We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow! What a find!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Richmond
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Historic Mankin Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 13 Richmond B&B and Inns
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow! What a find!”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

My fiancé and I found this charming place online and decided to check it out as an option for our upcoming wedding in July. We went and checked it out and wow do they think of everything for a wedding!

We decided to stay a night to try it out and stayed in the Carriage House. When we arrived, it was late so they left us a nice little note in the main lobby area with some fresh cookies. Our room was incredible! We had a bottle of wine waiting for us in our quaint kitchenette, a gorgeous queen bed with super comfy sheets, and a gorgeous bathroom. We took advantage of the game room after opening our bottle of wine! We turned on some music, played foosball and the little basketball game, and took a movie back to our room from the movie library they have along with some snacks. The next morning we had a fabulous breakfast with mimosas, fresh fruit, crisp bacon, and stuffed French toast. When we checked out they gave us a little gift bag filled with snacks and waters for our trip home. Needless to say, we are having our wedding there in July! We booked the entire b&b for the weekend wedding package and are so excited to spend time with our friends and family at this fabulous place!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
39
4
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

The hosts of this B&B were really wonderful to us (Definitely among the nicest people I have ever met) and went out of their way to make sure that our stay in Richmond was perfect. I was with a friend and we each had our own room in the Jefferson suite. I loved having my breakfast in the room; it was brought each morning to me. What luxury! The property is beautiful too-we were delighted by the grounds; it had a lot of sweet spots for picnics. We enjoyed the game room, with all the games, free snacks and drinks, and a movie library. We saw the museum of the confederacy and shopped at Carytown. Also, Richmond has a lot of great restaurants. Overall, a terrific stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldlycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We stayed here for our 1 year anniversary. We absolutely loved it, so charming and cozy. The hostess had a hard time with the lock on the door and we could not get in. She brought us a complimentary bottle of wine and 2 glasses for us while we waited. She was very apologetic but we didnt mind. Things happen. The first breakfast was eggs benedict with asaragus, second morning we had bananas foster french toast. Both were absolutely delightful! The owners are kind and welcoming. I recommend this B&B highly.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jen0416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patchogue, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2012

My children gave my husband and me a two day stay at the Mansion. I had never stayed at a Bed and Breakfast before and didn't know what to expect. Our suite, (the Washington suite), was very cozy. It had all the comforts of home, a beautiful bathroom, large comfy bed, small living area. Our hosts Paula and Martin made me feel like a Southern Belle, thanks to their attention to detail. Our room had a fruit and cheese platter waiting for us, a bottal of wine and a tray of popcorn and candies. Martin and Paula served us a wonderful breakfast each morning. We went wine tasting at a local winery the first afternoon. The next morning we went to Old Willamsburg. Martin recommended some great restaurants. Rchmond was beautiful all lit up, we were too tired to enjoy the nightlife this trip,but we'll check it out next time!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

The owners of this B&B really have thought about things that are welcome surprises to travelers. Nice comfortable beds and spacious rooms, of course, but also little snacks and cold water, DVDs to take back to your room, freshly baked cookies, gourmet sit down breakfasts, a full-size coffee pot with plenty of coffee in your room, even a garment steamer! The rooms are quaintly decorated, each unique, the building and structures are old and created from functional structures so there are uneven floors, walls, etc...lots of character. They have a nice game room with pool table, foosball, basketball, shuffle board and more. The grounds are lovely and include little "finds" such as a grass maze and a large outdoor chess set.
The owners are friendly but not at all invasive. They are helpful in making suggestions and providing directions but mostly they stay out of your way and let you enjoy. Breakfast was FABULOUS, with fresh juice, mimosas, fresh fruit and a wonderful main dish.
This was a lovely place for a quick weekend couple trip. It is close enough to downtown Richmond to make the trip into wander the shopping area and nice restaurants easily within reach. It would be a wonderful place for a wedding. They were putting the large venue tent up for wedding season during our stay.

Room Tip: The Carriage House was romantic and cozy. The only negative is that it is closest to the road, whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweety14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Mankin Mansion. The area is beautiful and very nicely kept. Our Gardener's cottage was very cozy, comfortable and very spacious. The breakfast each morning was exceptional. Paula and Martin were wonderful and very friendly. They have great recommendations for area restaurants and things to do. It's only a 10-15 minute drive/cab ride to restaurants, bars, and shopping. They offer complimentary visits to the local YMCA if you're feeling motivated. Only downside is that the weekend went by too quickly and we didn't get to enjoy it longer. We hope to be returning again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NDBC1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
285 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Mansion on February 3rd-5th...our early Valentine's Day celebration. The room was fabulous, the service was impeccible and the food was simply delicious. Our gracious hosts were top notch. Martin and Paula recommended sights for us to see (really enjoyed the winery tour), places for us to go (loved Carytown by the way) and food for us to experience (the avocado key lime pie was amazing, just like you said :)). The Mansion had all of the comforts of home and some! If you are looking for a quant, cozy, romantic getaway with excellent customer service and beautiful landscape and history, this is definately the place for you. By the way, making out is strongly encouraged in the Pillow Room, right Paula?? ;) Thanks again, just what we needed....we shall return.

Room Tip: The Jefferson Suite is very spacious...has 2 rooms in it. The double shower is a must! The room has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Just_Me_Bernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
5.3 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#8 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
5.4 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#6 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#7 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
4.9 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#12 of 81 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,833 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Mankin Mansion Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Mankin Mansion Bed and Breakfast

Property: Historic Mankin Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Address: 4300 Oakleys Ln, Richmond, VA 23223-5956
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Mankin Mansion Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Historic Mankin Mansion. The ideal setting for a bed and breakfast stay. Enjoy the best of both worlds: a location close to modern day Richmond, all the while experiencing the ambiance of another era on this historic estate. We combine Southern Hospitality, Lasting History and Exceptional Service. Our suites and cottages have been lovingly restored and appointed with antique and vintage decor. Whether visiting the Richmond area for pleasure, a romantic getaway, vacation or a business traveler wanting personal attention. We are also available for corporate retreats. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Historic Mankin Mansion b&b
Historic Mankin Mansion Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing