had a meeting at the Richmond Coliseum and it was a quick and easy 5 minute walk. The valet guys were quick and friendly. The front desk was very helpful. Room was quiet and clean

Negatives: Ordered one cocktail at the bar and it was $20. I would expect this at a New York Nightclub but not at a hotel bar in Richmond. Went to the bar at the Marriott across the street on the second night and it was only $8 for a drink.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atlagunabeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWharton, Front Office Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you for your response! I am glad you found your time with us enjoyable (friendly staff, clean rooms, etc.) I have shared your comments about your bar experience with our Food and Beverage team. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in the Richmond area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
near albany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Booked here instead of Marriott across the street because they have queen beds.
The Positive: though pulling into hotel is tight, the valets do a great job of getting to your car quickly and the bell hop showed up immediately to take our bags. You must pay $21 for daily valet parking but with unlimited in/out and the valet guys did a great job; they were efficient, quick and professional.
Check in was also quick and professional. The lobby is large, clean and welcoming. It was 95 degrees in Richmond but the lobby was cool and comfortable. Each day they offered a large glass vessel filled with ice water flavored with fruit which was very refreshing.
Our room was average size with 2 queen beds. The room was clean, nothing special; enough outlets and lights.
Now the not so good. I don't think our sheets were fresh. They were wrinkled and just didn't seem very clean. They didn't smell but they weren't crisp. (Another friend refused the first room he was given because the sheets didn't look fresh and was given another room with fresh/crisp sheets. I wish I had asked to change rooms.) The bedspread was white but also seemed dirty/dingy. And I hate the use of a heavy bedspread in the summer. You either have just a sheet and you're cold, or this heavy bedspread and you're hot. The air conditioning blows DIRECTLY at the beds which made sleeping very uncomfortable and noisy. The bathroom was clean but old and didn't have a fan so we had to prop the door open to air out the steam after showering. Also there was only one towel rack located IN the shower. If hotels want us to reuse our towels why don't they give us enough room to hang our towels to dry? On the plus side, there was a fridge and safe.
We did not eat at the hotel. Very disappointed; a waste of money. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank upstatefarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWharton, Front Office Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel. I am sorry to hear that your time was just "Average", as we strive to do the best we can to make your stay Outstanding! I have sent you a private message to address your concerns. Again, I am glad that you shared, and I look forward to speaking with you shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2014

cannot say enough about the French toast on the breakfast buffet. made to order and very good. The staff at this hotel is fabulous. So helpful and accomodating. The beds are able to be adjusted to your individual preference, on each side of the bed. it was a delightful experience. We also had dinner at this restaurant, and the food was very good. Portions are very large, so be prepared to take some back to your room for a midnight snack. Microwave, fridge and coffee makers were all working very well.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWharton, Front Office Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thanks for your review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your breakfast (as well as the rest of your food in our restaurant!) I know our Chef and team work very hard to create unique and flavorful dishes, so I know they will be thrilled to see your review. We look forward to seeing you again in the future the next time your travels bring you to Richmond!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We came here with no expectations. Some Hilton Garden Inn hotels are nice, some less so, and all are relatively similar. Hands down this hotel had the nicest, friendliest staff we have encountered at any hotel, Hilton or otherwise. If I were to review based on the kindness of the staff alone it would get five stars! A special shout out to J.B. who was charming and helped us with our bags and spent some time telling us about the history of the hotel, which had once been a department store.

This was not even remotely your cookie cutter Hilton Garden Inn hotel. Our room was huge and clean and the mattresses were great. A few spots here and there, such as the curtains, did show signs of age. The tub did not drain properly at all so after a minute or two of taking a shower you were standing in a couple of inches of water. I mentioned this to the front desk and the staff was on the case. The shower pressure was excellent, far better than most hotels. The free shuttle service to other parts of downtown was greatly appreciated given the unusually hot weather we encountered. We also enjoyed the oversized checkers set in the lobby!

Overall, the hotel, despite it's large size had a very inviting, warm feeling and we loved our brief stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiveWell300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWharton, Front Office Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you for your review! It's always nice to be a pleasant surprise! I will make sure I share your comments with J.B. - he truly is a professional and a HUGE asset to our team. Thank you again for your kind words. We'll see you next time you are in RVA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, United States
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My room was on the third floor facing the street and I had a lot of noise from the coming into the room from the street, all day and night. The staff was very helpful and informative. The location was perfect for my business meeting. The hotel shuttle only picks up from the downtown train station, it would be great if they extended the shuttle to the Staple Mills Station (more trains stop at that station).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Russell J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWharton, Front Office Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you for choosing us for your recent stay. I am glad to see you found the staff friendly and helpful. I have sent you a private message to follow up on the "sounds of the city" you heard from your room (we have interior court-yard facing rooms that you might enjoy.) Thanks again, and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountainside, New Jersey
Level Contributor
288 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Pleasantly surprised and very pleased with our 3 night stay at this Hotel. The rooms (we had 2 on the fourth floor) were roomy and no extra charge for an additional bed. The staff is pleasant and helpful. The housekeepers do an adequate job of cleaning. Our 2 rooms had a micro wave, a refrigerator and a Kurig coffee maker, which was a treat (but do ask for more creamers). Not only were we able to walk to most sights and many restaurants but the Hotel offers a shuttle service if you stay more than one night. We took advantage of this service from the Hotel to Tredegar Iron Works which is a walk. Also called them from several restaurants and within 5 minutes or less we were picked up and taken back to the Hotel. For the price of the tip given to the driver this was a real perk. There is an indoor pool. Parking is $21.00/night and the buffet breakfast is the only option but it's good including made to order eggs.

Room Tip: the low numbered rooms are a walk from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snoopysister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWharton, Front Office Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our hotel. I am glad to see you enjoyed your time with us! We look forward to seeing you again, as well as recommending more fun things you can do in RVA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.5 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#12 of 81 in Richmond
1,859 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 81 in Richmond
1,229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 81 in Richmond
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 81 in Richmond
671 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#7 of 81 in Richmond
835 reviews
0.1 mi away
Richmond Marriott
Richmond Marriott
#22 of 81 in Richmond
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Richmond Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Richmond Downtown

Property: Hilton Richmond Downtown
Address: 501 E Broad St, Richmond, VA 23219-1809 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Richmond
#5 Business Hotel in Richmond
#5 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#5 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#7 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Richmond Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the state of Virginia, and the Hilton Richmond Downtown, located in the heart of historic downtown Richmond. This premiere hotel is located within minutes of I-95 and I-64, across the street from the Greater Richmond Convention Center, two blocks from the Richmond Coliseum, and the National Theater, and next door to Richmond Center Stage. Formerly the beloved Miller & Rhoads Department Store, the original marble floors and restored millwork grace the lobby, providing our guests with a combination of historic charm, southern hospitality and modern amenities. This spacious and inviting Hilton hotel is an easy choice for the discerning traveler and for families who are looking for a place they can feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing