We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Ranked #7 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Spent a wonderful weekend at the Hilton Garden while attend the local Jazz fest. The staff was very helpful. The rooms were very nice and clean. We will go back to this hotel next year during the fest.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWharton, Front Office Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us! I will make sure to share this with the team - I know they'll be pleased as well. Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,597)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

934 - 940 of 1,597 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

Large rooms in old style, don't be put off by the very old out of date front desk because the staff behind it are superb and very welcoming. Rooms large with high ceilings which is nice and makes one realise how low ceiling so many of today's hotels are,
The surrounding area is up and coming and will experieince a lot of regeneration over the next while. The staff at the hotel are superb, they are famous for this and rightly so, from the sales team to each and every person, the bar staff, the restaurant staff, the front desk, the bell staff, everyone just warm and genuinely friendly reminding me of what service should be!. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pheephox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWharton, Front Office Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thanks for your review!! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! Our team works so hard to provide top service - and I am sure they will be thrilled hearing your comments! Thanks again, and I hope we have the opportunity to host you again the next time we are in Richmond!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The staff and room were excellent. If you don't want to pay $21 for valet parking or almost as much for public parking, just park on the street after 6:00pm, as long as you are moving the car (our feeding the meter coins) by 8:00am.
The complementary oatmeal cookies in the afternoon were a nice touch.
About 5 min drive to Carytown, where you can stroll among stores, restaurants, etc.

Room Tip: Our room was far from the elevator. No big deal for us, but you may want to check how much walking y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 17suzan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWharton, Front Office Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for your review! I am glad to see you enjoyed your time with us - as well as enjoyed the other things that Richmond has to offer. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in RVA!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed here for a convention in August, the staff was very accommodating and friendly. From the front desk to the valets. Also, the hotel pub and bistro had an imaginative drink menu. The food was fine but nothing to make a special trip for. The lounge was nicely appointed and comfortable. The restaurant was a bit over-priced but that's usually what you find. However, a block away is a delightful cafe open during the week, called Richmond on Broad. Great food at a great price.

Room Tip: There are a couple over-sized rooms near the pool. Still very quiet but nice if you are traveling wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWharton, Front Office Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for your review! We are thrilled that you chose us to stay during your convention. I am glad you found the team friendly and accomodation, and I will be sure to share your comments with them. We look forward to seeing you the next time your travels bring you to the Richmond area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Good - Very Spacious, 2 fairly clean bathrooms with ample amenities (Neutrogena soaps and lotions), easy/efficient check in. Nice lobby. Downtown and Airport Shuttle.

The Bad - Sofa Bed is un-usable for children or adults. The "mattress" was springs with a cover, we had to improvise with the sofa cushions, chair cushions and towels to make this usable for our 11 yr old. The bedding in the bedroom (king bed) was sketchy - a flimsy sheet with tiny holes directly on top of the mattress (no mattress cover). The King bed was supposed to be adjustable for comfort but that feature did not work, when lifting the sheet to access the comfort adjustment I found dark stains on the side of the mattress I am going to hope it was coffee- bed was comfortable however . No breakfast room service (at least on Sunday not sure about the other days of the week), later in the day/evening room service was available.

The Staff - from valet to reception, personnel were fairly indifferent. While we were provided a luggage cart because we Valet parked our car, we had to push our own luggage into the hotel and to our room. As stated earlier the Check in was efficient, however we were the only party checking in at the time.

This is a downtown hotel so you will have street noise, especially if you get located in the front directly on the street. Our room was not on the street (on 2nd floor), it was overlooking the "Very small" parking lot. We still had a great deal of traffic noise (and emergency sirens) even on a Sunday. $21/day for Valet or you can park your car yourself on the street somewhere.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front of the hotel will get a great deal of street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalibuLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWharton, Front Office Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for your review. I have messaged you privately to address some of the concerns your revealed about your time with us. It is never our goal to have a guest with less than stellar accomodations or less than friendly service. I hope you allow us the opportunity to host you again in the future. You can count on us to address this and make your next stay outstanding!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel is new and the suites are spacious and reasonably priced.
Bathrooms were clean.
Overnight parking is expensive, the valets were efficient, but not overly friendly. Same for the front desk staff.
They had complimentary coffee but no newspapers and no convenience stores close by at which to purchase papers.
We probably would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWharton, Front Office Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for your review! While your rating overall was positive, I have messaged you privately to address some of your concerns about the level of service (as we strive to do our best with every guest!). I hope you allow us the opportunity to host you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was my second time staying at the Hilton Garden Inn in Downtown Richmond and much like the first time I enjoyed everything about my stay. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The rooms are wonderful, comfortable, clean and enjoyable. The overall experience of my stay was pleasant and I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LWharton, Front Office Manager at Hilton Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for your review! I am glad to see you enjoyed your time with us. Our team works extremely hard to provide top-notch service, and we are glad to see that our efforts paid off! We can't wait to have you back with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.3 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,106 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 82 in Richmond
1,355 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 82 in Richmond
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump
0.1 mi away
Richmond Marriott
Richmond Marriott
#15 of 82 in Richmond
852 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Richmond Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Richmond Downtown

Address: 501 E Broad St, Richmond, VA 23219-1809 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Richmond
#4 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#5 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#5 Business Hotel in Richmond
#7 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: £121 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Richmond Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the state of Virginia, and the Hilton Richmond Downtown, located in the heart of historic downtown Richmond. This premiere hotel is located within minutes of I-95 and I-64, across the street from the Greater Richmond Convention Center, two blocks from the Richmond Coliseum, and the National Theater, and next door to Richmond Center Stage. Formerly the beloved Miller & Rhoads Department Store, the original marble floors and restored millwork grace the lobby, providing our guests with a combination of historic charm, southern hospitality and modern amenities. This spacious and inviting Hilton hotel is an easy choice for the discerning traveler and for families who are looking for a place they can feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing